Tuesday TV Talk

As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, I had quite a nostalgia filled weekend.  Sadly, it did not include a viewing of Stranger Things, but I did finish Netflix’s reboot of the classic 80’s series, Voltron.  I was a bit skeptical at first, as the original series (which has quite a colorful history) was really a series of monster-of-the-week episodes, some more ridiculous than others.  Voltron: Legendary Defender surpassed my expectations.  It only has a few story arcs it covers over the span of multiple episodes, and it focuses much more on the pilots and their allies.  They don’t even battle monsters half the time.  It’s by the same team responsible for a number of DC Comics animated properties, as well as Avatar: The Last Airbender and The Legend of Korra.  I’m looking forward to season two, presumably next summer.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Stranger Things is great! We are 4 episodes in, and I am really looking forward to watching the rest as soon as possible.

    The kids are a delight. A++ to the opening title sequence.

    I never watched the movies that I assume inspired this show. I guess I was too busy watching Labyrinth and Princess Bride on repeat because I didn’t see E.T. or Poltergeist until I was an adult, and I’ve still never seen the Goonies.

    But I love the 80s setting, and the balance they are hitting by having both sweet and scary moments, and blending humor and sadness is perfect.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      I am also just starting Stranger Things and I like it very much!! I think we’re 2 or 3 episodes in.

    • Kate says:

      It’s so great. Perfect soundtrack. I only allow us to watch 2 in a row so it’ll last longer.

    • old man fatima says:

      It’s so good! It’s like the X Files meets Spielberg, but with proper horror. Winona is such a bad actress, though 😦 But I still love her so much and I still feel so bad for her character! When she’s talking to the sheriff and she tells him Will has a hard time making friends because of his clothes “What’s wrong with his clothes?” “I don’t know! Does it matter!” AAAHHHHHHHH it makes me feel so many feelingssssssss 😦 😦

  2. artdorkgirl says:

    You guys! I just started watching “Deadwood”. IT’S SO GOOD! I mean, they drop the word “cocksucker” like Taylor drops the word “Like” but I’m 5 episodes in and so invested!

    Also, since Louis Tomlinson is on America’s Got Talent tonight, I’m supposing that Flanny will be indisposed this evening.

    • hotspur says:

      Deadwood is fantastic. I stopped watching a couple episodes away from the end because I didn’t want it to end. (Classic me.)

    • old man fatima says:

      Deadwood is amazing, and I’m going to watch it with Fatiman this fall (I’ve decided) because he hasn’t seen it and the fall is a great time to watch shows.

  3. collin0truckasaurus says:

    The Bachelorette is getting really good! I would like to discuss last night’s episode if anyone else does!
    UnReal had a really provocative week also and I think it’s starting to go past the point of enjoyment. I like it more when it’s a little more soapy than serious.
    I watched Vice Principals and found it hilarious! Can’t wait for the rest of the season!

    • martinmegs says:

      I gave up on UnReal a few weeks ago, but I am still super into The Bachelorette. Everyone keeps saying how boring it is this season, but I eat it up. Actually I drink it up, I watch with a bottle of wine to keep me company.

      HOW COULD SHE POSSIBLY BE FALLING IN LOVE WITH ROBBY? That makes no sense!!!!! Her chemistry with Luke was totally gone last night, she looked uncomfortable after their hometown. My theory is that she knows her #1 and now has to build in some distance from being hot & heavy with Luke because whoever she picks is going to watch the show later and be jealous.

      We are so close to Bachelor in Paradise, how great is that going to be. I can’t wait.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        I agree that she has to pull back on Luke a little bit. I think she has been eye-fucking him all season but I bet you’re right that she knows it’s someone else so she doesn’t want that person to be like “wow, you’ve never looked at me like that.”
        And I agree completely about Robby…how has he made it this far???? He’s so gross!
        ❤ ❤ ❤ Bachelor in Paradise! It's going to be crazy this year!!!

    • Commentatrix says:

      I was just thinking the same about Unreal. It’s come to the point where the backstabbing and “shocking” moments are so ubiquitous that the show/characters are no longer surprising. Also I’ve lost all respect for Rachel after this latest stunt, and if Jay hadn’t called her out on her shit, I might’ve stopped watching entirely.

    • Sota says:

      Okay, I know that I am late to the tv post, and I am not watching the Bachlorette, but I saw this on my facebook feed. Are all of the top 4 men exactly the same? Even the hair is the same! Clearly JoJo has a type.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Yes they all look exactly the same!!! Except Robby…he’s a weirdo. Also Jordan looks like the Veggie Tales asparagus.

      • martinmegs says:

        The haircuts on this season were crazy. Apparently this is the new 20-something hairstyle? They look ridiculous.

  4. hotspur says:

    Even as a kid I was like, Why does every Voltron end the same way? They lose as 5 lions/vehicles, then they form Voltron and still lose, finally they form blazing sword and win. Why didn’t they form blazing sword to start with?

  5. I watched Stranger Things, which I talked about yesterday, finished Crazy Ex-Girlfriend (which, now I know that Greg was the voice of Hans in Frozen, that’s all I can hear when he speaks and it’s weird), and finished the last season of the David Suchet Poirot series, which was obviously fantastic. I know there are some new Poirot movies in the works, but I honestly don’t think I can ever accept an actor other than Suchet.

    • Oh, and now I’m watching Marcella, and I can’t figure out if it’s actually good, or if I’m just a complete sucker for moody British detective shows.

  6. old man fatima says:

    Does the RNC count as TV? I’m baffled and horrified by everything. Donald Trump looks like a blistered testicle and I just don’t understand how that many people can be scared enough of Mexicans to vote for him?? I also spent a lot of time trying to hold my mouth the way he holds his mouth, and it’s just not possible. He must have some kind of horrible jaw affliction, which is what the history books will blame his legacy on. “If only he had seen an orthodontist in time, the United States of America would still be a country today and we wouldn’t be roasting radioactive snake meat over this tire fire.”

    • martinmegs says:

      I woke up excited to see what transpired in the plagiarism scandal while I was sleeping, and I was not disappointed. The excuses are ever funnier than the lifting of passages! It’s just so delicious that of all people the sentences were taken from Michelle Obama.

  7. summerestherson says:

    SECOND SEASON OF JANE THE VIRGIN IS UP ON NETFLIX!!!! I’m so happy!!! Jane! Rogelio! Other characters that I am less enthusiastic about!

    I’m also catching up on Daredevil, but man do I not like Elektra! Like, whatever, we get it, you’re a rich, sociopathic asshole and you’re Karen’s foil, I DON’T CARE.

    Last week I worked the nightside shift so I was at work during primetime, and, guys… it’s been ages since I’ve really watched network TV in primetime, especially in the summer, and let me tell you: IT. IS. BONKERS. What is even going on? What are all these shows?! There’s like 10 variations of Gladiator/American Ninja Warrior, all kinds of weird unheard of game shows, and just like insane garbage procedurals. Also the Bachelorette which I caught a glimpse of and was totally skeeved out by when I saw them making out over a horse’s head? Poor horse! He was just chillin’ in the grass! He didn’t deserve that!

  8. Commentatrix says:

    Is anyone else watching Suits? ***SPOILERS***

    I groaned so hard when Mike fell for that classic fellow captive is really an agent of evil trick. Like uggggh Mike have you ever seen a movie you’re supposed to have a photographic memoryyyy!

Comments are closed.