Can We Bring Back Birthday Gifs?

I’ve been wanting to revive the birthday gif request tradition, and since Tuesday, August 9 is my birthday, I have a special incentive to make it happen with a quickness. If you so please, I would love to see gifs from Happy Endings, of Nick Miller, or from the Olympic Games, just to spite the IOC and their stupid gif ban. You can’t fight technology, you corrupt idiots!

I’d also love to hear stories about your best or worst birthdays because I love stories and it’s my birthday! My worst birthday happened when I was about 7 or 8 years old. The clown my mom hired from the community center had only been at the party less than half an hour when he initiated a game of hide-and-go-seek. While we were counting, he got into his car and drove off. I was inconsolable. My best birthday was age 6 when we lived in New Jersey with a real backyard and my parents rented a pony for the party!

This entry was posted in Fun Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Can We Bring Back Birthday Gifs?

  1. catweazle says:

    It’s your birthday, and Nick Miller has some advice for you!

    • catweazle says:

      My worst birthday was my 21st because my family was in the process of moving into a much smaller place and we spent the entire day sorting through shit/packing and the highlight was getting out of the house for an hour to drop some stuff off at Goodwill. But that’s a boring story so let me tell you about my older sister’s worst birthday! I was only a baby so I don’t remember this but we have a great home video of I want to say her 5th or 6th birthday party. My mom had made this pretty awesome carousel cake with little horse figurines and a canopy made of doilies and everybody was having a great time until it was time to light the candles and the doilies caught fire. So on the video there’s some general birthday chatter and suddenly you hear my mom scream “THE CAKE IS ON FIRE!” and it suddenly cuts off and then cuts back in on my poor sister’s sad, tear-streaked face (because in order to put out the fire, somebody dumped lemonade on it which tbh seems like it might enhance the cake but to a child it probably seemed like everything was ruined).

      Anyway, that was a long story so have a bonus Nick Miller!

    • catweazle says:

      Oh and I don’t watch the summer Olympics because there’s no figure skating but I have read a NewNowNext article about how hot this swimmer from China is:

  2. FRQ says:

    Happy birthday!

  3. Kate says:

    Happy Birthday! No gif, because ikd how, but a story. My worst birthday was most of them until I started dating my husband at age 17. He’s always made a big deal out of it since then. Before that, I had to share my birthday with two of my brothers whose birthdays were close to mine. I think I had one friend party as a kid, and my little siblings kept crashing it! 8 kids. Total chaos.

  4. flanny says:


    Since my birthday’s in January it’s often interrupted by snowstorms, which happened on my 24th birthday, the first birthday I lived in Boston. No one wanted to go out, which was kind of okay with me because my beloved Amy Sedaris was going to be on David Letterman that night and I wanted to watch. My roommate and I got dressed up like we were going out, then drank a bunch of ouzo while gchatting with our friend who was living in France. I specifically remember falling out of the desk chair. And then next thing I knew I was curled up against our toilet. My roommate was being very attentive to me, but I have things that needed to be done, Sedarises to watch! I told her to go into the living room and tell me when Amy was on TV.
    “She’s on!” my roommate yelled from the living room.
    Try as I might I couldn’t get up off the bathroom floor. I was crushed. I had just enough strength and wherewithall to ask, “Is she beautiful?”
    She was. Oh she was.

  5. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Happy Birthday!!!

  6. hotspur says:

    Hahaha, I like to think that clown died bitter and alone, in despair that none of you came looking for him.


    I think this is London. THEY BANNED GIFS?? That makes zero sense. They don’t get the gold medal for that one. They get… what’s the worst… lessee… the booger medal! And ten bucks says they eat it.

    Happy birthday!

    My best birthday was when I turned 12 and my Mom rented out the private room at an arcade. Me and 10 friends played video games for 3 hours (or whatever) and ate pizza. I got the highest score ever on Battle Zone, which was my jam.

    Worst birthday was maybe when I turned 30? That was the surprise party “organized” at a bowling alley where the crowd was all my GF’s friends because she didn’t know how to contact my friends. I have written of it here before. You know it was bad.

    • martinmegz says:

      Yeah the dumbasses at the IOC think promotion of their event is a bad thing for some reason. Gotta protect that kickback money! I’m really cynical about the IOC, and if Los Angeles gets the 2024 Games (please God no) then I’ll believe that Garcetti is corrupt because I’m convinced you have to bribe people to win the bid.

  7. artdorkgirl says:

    I will genuinely be sad if something horrible happens to Gawker Media, because they’re the only reliable source of Olympic gifs I can find. Also: HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

  8. YAY BIRTHDAY. Best birthday was probably 5th grade when we set up the house like Clue and played it throughout the rooms. It was great and silly. Plus I got a 98 degrees CD. Worst birthday was probably this year when my dumb bf broke up with me 3 days beforehand and I couldn’t really eat anything and was stressed out of my mind because of job stuff. In general my birthdays have been pretty good, there’s usually snow that’s pretty and a low key dinner.

    My old roommate has a better worst birthday story, which is the same day as mine: she got drunk at her company’s (belated) holiday party and slipped on ice getting out of the cab and broke her knee. She spent her birthday waiting for surgery. Blergh.

    • martinmegz says:

      Ugh I hate your ex-bf. I got dumped around a birthday once, too. I had to cancel my b-day plans to fly back East because my Grandma was sick and my boyfriend didn’t get me a present even when I got back. When he broke things off a few days later I accused him of dumping me to avoid buying me a present and he acted really hurt. Then I went to San Francisco to get away for a week and came home to a new TV in my living room, so I considered it a parting gift.

  9. Commentatrix says:

    Happy Late-In-The-Day Birthday!

Comments are closed.