Tuesday TV Talk

San Diego Comic-Con, everyone’s favorite/least favorite event, was held this past weekend, and with it came a slew of trailers.  Among them was a preview of Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency, a show based on the Douglas Adams novel.  Of the trailers presented, it held the most promise, at least for me.  I never read the book, so I don’t have a shitload of expectations for it.  Anything else stand out for you this year?

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. catweazle says:

    My approach to TV shows is to not watch or read any of the promotional stuff and to just wait until everything comes out and see what everybody is obsessed with. Then I watch it weeks or months after everybody else and miss out on the cultural conversation or whatever, but I’m too lazy to do the research or go into something without a pretty good idea that it’s actually worth watching.

    This week I started the new season of BoJack Horseman which is a show I would never have watched of my own volition but came highly recommended by my sister. And it is so good! It really doesn’t shy away from heavy shit and “hot button issues” but it’s also so funny. I’m only a few episodes in but I’m liking this season so far.

  2. flanny says:

    I’m watching past seasons of The Amazing Race on Amazon, and right now I’m in the middle of season 4, which aired in the summer of 2003. This is the season with Lance Bass’s future ex-boyfriend on it, and in this season he was married to another man and it’s sort of amazing to watch how the two of them feel the need to keep their relationship secret. Don’t worry, guys, it gets better! I have to give TAR and CBS props for just saying they’re Married, not “life partners” or some other euphemism.

    I thought I was a TAR fangirl from the start, but I actually think it’s not until next season that it became appointment viewing for me. I’m excited to get through this season and get back into the groove with my old friends.

    • catweazle says:

      A number of moons ago when I went to visit my sister at school in the LA area we went to a taping of Craig Ferguson and the guest was the host of The Amazing Race. I don’t know if you find that exciting but I thought I would mention it since I had no idea who he was at the time having never watched that show so I couldn’t use the story to make people jealous.

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I would definitely give Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency a chance. Hopefully the A.V. Club or Facebook will remind me about it when it’s going to air.

    I started watching The Night Of on HBO. The first episode was enough to get me to watch the entire run because I want to know what happens. The second episode was a bit slow, and episode 3 is in the DVR, so we’ll see.

    I’m still on the fence about Vice Principals, but the second episode went so over the top that I’m now more invested to see just how crazy it gets.

    • martinmegs says:

      I started to watch The Night Of but I got about ten minutes in and was falling asleep. Should I give it another chance?

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        Hmmmm. I’m not sure. Once I see a murder/mystery, I pretty much have to watch to find out “the truth,” so I’m hooked no matter what at this point, The second episode was even more quiet than the first, or at least it dealt with less characters, so it doesn’t exactly get more exciting. I think it’s only 6 episodes so it’s not a huge time commitment.

  4. martinmegs says:

    The Bachelorette is getting down to it! Everyone on reddit hates this season but for me Mondays are just about killing time until it starts. I really love it. So I was not happy with Bernie last night for pushing my show back half an hour! I won’t say more about last night until I hear that Truck has watched it, but tonight will be amazing. This guy Chad has embraced his role as the season’s villain and is talking shit to all the contestants on Twitter and has been traveling around taking pictures with ex-girlfriends of guys who dumped their ladies to go on the show. Chad is a hero and an asshole!

    • flanny says:

      Ladies, if your boyfriend dumps you to go on the Bachelorette, you dodged a bullet.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      I HAVE watched it! Last night got crazy! [SPOILERS PAST HERE!!!] I had Luke in my fantasy league so I was very bummed to see him go…also amazed he didn’t make it to fantasy suite week as Jojo has been giving him “do me” eyes all season. Chase seemed to be campaigning for next Bachelor and I’d be cool with it. Or Luke. Not Robbie. Or Jordan. Tonight is the Men Tell All and I’m very excited to see what shenanigans come out.
      I really can’t believe who the final two are. Robbie is just the worst and I have no idea what she sees in him. If Jordan wins then it’s two seasons in a row where first impression rose guy wins so there’s that.

      • martinmegs says:

        I think she had to dump Luke before the Fantasy Suite because she already has a lot of explaining to do to whomever she picks (I think Jordan), and it’s best to be able to prove that she didn’t sleep with Luke. Robby is such a plastic weirdo and I think he’s still there only as a back up – he was a guaranteed proposal if it didn’t work out with anyone else. Chase is a robot and his reaction program went a little haywire yesterday but clearly they adjusted his code and he went back to normal. My favorite part of his dumping was how out of nowhere he had a beer in his hands as he got into the van!

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          OMG I loved that random beer! I saw that too! So perfect.
          I have a friend who is a little obsessed with Chase and I think I liked him more after they showed his house, so I feel like he’s more interesting than the show is giving him credit for being.
          Agree completely that she knew she couldn’t fantasy suite Luke and marry Jordan. She asked him to chop wood! That’s going to be a minimum 45 minute conversation with Jordan, I’m sure.
          Robbie has gross hair and only wears salmon-colored shirts.

        • martinmegs says:

          Well here’s the story on Chase’s house. An LA Times entertainment reporter tweeted that he doesn’t own the house, he just rents a room in the basement!

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          That REALLY bums me out.
          After last night (which we could talk about a lot if you’d like), I think Luke is the clear frontrunner for next bachelor. Surprised they didn’t announce it!

  5. Commentatrix says:

    Unreal got good again.

Comments are closed.