Tuesday TV Talk

In what is possibly one of the most Mr. Robot-y things ever, Mr. Robot debuted its season 2 premiere in surprise posts all over social media.  Fans who were lucky enough to catch the announcement watched part 1 of the episode three days before it’s official airing on Wednesday.  I was not one of said viewers, so in an equally Mr. Robot move, I found a copy of the episode through, let’s just say, less than savory means.  My verdict: so far so good!  I found the last two episodes of the first season (as well as the big twist) somewhat lacking, but it seems like the showrunners are making the show interesting again.  I’ll be watching the second half tomorrow night, but now I have an hour or so of time to screw around on the internet before tuning in.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Mr. Robot was pretty hit and miss for me, and I did not like the big twist. I really like the composition of the shots, and Rami Malek is pretty great in this role. I am still interested in seeing where they take the story, so I’m in for season 2.

    • martinmegz says:

      The first 2 or 3 episodes were so great and I was all about this show, then by episode 5 or 6 I was noping the eff out of there. That whole thing with the Swedish guy and the drug use etc. just turned me off so much. I remember thinking I’d never seen a show go from so promising to totally losing me in such a short time.

    • Same. The performances are great and visually, it’s such a beautiful, interesting show, but I thought the writing was pretty weak. (I LOVED that one dude’s gorgeous, terrifying wife, though. Really want to know what’s up with her.)

  2. Kate says:

    I watched it! Through Twitter! In what was maybe the most 2016 way ever. We logged in to my Twitter through the smart tv and watched it on the big screen that way. It was good! Can’t wait for part 2.

  3. catweazle says:

    I started watching season 2 of Jane the Virgin but unfortunately while watching The Vampire Diaries on my DVR a few weeks ago I saw a commercial for the season finale which revealed certain things about how Jane’s romantic life goes this season that made me want to hardcore vom. I’ll still watch it of course but ughhhhh seriously show?!?!?

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Yeah, I saw a bunch of spoilers via their Facebook page and during the commercials of iZombie. I’ve only seen one episode of season 2 so far.

      Jaime Camil is hosting the Television Critic’s Awards, which I would watch anyway because I love awards show and the nominees are solid, but him hosting should be a delight.

  4. collin0truckasaurus says:

    We finished season 1 of Crazy Ex Girlfriend last night and I have to say I was bothered by the ending. Mr Truck kept yelling that these are all terrible people and Rebecca lies all the time which is true. I still have Sexy Getting Ready Song in my head and earlier I was singing “I’m getting Bi” which is also really really great. I think Daryl might be my favorite character.

    I haven’t gotten through The Bachelorette or UnReal yet but I’m very excited about both!

    • martinmegz says:

      There is a group song that some of the guys make up on the Bachelorette this week that is just perfection. I watched it over and over and over because it might be the best moment in television history.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Oh yeah…not quite as good as the “let’s pretend you’re hitler” “let’s NOT pretend that!” conversation, but still amazing!

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I still have to watch the last couple episodes of Crazy Ex Girlfriend. I really want to love that show, and I appreciate a lot of things about it, BUT I kind of hate it?

      I have heard really great things about UnReal – it won a Peabody! – so I want to check that out at some point.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Do you kind of hate it because all of the characters are very unlikeable? I think that’s what annoys me about it. I really really want to root for these people but they’re making it so difficult!

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          That’s probably the main annoyance. Flawed characters make interesting stories you might be able to relate to. Awful characters just kind of sour the whole show.

  5. martinmegz says:

    I’ve been waiting for this post for days to ask if anyone has watched River on Netflix? Stellan Skarsgård plays a cop but there’s an interesting twist. I don’t want to say anything else and I think it’s best just to watch the first episode knowing nothing. So please someone watch it this week and get back to me. Unless I’m the last person to see this show, in which case let’s talk about it now!

  6. flanny says:

    I accidentally signed up for Amazon Prime and was going to cancel it until I discovered the entire run of Inspector Lewis is on there. Fine, I’ll pay $50 a year for some Lewis/Hathaway/Hobson/Innocent. Anyone have any recommendations for a good show on there that 1) isn’t dramatic/sad/scary, 2) isn’t about politics or any political topic, 3) probably stars an attractive dude?

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Bored to Death and Sex and the City are on there.

      I remember liking Bored to Death mostly because Ted Danson plays a stoner and it is perfect. Sex and the City was pretty great for the first few seasons – I seem to remember the quality drops towards the end.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        Here’s a better description of Bored to Death – “A well-meaning but struggling writer decides to lead a sort of double life by pretending to be a private detective using the methods he read about in old detective novels.”

      • flanny says:

        I’ve got SatC on reserve for some lazy Saturday, don’t worry. And I’m interested by the description of Bored to Death, but the issue is (unpopular opinion) I really don’t like Jason Schwartzman. I’ve only seen Rushmore once so strong is my dislike.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          I don’t mind Schwartzman, but I am not a fan of Rushmore.

        • Commentatrix says:

          The thing that makes BTD so great to me isn’t even the premise, it’s the fact that it’s a show about male friendship, but like where said men all interact with each other more like female friends? I’m not sure I’m really distilling its essence properly, but it’s a very pro-feelings show!

      • Commentatrix says:

        I love bored to death so much!

    • flanny says:

      Even though it’s 2/3 what I said I didn’t want, I’m watching Band of Brothers. I LOVE YOU FOREVER, DICK WINTERS!!!!

      • !!!! My love for Band of Brothers gets into truly scary obsessed fan territory. I have the special edition DVD set in the metal case! My Captain America love is really just a pale imitation of my Dick Winters love.

        • flanny says:

          My love of the series isn’t quite that intense yet BUT ONLY because I haven’t watched it enough to get to that level BUT ONLY because those damn DVDs were so expensive!

    • FRQ says:

      Wait, are you $50 a year because you’re in education? If so, why the hell did I not get on that bus sooner?!

      • flanny says:

        Ooh, I don’t know. Literally I signed up accidentally because I didn’t uncheck some box when I was buying music, so I have no clue what the details are. I saw the charge on my card and then called my credit card to protest the charges and they were like, “Oh that’s an Amazon Prime membership. It’s our most commonly protested charge.” I dunno!
        But my account is through my gmail account, but maybe at some point I’d put my .edu email in there somewhere. I just don’t know and I’m not going to ask questions. (Okay, one question: how much is it for normals?)

  7. old man fatima says:

    Canadian Netflix has season 1 of Are You Afraid of the Dark?, but we ran through that already so we’ve downloaded the rest of the series and we’re working through that. There are some LEGIT terrifying episodes! This was a show for kids! How did anyone get to sleep at night in the 90s??

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I’ve never seen Are You Afraid of the Dark, but it may or may not be similar to the show Eerie, Indiana – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0101088/?ref_=nv_sr_2

      • old man fatima says:

        Not really. It’s a group of kids who take turns telling scary stories, so each episode has its own independent plot and cast of characters. The only people we see every episode are the kids telling the stories, although there are a few recurring characters who pop up. It’s a great show! It got picked up on Nickelodeon starting with season 2 (our season 2, your season 1 I guess).

  8. Commentatrix says:

    You guys, please please do yourselves a favor and watch Hulu’s Difficult People. It’s wall to wall laughs and actually a super well-done and tightly plotted traditional-style sitcom, which I feel is a really rare thing these days? Great characters, great guest stars JUST WATCH IT. (I’ve turned into a really obnoxious advocate for this show ever since I went to a Paley Fest panel for it earlier this year and the theatre was barely like 3 rows full, which is INSANE. The panel was also very very good, and I recommend watching that on Hulu as well, preferably between seasons 1 and 2. OK that’s all.)

Comments are closed.