It’s Friday, Let’s Vent!

Mixing it up again this week (although still tell me your weekend plans, always tell me your weekend plans). Let’s have a venting session. Get it all out. What’s driving you up the wall right now, no matter how trivial?

http3a2f2fmashable-com2fwp-content2fuploads2f20132f062fglee1

I’ll start: a book I was really looking forward to, the most recent in a series I enjoy, is chock full of one of my biggest literary pet peeves: dialect. Tons and tons of dialect–which can be effective when used sparingly, but gets silly and hard to read and even a little insulting (since it’s most often meant to signify that a character is lower-class and uneducated) when overdone. Every Scottish and Irish character (the main characters are English) have their accents meticulously spelled out when they speak, and it’s incredibly distracting. I’ve torn through the other books, but I’m not sure if I’m even going to bother finishing this one.

 

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to It’s Friday, Let’s Vent!

  1. Guess who’s home early from work! IT’S ME! (I’m watching that new Winona Ryder show on Netflix, and it’s super creepy so far.)

  2. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Remember how I was worried that my boss would come back from vacation and be territorial? Yep, that happened. There was this huge project I was finally getting to be involved in and now he’s back and like “I’ll take it from here” and it just super sucks.
    There’s this weekend assignment coming for the new job I applied to and I was hoping it would get assigned today but haven’t seen anything and the guy is out all next week, so now it looks like it’ll be the weekend after that, which is when I’ll be out of town with my best friends. It’s gonna be fine and ultimately I’m really really excited about this opportunity, but the timing isn’t great.
    Finally, I left my hoodie in the car and now I’m slightly chilly! SLIGHTLY CHILLY!

    • Commentatrix says:

      Any updates on the new job prospect?

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        I emailed the hiring manager a couple weeks ago and he said “yeah we got your application and we’re working on the next steps but you’ll hear from us soon” and I heard through a friend of a friend that they’re going to drop an assignment on the pool of select applicants over a weekend and see what everyone comes up with. I think it’s really great because it’ll really give me an opportunity to show them how great I can be for them (as opposed to an interview where I’d just be telling them and hoping they are convinced), but I’m worried it’ll come on the weekend I’m out of town or something. I’m really really excited though because I think his email made it clear that I’m in the running! I just need to be patient which is something I’m really not great at. Thanks for asking!

    • martinmegz says:

      I think when bosses go on vacation they’re really at a training course for how to be assholes

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Ha! I think what sucks about it so much is that while he’s gone, I get to cover for him and do all the stuff that I’m dying to do and he won’t let me be a part of. So it’s really fun while he’s gone and then he comes back and makes it that much worse cause I get a taste of the fun stuff and then it’s taken away.

  3. I had to go to my client’s office for a meeting. My coworker drove me, but he lives in the suburbs and so I had to take the train. Our meeting ran late and instead of taking the train that would dump me by an awesome bar 10 minutes from my house, I had to take the train that dumped me downtown, 30 minutes from my house. I really hate when people don’t respect my time, but I can’t speak up because it was a final meeting.

    I also hate that I ignored an email from a coworker on a non-urgent matter and she just emailed me again. It’s been 3 hours! IT’S NOT A BIG DEAL. I will edit the copy to the non-urgent slide on Monday. Calm the fuck down.

  4. Kate says:

    So a teen boy just chased his beagle doggie up onto my deck, picked him up to take him away, and I’m out the door like “hey, what’s his name! He’s so cute! I think he wants to stay with meeee!” And the boy’s running away smiling politely like “crazy lady stranger danger”.

    • old man fatima says:

      Do you listen to Can I Pet Your Dog? It’s a podcast about dogs, and it’s amazing. They also have a facebook group, and even if you don’t listen to the podcast you should join the group. My newsfeed is literally 100% cute dogs now, no regrets!

  5. artdorkgirl says:

    We had a wake to go to on Wednesday, and the plan was to go, stay a couple of hours, then leave (it was 1 1/2 hours away). We ended up going to dinner. We didn’t get home until midnight. I am still recovering.

  6. FRQ says:

    Tonight I’ll be at a museum to see a new exhibit on sneaker culture. Tomorrow I’ll be volunteering (but this time I will NOT miss it), then later that evening to a baseball game (but this time with club seats reserved by my company).

    One thing that recently pissed me off (though it’s always pissed me off) happened during a free park concert last week. The host asked the crowd how they were doing, and we responded with a moderate, but fairly loud applause. He then followed it up with “Come on guys, I can’t hear you. How are you all doing tonight?!” Let me tell you something. The first time you asked I gave you an honest assessment of how I felt. I’m not going to give you artificial enthusiasm because you didn’t like the first round of applause. I have vowed to stay dead silent any time someone asks for that again. Screw you buddy.

    Also… http://www.goldman.gripe/

    • martinmegz says:

      “Let me tell you something. The first time you asked I gave you an honest assessment of how I felt.” Put that on my tombstone please, this is a perfectly constructed thought.

  7. catweazle says:

    My week has been nothing but pet peeves and annoyances so I’m not going to bore you with all of them. Basically a ton of people were not at work this week due to vacation/calling in “sick” so that meant much more work for me, PLUS I’ve been leading training sessions for people at a company we acquired recently almost every day for the last few weeks which involves basically giving them homework and then grading it which means even more work. And next week is the beginning of one of our really busy periods so this week shoud have been my last chance to relax but instead I’ve been stressed out to the point that my eye started twitching again.

    Unless I’m forgetting something (which is entirely possible) I don’t have anything to do this weekend except go to my classes tomorrow, thank god. I do need to practice a lot for class tonight because there are a shit ton of parts I was supposed to learn over the last couple of weeks that I’ve been putting off. But other than that I’m going to relax so hard! Nothing but TV and Lego Star Wars and wine and naps.

  8. My roommate has been gone for the last 4 weeks, which has been amazing, but she’s coming home on Sunday. Also, when she left town KNOWING she would be gone for a month, she left a bunch of dirty dishes in the sink that had been there for a week already so I had to wash them all and when I texted her about it, she didn’t even apologize. So now I have to decide whether to let it go (haha, unlikely), comment on directly or passive aggressively ignore her until she apologizes. Also, she left a bunch of produce in the fridge that got moldy and a bunch of food in MY tupperware.

    • Commentatrix says:

      Address it directly! Not because it’s technically the adult thing to do because fuck that, but because it’s been so long that she probably doesn’t even remember anything before her leave, so your silent treatment might not even register for who knows how long, and you’d just be driving yourself crazy with resentment while she’d be gleefully going about her life.

  9. Commentatrix says:

    This weekend I’m going to see Ghost(ball)busters, and I’m excitedddd about that. A pet peeve (literally) that I’m dealing with frequently is that any time I take my dog on a walk

    • Commentatrix says:

      Ummmm lol? OK, well since my dog is reactive he’s been known to bark a LOT on our walks, and it’s very difficult to keep him calm out there as it is (it involves a lot of strategic use of treats and even so I have only about a 60% success rate), and I have these neighbors who are middle-aged men who love my dog, so whenever they see us, they’re like, “Why no more barking?” and they’ll try to get Rudy riled up and fake bark at him, and it’s like, I know you mean well, but you’re ruining my life!

  10. old man fatima says:

    Oh boy, I have lots to vent about. I had my interview on Thursday, and one of the partners from my firm was in the waiting room for a meeting and I was VERY obviously there for an interview and we made awkward chit chat until a lady who introduced herself to me, in front of the partner from my firm, as the hiring manager came to get me. I was so flustered by it and worried that he’d tell my boss that I BLEW that interview. I’ve never done a worse interview in my life. I was so distracted and frazzled! I’m 95% sure I don’t have this job. Which leads me to how much I hate my job! The work is awful and the pay is awful, and all of my friends here have amazing careers and are always doing super fun super expensive things which makes me feel a bit left out. They all just got back from a trip to visit a friend of ours who recently accepted a job in Paris, and I’m like “If I eat oat bran every day this week, I can afford a mid-range bottle of wine on the weekend.” Fatiman goes back to school in Sept and I told him I can’t wait for him to be a student so we can make some poor student friends with poor student hobbies.

    On the plus side, there is a board game bar here and they’re doing trivia and a movie on Monday, and in honour of pride week next week the movie will be But I’m a Cheerleader. I was obsessed with that movie as a teen, I’m so excited to see it again! If anyone hasn’t seen it, Natasha Lyonne gets sent to a gay conversion camp led by RuPaul in man-mode wearing tiny shorts and a “straight is great” shirt, and Rufio from Hook is there too. It’s the perfect movie.

    • martinmegz says:

      I actually gasped at this! I can’t believe you ran into a partner from your firm. Sometimes your life seems a lot like a sitcom.

      • old man fatima says:

        There was nothing funny about it 😦

        Thankfully, he isn’t in my dept and he doesn’t seem to have told anyone? I wanted to puke when I saw him though. I thought about just walking out and standing them up for the interview.

  11. martinmegz says:

    Well this is convenient because I do have something to vent about! My parents, my brother, his wife & 2 young kids are in San Diego all week for vacation. When my mom said they rented a 3 room condo and invited me to come for a few days, I thought that mean there would be room for me (usually my brother and his family stay in one room together). So I took time off work to come in for 3 nights, but when I showed up they didn’t bother to make room for me.

    My parents are in the master, as they should be, but my brother and his wife are in a room with two queen beds and my nephews are in the 3rd room, leaving me to sleep on a pull out couch in the kitchen/living room. I only slept 3 hours with the noise of the ice maker, lights, my dad getting up at 5 am, uncomfortable mattress, etc. I think that common sense and common courtesy dictate that since there are enough real beds to accommodate everyone, there is no reason for me to lie awake all night on the pull out.

    I also think this shows how little regard my family holds for me. A few months ago, no one told me that my nephew/godson had his first communion and confirmation. My GODSON. As in, I should have been his confirmation sponsor. Most likely they just forgot about my existence as opposed to actively not wanting me there, but it made me feel like I’m not a part of the family. And now I feel that way again. And I can’t imagine any other family relegating an adult to the pull out when there are enough beds to go around. Like since when don’t kids sleep in the bad spots? Is this like participation trophies?

    tl;dr: My family makes me feel like I don’t matter and I want to go home, to my home and my bed with my privacy.

    • Kate says:

      😟 I’m so sorry they’re making you feel that way! I think you should speak up! (In a loving way of course) Maybe when you’re back home and have had time to cool off a little.

    • old man fatima says:

      That SUCKS! Did you say anything about it? Maybe they think you don’t mind because you don’t make a fuss. That’s insane that you wouldn’t be invited to your godson’s communion, though! Are you the least religious one? We don’t get invited to Fatiman’s nephews’ baptisms and confirmations etc because we don’t go to church. Which is fine, but it does make us feel a bit excluded.

    • Martinmegs says:

      Thanks for the support! I know my parents love me and if I lived close to them and had kids, they’d do as much for me as they do for my brother. My brother couldn’t care less, and I think he’s the one who should have moved his kids to make room for me. My parents are paying for the damn place, not him. I told my mom I didn’t want to sleep there and she said it would be an awkward situation for her so I just let it go. Really more than the discomfort of the sofa, I’m most upset about what it says that no one cares about relegating me to it. And I’m so sensitive around my family that when I get upset it’s hard not to cry so I just try to get through it and not think about not mattering.

    • Martinmegs says:

      Changed my ticket to go home early and feel so much better! Sorry for the existential crisis!

Comments are closed.