How Was Your Weekend?

I did nothing but watch the Olympics all weekend, and it was amazing (except when I saw that French gymnast break his leg live; that was horrific and I’m still traumatized). The Canadian livestreams are so much better than American coverage. I’m never watching NBC again.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I didn’t manage to get anything productive done, but as long as I can really buckle down this week, I won’t get too mad at myself for being incredibly lazy over the weekend.

    We killed not one, not two, but THREE crickets in our house. The downstairs neighbors have a lizard, and somehow their feeder crickets have escaped and ended up in our place. These crickets don’t make noise, which makes them slightly less aggravating than regular crickets, but it’s still creeping me out, and I really hope we don’t find any more.

  2. martinmegz says:

    Well I certainly caught Olympic fever faster than Olympic athletes are catching Zika (too soon?). I watched a ton of Olympics this weekend, and for all my many complaints about the jackwads running NBC and the stupid tape delays, at least the tennis coverage is excellent. They put us over on Bravo and forgot about us, I think, which is great.

    Also the women’s road cycling was so intense! There was a horrific crash then a nail biter ending and I totally cried. Leslie Jones has been tweeting such amazing coverage of the Games that NBC invited her to come to Rio.

    • martinmegz says:

      OH AND DON’T GET ME STARTED ON THE GYMNASTICS RULES! The third best gymnast in the world won’t be competing in the individual all around because of the stupid rules limiting it to two per country. How about we just get the best athletes to compete regardless????

    • flanny says:

      Your last paragraph is spot on! I literally was kneeling in front of my TV during the last 100 meters or so of the road race. And I was 100% sure the rider who crashed was dead. “You’ve just seen a person die on national TV,” me and everyone who saw Lee Harvey Oswald killed.

  3. catweazle says:

    I skipped my early class on Saturday to get some rest before going to my second class. After class was over my head was killing me and my throat was super sore from singing through illness but then I drank a hot toddy and did a shot of whiskey and I shit you not I felt so much better. So I went to our performance and it went just fine and I got to sing the dumb David Cassidy song and I drank more and still felt great! Drinking is the cure for the common cold! Who knew! Although as soon as I got home I was super sleepy so I went to bed and slept for 12 hours and spent literally the entire day yesterday in my bed watching Buffy and reading and playing with my iPad and taking a four hour nap in the afternoon. The horrible sinus pain and sore throat are gone now and I have transitioned into the sneezing and runny nose portion of my cold but so far it’s not nearly as bad as I was expecting. So a much better weekend than I expected!

    • Kate says:

      I also swear by the hot toddy for a cold. Combine it with a nice hot bath and a long sleep for a cure! I’m glad you’re feeling better, and I wish I could hear your performance. I had a crush on David Cassidy when I was a little kid.

  4. flanny says:

    It was a roller coaster of emotion, but overall everything shook out to a great-weekend level. So much Olympics, but also on Saturday we went to the USTA boys’ national championship, and even though I always need to have tennis re-explained to me, it was very enjoyable. I also took two naps this weekend, but now I think that might have been because I’m getting a summer cold. My cat also has a summer cold, and together we are all sniffly and grumpy.

  5. Sota says:

    Well my weekend was fantastic. (Dont worry there is a twist ending) My bf and I had a blast, we went out on his motorcycle, went to an art museum, walked the dogs, went out to eat, gazed at each other like two loving idiots. It was all very very perfect. Too perfect maybe? He dropped me off at the airport last night at 11pm so I could take the red eye back to Minneapolis and go straight to work. I have done this before and its brutal, but worth it. You may have happened to see on the news…Delta’s systems were shutdown last night in a worldwide outage causing thousands of flight problems. I spent almost 8 hours in the Sacramento airport and when I finally got on my flight and back to minneapolis, I called the boss and she listened to my whole story and then said… “Well when you get to the office…theres this this and this to do.” SIGH. Lady! Did you not hear that I have literally been in transit for over 12 hours?! I am so tired. So now I am at the office (I told her I would show up for a few hours but I was leaving early) and trying to deal with dumb project issues.

  6. Sota says:

    Guys! In tv news…New girl and Brooklyn 99 are doing some crossover episodes this season! I LOVE CROSSOVER EPS!

    http://www.vulture.com/2016/08/new-girl-brooklyn-nine-nine-crossover.html

  7. artdorkgirl says:

    We went to Hyannis, which is pretty cool, but I was hoping there would be a beach and there was only an inlet. Cape let down, indeed. I did, however, get some awesome seafood and Mr. Dork learned how to fight in the Pokemon gym, so it wasn’t a total let down.

  8. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I was sick all weekend! My friend was in town and we went to the aquarium (so great!) and then to get ribs (the best!) but I was sick and kinda not fun all weekend. Today I stayed home from work and went to the doctor and am starting to feel better but still look like shit. I also got a tshirt from the rib place and I didn’t realize until I got home that on the back it says “We ain’t pretty but we’re good” with a picture and it’s just the greatest thing ever.

Comments are closed.