So, How Was Your Day?

UGH. Work was crazy, so I rewarded myself with wine and a Five Guys dinner and by not doing the laundry I really needed to do. Plus my garage opener died, so I need to find the weird batteries it takes. And it’s too hot. I’m cranky today.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. catweazle says:

    I am at like a full week and a half of going to work every day even though I feel like refried shit so that’s fun. I ordered lunch from a place across the street and they didn’t give me the cookie I ordered to console myself and now I am sad and have wasted an entire $1.89 on an empty promise.

  2. Sota says:

    Well, the newest Oreo flavor is Swedish Fish. I think its time to be done with flavored Oreos. They’ve gone too far.

    https://www.thrillist.com/news/nation/swedish-fish-is-oreos-newest-big-flavor

  3. Guys! I have the Guardian’s live coverage of the Olympics up and every so often I read a few updates. It’s so adorably British: “Sensing a scoop from my position under a nearby tree, where I was busy not giving up smoking, I waited to see what would happen next.” I think the writers are having way too much fun.

    Otherwise, I am not working as fast as I should be.

  4. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My car has been in the shop for 10 days and today I found out that there’s extra damage and they can’t even start on it until the insurance guy comes out and looks which the body shop guy said might not be until tomorrow or Friday. So we called the insurance (of the at-fault party) and kindly requested they hurry the F up (mr. truck did it so he was no doubt very nice about it), but there was already a big delay because the trunk hood they ordered arrived damaged (and they didn’t notice until I brought my car in…) so they had to wait for the 2nd one to arrive. I just think it’ll be awhile before it’s done and I’m already tired of it. I just want my car back. Plus Mr. Truck is house-bound during the day and I have to drop off and pick up tykeasaurus every day (when usually i drop her off and mr. truck picks her up) and in general I’m just ready to be back to normal.
    Also I already mentioned this but the job I’m still waiting to hear about apparently hasn’t done their next steps yet (so I’m still maybe in the running), but they might not get to them for another week or so (or maybe longer, who knows???)! I’m so impatient!

    • flanny says:

      In your defense, that is a VERY long time to still be in the running for a job with no progress made. You’re not being impatient at all. You’re being very reasonable.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Thank you. Also the jobs website says if you don’t hear anything from us in two weeks, best to move on, so it’s not like I’m unwarranted in thinking this is taking a crazy amount of time.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      Also I just found out that they got the approval from the insurance but now they think the repair will take until the 19th! Next friday!

  5. artdorkgirl says:

    I’m trying to get an exercise routine off the ground (couch to 5K), but it’s been raining all day. I did yoga, but I fell over a bunch. GRR.

    I also applied for a job today. If I got it, it would be totally amazeballs, but who even knows in this crazy world!?! I am also grumpy this week.

    • flanny says:

      My yoga place is closed this week for renovations and I wasn’t able to go during the weekend because of the Olympics, so I haven’t done yoga in ages. Maybe that’s why I’m despairing.

  6. flanny says:

    I think I am slowly easing myself into a nice little decade-long mid-life crisis. This morning I read an article written by an undergrad about an undergrad and one of them had an internship somewhere amazing and the other was getting her MFA in the fall and I DESPAIRED FOR MY WASTED LIFE. Remember feeling young and like the world was ready for the picking? Sighsville.

    In happier news, my sister just texted and asked if she and her family could stay at my place on Saturday night and then we could all go to the zoo on Sunday! So now I have that to look forward to.

    • FRQ says:

      I know the feeling. The past few days at work for me have consisted of me looking at the clock and seeing it’s almost time to leave, and when attempting to remember what I had accomplished that day, I draw a blank.

      • flanny says:

        Just this morning I had a meeting with a new colleague to talk about what I do, and I made some quick notes beforehand, just bullet points of what I’m in charge of. And there were only four bullet points! I was like, dear god, I do nothing! (We did end up talking in detail for two hours, so I feel okay about this.) But then another colleague asked me to do them a favor and pull a report, and I thought, that’ll take no time at all. Lies, it took half an hour. I took me half an hour to get one thing accomplished! So either I am a moron or everything is much more difficult and time-intensive than it needs to be! And I have a degree in creative writing, so I’m sure I’m not a moron!

        • FRQ says:

          We’re better than this! We should be designing killer apps and writing the Great American Novel.

          Speaking of apps, Napster just died on me mid-song.

        • flanny says:

          My favorite thing about the old Napster is that it allowed us to discover that my pretentious, Francophile freshman roommate pronounced “queued” as “kwee-weed.”

        • catweazle says:

          Wait is Napster a thing again?

        • FRQ says:

          Rhapsody purchased Napster like 4 years ago. A few months ago, they thought “Hey, we need name recognition. Let’s rename our company to a late 90’s brand associated with music piracy!”

  7. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I just had my evaluation at work, and it went well. There were areas of strength and a few areas that need improvement. I did get a 2% raise!

    I mentioned earlier in the week that our neighbor’s feeder crickets had escaped. So far we have found 4 of them in our house – one of them was on the ceiling. Last night, we did not see any, but I’m not sure if the nightmare is over. We shall see.

  8. Sota says:

    I have been struggling today. Work is bananas. I just keep trying to be as cool as Laurie Hernandez and HANDLE it.

  9. old man fatima says:

    My first week at work is amazing so far. I’m so happy with this move! The accounting dept is all really fun women in their 30s who listen to music and have dance party breaks and bring in lots of baked goods. I weaseled Fatiman into baking some cookies for everyone (I am a shit baker), and everyone was super into them and started giving me requests (“does he do gluten free?” “does he do cheescakes?”)

    My tenants are leaving me and I think I found a really good replacement today. A lovely lesbian couple with a kid and a cat. I’ll call their references this week and if all goes well, they will be my new tenants come October. All in all, my day is a B+, maybe even an A-! P good day.

    • Sota says:

      Yay for the new job being great! So glad you left those losers who were taking homes away from little old ladies. I will not forget the awfulness of that story.

Comments are closed.