So, How Was Your Day?

Mine was a little weird! There was work stuff (good, but unexpected), and I had a tweet go viral so my notifications have been going crazy, and, you know…everything else that’s been happening in the world. But otherwise things are good! I also just discovered these, which are amazing. Like, would-choose-over-potato-chip good (the pea snacks, not the fruit. I like fruit, but come on).

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. hotspur says:

    It is a good tweet.

  2. artdorkgirl says:

    I have had a weird day too. The movie group that I’m a mod for exploded and we had to create a sort of “Rules and Guidelines” thing this morning as a result of banning some people. It is awful. And now I have to leave to get a filling. BLERG.

    On the plus side, I’m three days closer to seeing Flight of the Conchords in concert AND I just found out I got another teaching job, so I’ll teach two classes this fall! Hooray!!

  3. Sota says:

    Yesterday I called in sick cause I was just exhausted. I spent half the day sleeping and half the day baking bars (I’m from Minnesota, they are called bars) to bring up to the cabin this weekend for my Brother’s birthday weekend. It was chocolatey goodness all afternoon. Then I ate ice cream for dinner and woke up with a headache this morning. Today I have been at the office but struggling to get anything done at all. I am just so not in the mood. Its also like a zillion degrees outside but I still spent my lunch hour watching a downtown tennis tournament, because why wouldn’t i?

    • Sota says:

      Oh and yes, I will continue to bombard the comments section with gifs.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Thank you for this gif because it reminded me to buy Happy Endings on DVD before Mr. Truck is out of town next week!

        • martinmegs says:

          Let me know if there’s any special features on the DVDs, please. I just keep going through it on Hulu and it’s annoying that season 1 is out of order, but I really like hanging out with the gang so I keep watching.

        • Sota says:

          I own all the DVDs, I can look when I get home and see about the dvd extras. In the dusty recesses of my mind I recall there being some minor extra things on seasons 1 & 2, and then none on season 3. I could be wrong, I will check.

        • martinmegs says:

          Thank you! Also is season one in the proper order on the DVD or in the order it aired?

        • Sota says:

          It is in the proper order on the dvd. But there is one additional episode in season 3 that never aired, so that puts one episode out of order in the season 3 dvds.

  4. FRQ says:

    I’m currently headed to the airport for a last minute flight home, where my sister is about to pop out her first kid. I’m very excited to see my niece for the first time! Well, excited and a number of other feelings, but mostly excitement.

  5. My day is ok. I’m not on a project, but I’m helping with stuff and it’s been busy and stressful. I just want an easy week before I’m thrown into something stressful. Today is at least better than the past two days, where I was questioning why I am here and what I am doing.

    Also not looking forward to biking home in 90 degree weather.

  6. catweazle says:

    Work is busy and will only get busier over the next three weeks so I’m laying in supplies (booze) at home to get me through it. Also, Joanna Newsom announced some southeast tour dates for September and because of my excess of vacation time and lack of impulse management I’m going to go see her in New Orleans and Atlanta! And I’m going to take Amtrak for most of the trip which I’ve never done before but have wanted to do for a while. It’s nice to have something to look forward to during times of stress.

    • Taking the train is the best (with the caveat that every time I’ve taken Amtrak, I’ve gotten lucky and no one sat next to me)!

      • catweazle says:

        Taking a long train ride seems so romantic. I hope I have your luck because the one thing that could for sure ruin it is if I have an obnoxious neighbor!

        • Sergeant Tibbs says:

          This is late, but I take the Amtrak a lot and I like to give out train advice to people who haven’t asked for train advice…give yourself extra time to get in because if the train is delayed (and it inevitably will be, poor Amtrak has no control over its delays because they rarely own the tracks they run on), you don’t want to be stressed out. When I’m on the train, I have an odd zen disposition that I don’t normally have – everyone else is freaking out about the delay and I’m like, “It is what it is, we’ll get there when we get there.” It also helps that I bring my own fancy cheese and crackers stash.

    • FRQ says:

      Ooooh I might go to the Atlanta show. Keep me posted on that.

  7. Sota says:

    Is anyone looking for a Tourism for Weirdos vacation idea?

  8. martinmegs says:

    I have mucho work to do but also I feel like not doing work, so I’m having an internal struggle. Tonight I’m having dinner with some friends who had a baby recently so they’re tough to see but I’m bringing food to them. It’s so hard to compete with stroller meat!

  9. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My day has been okay. Work is getting under my skin as much as I’m trying to focus on the positive. I’m just very impatient and anxious for the next steps for this job I’ve applied to because I really want to know if I need to make this current job work or if I’ll get to explore something new and (I hope) great! On the plus side, however, my boss will be out tomorrow and Friday so that will be good (and next week I have only a 3 day week).
    Tonight I’m having dinner with a friend and I’m excited about that and I just got invited to a girls night on Friday with some good friends and I’m pretty sure we’re going to spend the majority of the time talking about The Bachelorette and other garbage TV.

  10. MY DAY, CONT’D: (since what I wrote was actually about yesterday) Ugh, I have not been able to concentrate for a single second today. I don’t know why I’m so antsy (and hungry. The two are possibly related).

  11. Sota says:

    OMG you guys…please look at this. LOLOLOL.

  12. catweazle says:

    UGHHHH you guys, one of the people I spent the last month training (who was a major pill throughout the entire process) just emailed me and managers a two page long document that is 80% complaining about how I ran the training in the guise of “helpful suggestions for future training sessions.” HEY SHITBAG, I HAVE A SUGGESTION: MAYBE NEXT TIME SOMEBODY IS TRAINING YOU, YOU SHOULD ACTUALLY PAY ATTENTION WHEN THEY’RE TALKING INSTEAD OF COMPLAINING CONSTANTLY AND THEN ASKING THEM QUESTIONS ABOUT THINGS THEY ALREADY EXPLAINED IN DETAIL FIVE MINUTES AGO. AND ALSO KEEP YOUR STUPID COMMENTS IN YOUR POCKET.

      • catweazle says:

        The joke is on her really because all of the managers she sent the email to have taken the time to personally thank me for doing the trainings and told me I did a good job so she can go eat a fig for all I care 😡

        • martinmegs says:

          I hate this person but also I want more details so I can hate her even more! Is this bitch after your job? Who starts at a new place then emails complaint letters? I hate her so much! Did you send a reply?

        • catweazle says:

          Well it’s a weird situation because she works for the company my company is acquiring, which is the company I worked for before I started working for the company I currently work for. So I worked with this lady previously and was senior to her at that job, but since there’s such high turnover at her company she’s been promoted to a step above what I was there since I left so that she’s technically sort of senior to me? Except the job levels don’t exactly match up between our companies so though she’s probably considered above me there’s not a huge difference and I also have really good standing at my company with the managers and such. But anyway, she’s just bitter because my company is far superior to hers in every way (which is why I jumped ship in the first place) and now she and her team have to follow all of our rules and she wants to throw her weight around and pretend like her company’s policies are superior or some shit. But GET OVER IT, THIS IS MY HOUSE AND YOU WILL FOLLOW MY RULES.

        • martinmegs says:

          This is delicious because she’s making a passive aggressive power play and it’s going to set her back. She better get on board because the train is leaving the station!

    • hotspur says:

      Bomb-throwing like that in an office is weird. Was she trying to damage you, or just totally clueless and thinking “They’ll all love how proactive I am!”? I was late about 20 minutes one day and this girl had sent me about 5 emails asking where I was and CC’ed like a dozen people. Who does that?

      Conversely, someone once sent a 30-person team a key email that had a huge bad decision in it, and instead of replying to all 30 people to point it out, I wrote to the sender only and said, “Hey you forgot to consider this element, so the thing you sent out is a nonstarter that will fall apart in a day or two, just fyi, but maybe try this solution instead…” I thought she’d appreciate how I kept her fuckup on the QT, handed her the solution, and let her take all credit for it… but NoOOOOoooOoOOo she spent the next year being a total dick to me. Wth?

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        I want to punch both people in your examples! This kind of passive-aggressive shit is what drives me crazy about office politics. We’re all on the same team, guys!

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          Similarly, I once got in trouble with my boss because he canceled a meeting and there was some confusion and he wrote to me (copying everyone in our dept) the reason I wasn’t included on another meeting (which felt kind of passive-aggressive in the first place) and I said “Thanks for the clarification, I was confused because [XYZ]” and he later got mad because I was “pointing out his mistake to everyone”. I’m like “I was saying Thank you!!!”

    • old man fatima says:

      Ugh, people who cc the entire office when you fuck up are literally worse than Hitler.

  13. flanny says:

    I’m in New Orleans for a conference!! This morning I walked a mile and a half and developed some boob sweat (I have small boobs so this is unusual) to get some beignets. Oh they were WORTH IT. And then we had the conference, which was perfectly fine. And I just got back from eating fried catfish with some people from the conference. This catfish meal meant that I missed my favorite member of One Direction on America’s Got Talent, but luckily my pals on tumblr are on it, so it’s like I didn’t miss anything.

    (Imagine me with heat eyes looking at that gif. It’s been a long day and I’m very tired.)

Comments are closed.