Tuesday TV Talk

I recently came across this trailer for a new show on Crackle (lol) called StartUp, which debuts on September 6th.  On paper, I should like this program.  It is a show about cryptocurrencies that is set in my hometown, starring Martin Freeman.  However, watching this trailer soured my thoughts on its potential.  It seemed like everyone was phoning it in, to get that sweet Sony online TV money.  I may give it a shot, since trailers aren’t always cut well.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. catweazle says:

    Does anybody remember that Crackle nail polish that was popular for a hot minute in the late 90s or early 00s? You would paint your nails one color and then paint a layer of Crackle over it and it would like, shrivel up and get cracks in it so you could see the color underneath. But it was really goopy and never dried well. I’ve carried this disappointment with me for many years!

    Anyway, I finished the new season of BoJack Horseman over the weekend and boy oh boy was it a bummer. I liked where they went with Princess Carolyn and Todd’s storylines. I can’t believe Diane and Mr. Peanutbutter are still married. I want BoJack to have stayed underwater with the baby seahorse and lived happily ever after. But even though it filled me with existential angst I enjoyed it! What a good show.

  2. flanny says:

    Even though I promised myself I would only watch one episode of The Amazing Race a day, I have been plowing through the seasons. This weekend I watched season 6, which was exciting because about halfway through the first episode I realized it was the first season where I was super into it. The Build-an-Ikea-Desk detour! The barfing hot soup roadblock! The racist lady who talked about Africans “breeding” too much! The haystack challenge where Phil went out into the field and told the team they were eliminated! JONATHAN AND VICTORIA, the worst couple who ever lived! I’m truly living my fullest life.

  3. Sota says:

    Obligatory mention of Happy Endings. Even Eliza Coupe wants it to happen…
    http://hellogiggles.com/happy-endings-could-still-return-have-hope/

    • martinmegz says:

      Every time I watch an episode, I start doing calculations about how rich I’d have to be to finance a revival. I’d spend millions if I had it!

  4. collin0truckasaurus says:

    We finally started The Night Of. It’s pretty good. We’re two episodes in and Mr. Truck predicts that the stepdad murdered her. Will see!
    I really enjoyed Vice Principals’ second episode – I saw a lot of comments that it went too dark, but I kind of loved it. I like when shows that take place in reality verge well beyond it.

    As for The Bachelorette last night, I was entertained and not at all surprised by the finale. Meh, so it goes. I did NOT win my Bachelorette Fantasy League, but the person who had the winner on her team did, so no surprise there.
    Tonight begins the beautiful gift from Sweet baby Angel Chris Harrison, Bachelor in Paradise.

    • My friend showed me a video of one former contestant drunk snapchatting the episode. Even though I know nothing about the show, I was entertained. Whoever that guy was, he should not have been eliminated.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        His name is Wells and he’s a national treasure!
        I would love to see him as the next Bachelor but I feel like too many people would be like “who?”

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      I’d just like to share that first prize will be getting some Chris Harrison earrings as well as the hardback copy of Chris Harrison’s book: The Perfect Letter and second prize will be winning some Bachelorette wine tags (specific to this season). I’ll share pictures when all have arrived.

    • martinmegz says:

      BIP is such a gift, I truly love it. My favorite was the time the contestant was sleeping with a production assistant and he jumped out the window to avoid detection then the show RE-ENACTED IT!!!!!! I still smile just thinking about. Also when Ashlee the mean girl got caught on camera being a b-word after all the effort she put into pretending to be a nice person! Everything about the show is great, except Ashley I.’s pathetic obsession with poor Jared.

  5. I finished Stranger Things last night and it was everything I hoped it would be. I’m actually really happy I spaced it out over a week or so, it made it more satisfying. I’ve been binging the soundtrack all day. I really hope they do another season. All of the kids are stellar.

    • FRQ says:

      I finally finished it over the weekend and I agree. What I don’t get is this underground movement hailing Barb as the best character in the show. I mean, her look is awesome, but, let’s just say, her role isn’t that prominent in the show. Is this an internet joke that went way over my head?

      • Yeah, that’s gotten a little silly–I think mostly it’s because people think she got a raw deal, which is definitely true, but that’s also exactly the purpose she was meant to serve in the story. (I also think a lot of younger viewers are blown away by the fact that yes, that really is how a lot of teenage girls dressed back then.)

      • I was sad when Barb bit the dust, but I didn’t think she was the greatest. 11 is the greatest. The internet latches onto weird things.

  6. I haven’t watched anything that interesting lately, but I’m definitely going to be alllll over this:

    And the Queen Elizabeth Netflix series is coming out soon!

  7. martinmegz says:

    Last week I watched a show on Hulu called Endgame, it’s about a chess master who can’t leave his hotel because of a trauma so he solves crimes within the hotel. There’s only 13 episodes but it’s entertaining enough, especially for people who watch shows like Elementary. The production value is a little cheesy, but I enjoyed it.

    • FRQ says:

      Oh man, my old roommate watched that show a couple years ago, and I saw a few episodes with him. Your description is accurate.

Comments are closed.