So, How Was Your Day?

Mine was pretty good–I’m feeling very smug and proud of myself because I did yoga AND took the garbage out today. TWO adult things! I also ran out of wine, though. Life is a precarious balance.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My day has been okay. My car is in the shop and they were supposed to have called me within 48 hours but they haven’t. Similarly, I emailed the HR recruiter for this job I’m still waiting to hear about to see if there’s any update and he has not responded at all.
    I just really want my car fixed and I want to know if I’m still in the running for this job. I just feel like it’s not that hard to communicate with people, even if you do have to give them bad news. I’m an adult, I can handle it.

    • martinmegz says:

      Dang, job, get back to us already! I really want you to get it!

    • Sota says:

      People are the worst when it comes to communication around jobs. I remember last time i was hard core job searching applying to a job that I was 100% qualified for, and I got my rejection letter by email TEN MONTHS later! Can you even imagine? I had already been in the job I ended up taking for 8.5 months at that point. It’s just being rude to your applicant base to leave people hanging.

  2. flanny says:


    I was notified via a piece of paper taped to my door yesterday afternoon that starting today at 9am they’d be doing routine maintenance to all the apartments in my building, and it would take them about 4 hours to do the whole building. In the past, when I’ve had a maintenance guy come in, I’ve been asked to stay home to “secure the cat” because she’s curious about the front door. Okay, thanks for the heads up, apartment management company. Luckily, it’s a slow time of year and I have a job that I can work from home with, so I thought, NBD, I’ll stay home in the morning go to the office in the afternoon. Very annoying that despite the fact that they have my email address, phone number, and I am on their app, the best way they thought of getting in contact with me was through a piece of paper. 2016, whatever. (It’s not like two weeks ago I left the state on Tuesday at noon and was gone until Friday night and it’s possible no one would have seen the notice until late in the day on Wednesday. No no, less than 24 hours notice on paper is totally reasonable.)

    So this morning I got up and got dressed as usual and did some work, hoping that I’d be on my way to work within an hour or two. But around 9:15 I looked out the window and saw that the maintenance truck wasn’t at my building yet. In fact, it was two buildings away! So they weren’t just doing my building but many buildings in the complex! This despite the fact that the letter said “Your building is scheduled for maintenance to begin at 9am.” The letter also said that each building takes at least four hours??? So I kept my eye on it and they were still at the first building at 11:15. So if each building takes four hours and I am maybe the third building, it’s possible my building wouldn’t be done until 9PM??? What sort of a time frame is that, guys??? So I called and rescheduled the appointment for Friday morning when I will be cooking Brazillan food for my opening ceremonies party. Not ideal, but oh well.

    This whole debacle is after I received an email from my car service people letting me know that an appointment I’d made to get a seal or something replaced was rescheduled for Monday at 7:15am. Look, the reason I am single with no children is because I like to have some control over my own schedule, so I don’t react well to having no notice for random appointments!

    tl;dr My life is so good that the most minor of inconveniences causes me to complain for three paragraphs.

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Today is the last day of my “vacation.” I’ve been off since last Tuesday, which sounds like a long time, except I had to work every day last week on my freelance project and on Friday night for my regular job. If I would have been better about time management, the freelance project would not have eaten up 3 of my vacation days, but I never learn from past mistakes about procrastination.

    I expected to be more productive and feel more refreshed being out of the office for so many days. I didn’t get as much done as I hoped, but still chipped away at a few things I don’t usually have time to do on a work night. Also, I got to watch a couple episodes of the People’s Court, which is my favorite day time television show.

    Monday is my TEN YEAR anniversary at work, and I will be granted with 20 new vacation days! I can have 20 three day weekends. Or take off a bunch of days during the winter where I will not have to leave the house in the cold.

    • martinmegz says:

      WOW 20 new days??? That’s awesome. I’m coming up on ten years but I’ll just get an extra five days. Also, where the hell did the last decade go?

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        20 days total. I think this year I had 15. I had a bunch of leftover days which is why I’ve been on vacation all week. My boss said I had to use them up before my anniversary.

        I can’t believe it’s been 10 years. I feel ancient! According to Wikipedia, popular movies 10 years ago included Talladega Nights, Cars, Click, and Snakes on a Plane.

  4. My project got put on hold a bit because of contract stuff, so I’m in a bit of a holding pattern. So instead I’m surfing the web. Oops.

    I think I may walk to Starbucks later just for shits.

  5. catweazle says:

    Well I puked last night for I think the first time this year? I had had a couple of drinks but wasn’t even drunk let alone even close to puking-level inebriation so I don’t know what the f happened but it was gross and hard to fall asleep after. If it was any other day I would have called in sick to work but today just so happens to be one of the four busiest days of the entire year and if I called out I would have been really screwing over my coworkers so now I am at work and tired and stressed and I didn’t even drink coffee today because I was afraid it would make me puke again. And my back hurts worse than ever. And I’m on my period. CHEER-UP GIFS WOULD BE WELCOME RIGHT ABOUT NOW IS WHAT I’M SAYING.

  6. old man fatima says:

    I start my new job on Monday, so it’s been a great week! I can see the finish line, you know? I’ve had some very nice things said to me since I gave my notice, which is nice but it would have been nicer to have been treated well before I decided to fly the coop. One of the partners from corporate law called me into his office today to tell me that, although he has never worked with me, he’s going to miss me because I’m always so cheerful and nice to everyone. He said, “The cool thing about you is that you always have something to say to me when you see me around the office, even though we don’t know each other.” He said sometimes he will say hello to people and they just walk right by him, so he really appreciates it. This guy is a partner here! If the guy who signs the paycheques can’t get a hello, you’re in a really bad place. I appreciate his kind words, but how sad is it that I’m getting accolades for being a normal amount of polite to my coworkers?

    Also, my I’m being my brother’s best man at the end of the month. He’s wearing a blue and green kilt (I feel like he just picked a tartan at random?? We aren’t Scottish), so I was going to wear a blue or green shirt to match, BUT THEN today I discovered a plaid store. Literally just plaid stuff. So I asked brotima to send me a photo of his kilt and got myself a bowtie and cummerbund to match. They also sell Scottish Lordships there. It’s a land conservation thing, so you buy like a square foot of land in the highlands, and the Scottish govt will make you a Lord/Lady of that “estate.” I asked the (literal) lady at the counter if it’s for real, and she showed me her driver’s license that says she is Lady Elizabeth Whomever. It’s $60. I might get my brother a lordship for his wedding.

  7. artdorkgirl says:

    I’m so stressed out you guys!! Why did I think I could work two jobs and write? It’s dumb! BLERG.

    In humblebrag news, I’ve been invited to be on two podcasts! I record the first one tonight (It’s about Jean-Claude Van Damme, so obviously I’m talking about Friends instead) and the other one will record in October. I don’t know how this happened.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    • old man fatima says:

      I listened to the How Did This Get Made on Bloodsport recently, and they broke the news that there is going to be an all female remake of it soon called Lady Bloodsport, which is a perfect title for what I’m sure will be a perfect movie. I hope they keep the script and movie 100% the same, but gender swap every character. I want to see the sexy male reporter getting sleazed on by businessladies so badly.

  8. Sota says:

    I am going to the Chelsea vs. AC Milan game tonight!

Comments are closed.