So, How Was Your Day?

Mine was eh. Work was loooong, and I didn’t get enough done when I got home, and it’s too hot. But other than that everything’s fine, and I got some writing done and had some wine. Wine always helps.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. nastyemu says:

    I’m not adjusting to post-vacation life at all. I finish my 3rd cup of coffee and I’m ready to open my first beer and sit on the beach. We have another vacation in 7 1/2 weeks. That’s all I think about now, just counting the days between vacations and holidays. I need a new job.

    • Sota says:

      I hear that. I have already blown all of my vacation time for this year due to having a long-distance BF and going to a bunch of destination weddings. So I just asked for more vacation time during my review. The gave me another week starting next year, and 3 extra days for this year. I don’t even understand how I can possibly fit in all of the things I want/need to do in only 3 vacation days. I may get a new job just to alleviate this issue.

    • flanny says:

      Ugg, you really realize how much working is the worst when you’re on vacation.

  2. I rode for the first time in clipless pedals today. Contrary to the name, clipless means you are actually clipped in. It’s a weird feeling. Supposedly I will go faster.

    Now I’m at work and getting severely annoyed at a guy on my project. He’s so sweet, but kind of dumb. And asks too many questions. And takes too long to understand things. We have a deadline tomorrow and I need him to go faster. UGH.

    But tonight is trivia and that will make things better.

    • nastyemu says:

      My first time clipped in I fell over at a stop sign, taking out my brother in law. That was 8 years ago and I don’t think we’ve ridden together since.

      • I was so afraid I’d do that but I got to play on a trainer last night so I could actually figure out where to stick my foot. So far no falling down!

  3. hotspur says:

    I went to the Mystery Science Theater reunion rebroadcast last night and it was better than I had hoped it would be. We immediately planned to bring a bunch more people to the next one, in August.

    That was a nice respite from the sheer number of tasks I am supposed to get done today, on which reality is not cooperating. For example, there is a company that used to have a help line that I could call to get crap resolved instantly and today when I looked up the number, it is gone. Now you have to email them, and they promise to get back to you in 24 hours, which is 23:50 longer than I want to wait because a lot of other issues depend on resolving this one first. Come on, every company out there, get it together.

  4. catweazle says:

    I have this one coworker who drives me absolutely up the wall for many different reasons, but one that has been super bugging me lately is that if she wants to ask me a question she will stand up and peek over the cubicle wall that divides us and stare at me until I notice and ask her what’s up. I hate it sooooo much. The place she pops up in is in my peripheral vision so I don’t often notice her for a while so she’ll just be staring at me (or worse, whatever non-work-related thing I might be looking at on my computer, which she will then comment on rather than ignoring because she doesn’t understand workplace etiquette) for god knows how long like a total creep. She’s like a jack-in-the-box from hell. Anyway, today I decided I had had enough so I sent her an IM asking her to announce herself in the future if she’s going to breach the wall and you guys would be so proud of how polite and professional I was about it when all I wanted to do was say “STAY IN YOUR GD SEAT AND LEAVE ME THE F ALONE!”

    • Had a coworker like that, pissed me off so much. Right now I’m dealing with Kermit arm flails from this one guy. I hate it so much.

      I at least got him to stop saying “Can I ask a question?” before every question.

    • hotspur says:

      I’m trying to imagine her comments after studying what you’re doing.
      “I think you go too hard on Acid Betty.”
      “Needs more gifs.”
      “Is your friend ever going to finish recapping 10th Kingdom? I was into that.”

      • catweazle says:

        The fact that I wrote the majority of the Tournament of Hotties posts at work and managed to hide it despite the fact that I share a cubicle with somebody and also have the jack-in-the-box neighbor is one of my proudest accomplishments.

  5. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I was on my way to an off site meeting, and was half way there when I got a text saying that the meeting was being postponed for one hour. UGH!

    In other work related news, I have 8 vacation days left to use before my work anniversary next month, so my boss told me I have to take a week off. Sounds good to me!

  6. Sota says:

    Today is just a day at work. Nothing is that bad, nothing is that good…everything is just on the brink of annoyance and moderate managability but hasn’t yet teetered off into the oblivion of crisis mode. Yet. Fingers crossed I can keep it all at that moderate level a bit longer.

    • Sota says:

      Unrelated…I finally started reading Ready Player One and I am totally hooked already. I can’t wait to hop on the bus to commute home to get to read more!

  7. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My day has been incredibly busy! My boss is out so I’m getting to be involved in everything and it’s really making my job 1000x better! It’s so nice to be useful and valued and to actually contribute! My boss is back tomorrow and I’m not looking forward to it at all! I think he’s going to be very territorial about all the stuff I had to do while he was gone.

    • Sota says:

      Based on how you have described this boss before, I would say the territorial-ness you predict sounds about right.

  8. flanny says:

    Today was day 3 of writing camp with the middle schoolers, and let me tell you that they are nothing short of a delight! One girl wrote an essay about Gloria Steinem and how feminism is great. She is maybe fourteen. And then another boy wrote this really crazy surreal story about flying narwhals and criminal pigs. They’re just great!

    This week I’ve been working from home in the morning and then going to the camp in the afternoon. I just love the camp so much more and I’m really not looking forward to not having it to look forward to. I even care about and mostly like my real job, but it doesn’t hold a candle to the camp and the people at camp. 😦 Sigh, but now I have to eat a quick dinner before heading out to see Jesus Christ Superstar, which is probably my favorite musical. All in all a great Wednesday that makes me question every other day.

Comments are closed.