So, How Was Your Day?

Mine was pretty good! Work was fairly quiet, and I made mac and cheese for dinner. It was way too hot, though. We’ve officially entered the phase of summer where no amount of sunshine and blue sky can make up for feeling sweaty and gross all the time.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Mr. Costco made a vegan Cuban bowl for dinner last night, and it is probably the greatest thing I have ever eaten… http://thewanderlustkitchen.com/vegan-cuban-bowl/

    • Sota says:

      I just ordered a dumb jimmy johns sub sandwich for lunch, which is my go-to move for when I don’t have time to go out and grab lunch. So it was clearly a mistake to look at that link because now all i want is a vegan cuban bowl.

  2. Sota says:

    I am in severe post-vacation “I don’t want to do work” mode today. Woof.

  3. artdorkgirl says:

    I was so jazzed coming off of my fellowship and bursting with ideas and now that I’m not required to be “at work” I feel so blah. I have a meeting with one of my committee members on Friday, so I’m hoping that’s a big kick in the pants. Plus it’s hot and no matter how thin my clothes are I’m a sweaty mess.

  4. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My day is going well so far. I have been busy at work which is good because it distracts me from how tired I am (my kid was up twice last night including needing a bottle at 5am which wasn’t really enough time to go back to sleep after…). Additionally, I decided I really like how these jeans are fitting me so I ordered another pair in an olive green color. Also I found out that my new planner is shipping today and I’m VERY excited about it. Does anyone else have an Erin Condren planner? This is my first and I CAN’T wait for it to arrive!!

  5. flanny says:

    Well, I’m still marathoning Mr Favorite Murder, and I think it’s adversely affecting my life. Guys, people are crazy and there are murderers everywhere. ARE YOU GUYS MURDERERS????

    But other than that I just lead a meeting at work and I think it went pretty well. And I’m planning on doing yoga outside at the country club this evening, as long as it doesn’t rain. Fingers crossed! (Both for the weather and that I don’t get murdered!!!!)

    • flanny says:

      Grammar question: lead or led?

      • artdorkgirl says:

        I keep hearing about this podcast. Is it about real murderers or is it a fictional story about murderers?

        Also, led is the past tense of lead. It’s also the first word in the band, “Led Zepplin,” but it’s used inappropriately there.

        • flanny says:

          It’s real! It’s not academic or dramatic. It’s just a couple of ladies talking about true crime. It’s like if you were sitting and talking to your friend about terrifying crimes.

        • flanny says:

          Also one of the ladies has a cat and sometimes at the end of the podcast she’ll ask the cat, “Do you want a cookie?” And then the cat will meow a bunch and it’s wonderful.

        • old man fatima says:

          Apparently they spelled it like that so people wouldn’t mispronounce it. Have some faith in your fans, Led Zepplin!

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      That happened to me when I was marathoning Dexter. I started think everyone was serial killers. I think now I’m much better at identifying serial killers, which is a very useful skill!

      • flanny says:

        Haha, the ladies on this podcast say the same kind of stuff. They’re like, “This is very educational, actually.”

    • flanny says:

      Hahaha, not only is “Mr Favorite Murder” a typo, but it is also the name of the worst beauty pageant on earth.

  6. catweazle says:

    I got so stressed out by the whole oversleeping and being an hour late for work thing yesterday that today I woke up at 3AM and never fully fell back to sleep 😦

    Also, I feel the need to rant about something so feel free to tune out now if you don’t care about my family/election drama! So my older sister and her husband are some of Those People who basically think Bernie is Jesus and won’t vote for Hillary in the general election because they are Too Pure. While I am not anti-Bernie and in fact agree with many of his beliefs I have not consumed any of his Kool-Aid and am pretty ok with Hillary (and feel very protective of her because of all the OTT garbage people say about her (but it’s not because she’s a woman, they swear!)), so I find them very hard to deal with any time the election comes up in coversation. It’s especially galling because my brother-in-law is a pretty sexist and closed-minded person in general but he is very self-righteous about the entire Bernie thing and sees himself as so “woke” or whatever the kids are saying because of it. But anyway, brother-in-law’s band wrote a “protest song” about the election and made a music video which they are sharing all over social media this week and I wanted to vom so hard when I watched it, oh my god. Basically the video features people wearing Trump, Reagan, Bush and Hillary masks and dancing around, taunting people standing in line to vote (including my sister, ughhhhhh) and then shots of really corny-ass shit like a man in a suit throwing a pie in the face of a chick dressed as the Statue of Liberty and it’s sooooo cringe-inducing and also offensive in that it equates Hillary with all those Republican shitbags (and also features a prolonged shot of the Hillary mask-wearer rolling around in a pile of money :/ ) and I am just dreading the next time I see my sister and she asks me if I saw it because I want to drag the whole thing so hard but I can’t. The only bright side is that imagining their faces today when they hear that Bernie actually endorsed something that Hillary proposed just 24 hours after their shocking protest video went live is making me laugh.

    tl;dr Bernie Sanders is tearing my family apart

    • artdorkgirl says:

      The Bernie Bros are the worst. (But then I’m reminded of the Trump people)

    • It’s mind-boggling to me how many people treat elections like they’re sports events instead of, you know, elections, and sulk if their “team” doesn’t make it to the finals. These are politicians! They’re ALL terrible! Our job is to make sure the MOST terrible doesn’t get put in charge of the country.

      • flanny says:

        I have never loved you more, Theresa.

      • catweazle says:

        The first time I tried to have a reasonable discussion with my sister about Hillary she spouted the “I don’t think she’s trustworthy” line and I was like “OF COURSE SHE’S NOT TRUSTWORTHY, SHE’S A POLITICIAN, WELCOME TO EARTH!”

        But it’s a hopeless case. She and her husband and all their friends are caught in this disgusting echo chamber of self-righteous back-patting and Bernie boners and you just can’t talk sense to them 😦

    • A friend on fb that I generally like and respect asked the other day if the Green Party lady had made it on the ballot in IL. I just wanted to write “ARE YOU KIDDING ME?” Green party is the freaking reason we got stuck with George W.

      • catweazle says:

        My other sister recently told me she’s going to vote for Green Party Lady. She’s a Bernie fan but not as obnoxious about it as our older sister and we tend to be very much on the same page about social/political issues so this revelation made we want to die basically.

      • hotspur says:

        Right? There’s all these dodos on Twitter & co saying since I can’t have Bernie, I’m fine with Trump winning because Trump stands for the polar opposite of all Bernie’s positions while Hillary only agrees with 90% of them because “at least Trump will throw the country into so much chaos, the NEXT president will be someone real.” And I am like, that is what every too-pure-for-school Nader voter said in 2000 and it literally got half a million people killed, cratered the world economy, and put a dude on the Supreme Court who belonged to a “keep Princeton white” alumni club

        I’ll say it right now: A vote for Jill Stein is a vote to kill half a million people, crater the world economy, and put Hitler on the Supreme Court.

        • catweazle says:

          Part of me really wants to post that on FB and see what happens. I think it would actually do a pretty good job of paring down my friends list!

        • Dangbattleship says:

          I don’t have the technical know-how to paste a giant applause emoji in here but YES.

    • FRQ says:

      That shit is infuriating. Sometimes I just want to get a certain segment of my Facebook friends, put them all in a dome, and have them duke it out in an orgy of rage.

      • flanny says:

        Ooh, one of my friends on fb just liked this post another one of his friends wrote:
        “Please stop posting about politics. No one cares, no one is learning anything, no one’s opinion is getting changed. All you’re doing is contributing to the ruining of everyone’s day. As if Facebook hasn’t been ruined already for ages.
        Baby animals (including human babies), or GTFO.”
        So now I have to go to a jewelry store and buy an engagement ring and propose to this man because he understands the very depths of my soul.

    • old man fatima says:

      Ugh I just don’t get the people who are like “If I can’t have Bernie, I’ll vote Trump just so Hillary doesn’t get in!” It’s like saying “If I can’t have cereal for dinner, I’ll just drown myself in the toilet instead!” Guys! Hillary is a millionaire, she’ll be fine whether or not she is elected president! Don’t fuck yourselves and most of the rest of the world over just to rub it in her face that you’d prefer Bernie! It’s so childish.

  7. I just had a 3 hour meeting with a client and while I love him, he’s exhausting. So now my head is spinning a bit and I have lots of work to do. Also, I’m the head of this project which makes it so much more stressful.

    But tonight is trivia and then my friend is dropping off his dog, whom I am watching for a few days. SO I GET A PUPPY. YES.

  8. old man fatima says:

    I had an interview this morning for a position in the accounting dept of a rival law firm and I’m on the fence as to how it went. It seemed to go really well at first. At one point she asked about my long-term goals and I said I’d like to do a part time CA/MBA (they have that at the uni here as a combo-course) and transition into the financial analysis dept (maybe I’ll do the courses some day, but really this was a lie to make myself look better because I am moving to Ottawa in 2 years so I won’t be around to transition into anything at this firm), which she was really excited about. But then at the end, I asked if, knowing my long term plan, she thought it would be a reasonable path from this interviewed-for position (which straddles accounting and analysis depts), and she said probably not because as policy they don’t promote to analysis internally, and prefer to hire external candidates when positions there opened up. Which is a very confusing policy to have? And after that she kind of rushed me out? But before that she was on me like a flannel? I don’t know. I’ll know next week if I get a second interview. I told her the courses take 4 years part time, and a lot can change in 4 years, so I’d still like to be considered.

    I was also late coming home today because I forgot something so went back to the office and my office phone was ringing and I STUPIDLY picked it up and it was my boss saying oh good thing you’re still there, x and x and x need to get done and it needs to happen today. Why did I pick up the phone???

    • old man fatima says:

      I just came up with the best plan: I’m going to program my phone to forward to VM automatically as of 4.30 every day.

    • hotspur says:

      I’ve worked at a few places that have a policy of not promoting from within. I don’t get it. What’s my incentive to care if there’s zero chance you’ll recognize me? (I have also worked at places that DO promote and I still have not cared, though, so maybe they are onto something.)

Comments are closed.