It’s Project Club Time!

Ugh, once again I am a giant failure this week. I’m not even linking to last week’s post, out of shame. I always have a problem with motivation when it gets hot out, like some sort of reverse seasonal affective disorder–or…seasonal affective disorder, just for a different season, I guess?–but I can’t use that as an excuse. (I have been working out regularly, though, which is good.)

This week: I will go shopping, clean the apartment, do laundry, catch up with friends about plans we’ve made, book the hotel and plane tickets for my trip to Nashville in September, and write at least 2,000 words.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to It’s Project Club Time!

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I’m going to give myself just one goal – go to sleep earlier.

    I think this will help a few other things fall into place, such as time management and being more productive.

  2. I have been so bad about getting things done that I haven’t even bothered posting goals because I knew that I would fail, so you are one step ahead of me Theresa. Now that I no longer have the new job to use as an excuse, my goals are:

    1) Work out 5 days
    2) Write 1 hour a day
    3) Actually bring my lunch to work next week instead of being lazy and buying it from the commissary every single day.

  3. hotspur says:

    I did almost nothing, on purpose, and it was glorious. I went camping and literally spent two whole days parked in a chair under some trees, reading, then ate glorious food cooked in a dutch oven on a fire. I literally did not even remember that I had a job or projects to do.

    Here’re my well-considered book reviews:

    Legendary sci-fi classic Rendezvous With Rama by Arthur C. Clarke is stupid. The premise was great and I raced through the first half. But then I started to suspect the early promise would never be delivered on. Plus, Clarke’s action scenes are related in terms of how many meters per second a task is performed at. He was a scientist first and boy, that only takes you so far. No real characters, and book is full of stuff like “Jim thought he was safe — then suddenly he remembered he had not incorporated the Coriolus Effect while calculating his trajectory. THEN, he breathed a sigh of relief as he realized friction would counteract it.” Something almost happens, here’s the math, it doesn’t happen. Lotsa that. It is, technically, bad writing. But okay, it is not stupid — it just downgrades itself from exciting to interesting as it progresses. Also it seemed super racist in that 95% of everyone is a white dude with a stay-at-home wife, which is actually weird since this was written in 1974 and it is set in the 2170s.

    What turned out to be a perfect antidote: After that I read Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin. I am about 60 pages from the end and unless that’s just 60 drawings of the author putting his balls on my face, this book is awesome. It’s funny, it’s got heart, it’s super sharp, it shows 1976 as clearly as Gatsby shows 1924, and his writing style breezes you right along. Everyone here would like this book.

  4. flanny says:

    So much success from last week! I ran so many times (2) and wrote a bunch. I did NOT schedule a dentist appointment, but that was a long shot, wasn’t it?

    The next two weeks are pretty bonkers for me schedule-wise, so I’m setting in for a long-term goal. There’s a literary magazine that I think I’m going to submit something to. The submission deadline is August 31, and I already have something written that I wanted to edit and expand a little, and it think it would be perfect. So my goal is to not chicken out or turn into a self-hating monster with low self-esteem in the next few weeks and pound through the rewriting/editing process and submit that short story!

    Also make that dentist appointment.

  5. catweazle says:

    I used my weights two whole times and I watched the whole season of OITNB. Pretty tiny lazy goals but I’m proud of myself anyway!

    For a new long-term goal, I’m going to try to be more frugal. I’ve been treating myself a little too much lately and I need to cool it because I’m supposed to be saving up for a new bed and possibly a new couch.

  6. FRQ says:

    Progress is coming along nicely. I have a pretty consistent martial arts fitness routine now, and last week I was able to sign up for a class that would get me a certification upon its completion. It wasn’t the certification I was hoping to get, but it will take less time to attain it, so no complaints here. And since my company is paying for it, I’ve decided to use the money I would have spent on that to hire a career coach. Not that I’m looking for a new job any time soon, but I’d like to know what sort of things I could do for a living whenever that day comes.

  7. Sota says:

    My long term goals will be to go through some of my stuff and get rid of things I never use or never wear. I am starting to get a really cluttery feeling in my room/life. Also I am starting a new workout regimen on July 11th. So my goal will be to try to cut back on things like snacks and soda in prep for that, so I don’t completely freak out my body when I start actually adhering to the program.

  8. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I am failing to do the thing I said was my goal – mail back a bunch of stuff. Still haven’t done it. I have other stuff going on. So busy. So tired. Making it through the week is my current, long-term goal. Also I’m getting my hair cut tomorrow and my goal is to explain what I want well enough that it looks awesome. I would also like to get back to eating healthy – tuesday we had leftovers from July 4th and then last night mr. truck made a delicious though not very healthy dinner. Also he brought home sundae ingredients and who can resist that? Just gotta get back in the habit…

  9. I’m just leaving a comment to get a Sota gif.

    • Sota says:

      You get a gif! And you get a gif! EVERYBODDDDYYYY GETS A GIFFFFFF!

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        I love your gifs!!! I love this thing where you respond with gifs! It is wonderful and I think we should all do this more but you are the KWEEN of this!

  10. martinmegz says:

    I also have nothing to report but would like a Sota gif. Let’s see. I accomplished cleaning my apartment but have three side project to finish ASAP and am too tired to think straight right now.

  11. old man fatima says:

    I don’t remember if I made any project goals last week and I’m too lazy to check. This week I’m going to apply to more jobs, consistently do 10k steps per day, pack my lunch the night before so I can RELAX in the mornings, and meet all the new neighbours. We got ANOTHER new neighbour, this time upstairs, and she slipped a flyer under my door today inviting us to a “get to know your neighbours” party at her apt this weekend. I also want to do a deep clean of my apt, and I need to book everything for my brother’s wedding in August (and also figure out what to wear???).

Comments are closed.