How Was Your Weekend?

I spent four hours clothes shopping at the mall on Saturday, which was miserable, but I made up for it with lots of laziness and Olympics-watching on Sunday. And I did find some cute stuff, so it was worth it, I guess, but what I got is going to have to last me for a long time, because I am never trying on clothes again.

 

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Watched Brooklyn, which was a pretty good movie. Got a decent amount of work done, but need to finish up a big project tonight. Mr. Costco picked up Noodles and Company for dinner last night, and am looking forward to eating my leftovers for lunch.

    The most exciting thing that happened is that I invested in Legion M, which is the “world’s first fan-owned entertainment company.” I’m not sure how this will all work, but it’s a really cool idea, and I think it might be successful.

  2. artdorkgirl says:

    Our friends came in from DC so we did a whirlwind Boston tour. It was also 98 here on Sunday. 98! That’s not supposed to happen up here!! I don’t like it.

  3. martinmegz says:

    I spent the weekend recovering from my brief illness so I watched most of the Olympic tennis and a lot of swimming. If you don’t follow tennis, the results were good stories because the female winner earned the first gold medal ever for Puerto Rico and came out of nowhere having only won one tournament on the pro tour. And the men’s winner is the only guy on the tour who is outspoken about women deserving equal pay and he’s openly feminist.

    I also watched five Keanu Reeves movies because he is so great and I started watching The Last Kingdom, which I’ll save for tomorrow’s TV talk. Basically my weekend involved staring at the television but I felt justified because I needed to rest. This coming weekend I have commitments on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, which I don’t like to do because that’s a lot of leaving the house, so we’ll see how that goes.

    • old man fatima says:

      I watched Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure this weekend for the first time since I was like 15. I was worried it wouldn’t hold up, but OH BOY is that a good movie! Why don’t they make fun original movies anymore?? Come on, those guys! Get with it!

      • martinmegz says:

        Strange things are a-foot at the Circle K! I remember seeing it in theater and not understanding why everyone laughed at “69, dude!” Keanu is a national treasure.

        • old man fatima says:

          He’s obsessed with Shakespeare and he tried out a few times, and was not cast, for the Stratford Festival in Ontario. I heard that he still keeps trying to this day, which I’m sure is not true, but I’ve become obsessed with the idea. I had a dream once that I saw him at a party and I kept trying to get him alone so I could ask if it was true without embarrassing him, but he thought I was trying to take advantage of him and yelled at me to leave him alone and called me a creep in front of everyone at the party 😦

          (If you ever meet him, please ask him if he tries out for the Stratford Festival for me, thx)

        • martinmegz says:

          For some reason when I drink I really like to talk about Keanu’s life and how amazing he is (dad left, sister was sick and he supported her, gave up millions on Matrix to the special effects people, on and on), so I’m kind of known at parties for telling these stories. One time someone came up to me and said, “my sister is visiting and I wanted her to hear your stories about Keanu.” I’m wondering if I make it seem like I actually know him when I’m really just repeating stuff from the internet.

  4. hotspur says:

    I dedicated Saturday and Sunday to writing, and it was a bust. In the movie they are sure to make of my life some day, those 48 hours will be a montage of me staring straight ahead blankly, me pacing, me cooking snacks, me staring, me pacing, while the trash can fills with crumpled paper.

    At 10 pm last night I gave up and went to see the new Star Trek. I realized I might be a nerd as I sat there for the first half hour thinking stuff like “Kirk wouldn’t say that.” Then it turned into pure fun and there was a sexy alien? Why isn’t Sofia Boutella in our tournament of hotties?? Anyway it is very much a “check brain at door” kind of movie, but I had a good time.

    L.A. SIDE NOTE: There was someone either famous or youtube famous in the theater, because this dude came in with a whole entourage of Turtles and ladies dressed like they were clubbin, and afterward he was interviewed in the lobby while all the ladies stood around him looking completely miserable over the decision to see Star Trek rather than go clubbin.

    • old man fatima says:

      AAHHHHHH I’m so excited to see it! I never go to the movies. I still have to see Ghostbusters! Those 2 movies are the only 2 movies I’m interested in right now.

      • hotspur says:

        I think this one benefits a lot from the big screen and sound system. (As 10 million Next Gen fans face-palm.)

  5. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My weekend was great. We dropped the baby off with her grandparents on Saturday and then went and had dinner and saw Ghostbusters with a friend. Then Mr. Truck went with this friend to a concert super late and I went home and went to bed early. Sunday we went to a music festival in the afternoon and evening after brunch and day drinking. Nice to have an impromptu child-free weekend, but I’m excited to see her tonight!

  6. flanny says:

    Real mixed bag this weekend. The good stuff were the Olympics and a too-short visit from my sister and her family. My cat was not a big fan of my nephew, but my nephew was a big fan of her, which made her hiss at him. And he did not care. So tough. The bad stuff was that I found out on Saturday that my uncle in New York died, so a lot of the weekend was spent on the phone with my mom and my sister (once she left my place) figuring out if it was feasible to go to the funeral. Long story short, it is, and I’m driving across Canada to New York with my sister on Wednesday.

    • martinmegz says:

      Damn that sucks, sorry to hear that. I’m glad you get to make it to the funeral.

      • flanny says:

        Thanks, he’d been in poor health for years, so I’m really glad that I can go out there and be there for my aunt and cousins.

    • artdorkgirl says:

      Oh, I’m so sorry Flaniel.

    • old man fatima says:

      That’s terrible, but also I will be in Ontario as of Thursday and if you’re driving back through we should do a meet up!

      • Commentatrix says:

        Are you headed to Montreal at all? Work is sending me there but I don’t know when but probably soon!

        • old man fatima says:

          We will be in Ottawa, which is 2 hrs away, Aug 23-27, and then in Montreal just for the night I think on Sept 2 or 3. Probably arrive before dinner and leave pretty early. Have you been to Montreal before? Will you be there long? Do you need the spreadsheet I made of all the good stuff to do and see in each neighbourhood?

        • Commentatrix says:

          I’ve never been before and I’m super excited! I think they want to have me there around 2 weeks, but it all depends on when the trip will begin because my coworker needs to be back by Sept. 7. I’ll let you know more info as it becomes available. Meanwhile, this spreadsheet sounds amazing, and can you please e-mail it to me at the askcommentatrix@gmail address? (Remember when I actually contributed posts to this blog, you guys? 😦 )

        • old man fatima says:

          I’ve sent you a very detailed list of what to do and see and eat and drink in Montreal ❤

      • flanny says:

        Sadly, I will be nowhere near Ottawa. We cross Ontario from Niagara Falls to beautiful Sarnia. Plus, I will be with both my mother and my sister and if I had to describe how I knew you they would be like, “?????”

    • flanny says:

      You guys are too sweet! I’m doing fine, really, I wasn’t that close to my uncle, but if it’s okay with you, I’ll send your good thoughts telapathically to my aunt and counsins!

  7. catweazle says:

    Yesterday my Velvet Underground ensemble performed and it was soooooooooooo bad. Like, none of these dudes in my group could remember how the songs went and it sounded so terrible and I was embarrassed even though not to toot my own horn but I was at least playing the right chords at the right times. And of course this was the one time that my entire family decided to come including the baby. Trombone sounds!

    Anyway, I took advantage of the fact that work is back to normal now and I wouldn’t be screwing anybody over by not coming in and called in sick. I felt a little guilty since I’m pretty much better now but I am just considering it repayment for all the days I worked even though I was legit sick in the last two weeks.

  8. My weekend was jam-packed. It was my friend’s wedding and another friend stayed on my couch while I was also dog-sitting. I realized it was not the best weekend to have a house guest, as I really didn’t want to talk to anyone. I did a long ride on Saturday and ended up making people get brunch with me in my sweaty biking gear. Awesome.

    The wedding was fun, super low-key. They got married in a park without a permit, so it took about 15 minutes and then we all went to the reception. I danced a lot but then hit that threshold of happy-to-sad drunk that happens when you’re single at a wedding, I am proud of myself for not Irish goodbye-ing.

    Sunday was spent hungover on the couch watching the Olympics and waiting for the puppy to get picked up.

  9. Sota says:

    My weekend was so fun. Drove up to the family cabin and surprised my 90 year old grandma. Had a fun weekend with my aunt and uncle, and played with my cousin’s kids a bunch. Other than that I am trying to keep myself calm because this week already looks like its going to be a tornado of work madness.

  10. FRQ says:

    A bunch of us rented a house out in the woods, where we spent 2.5 days doing pretty much nothing. There was a brief hike Saturday morning, but there wasn’t a whole lot to explore, so that trip lasted under an hour. We spent most of the weekend eating and watching the Olympics, which I felt was in the true spirit of rural living.

    • Commentatrix says:

      Did you guys fill the rest of the weekend with accidentally murdering a local then burying him sloppily?

      • FRQ says:

        I was talking to my mom last night after I got back, and I asked her how my 3-week old niece was doing. She said she is fine, but all she does is eat, sleep, and go to the bathroom. I told her that was funny, because that’s all did, too.

        • flanny says:

          Did you eat . . .

        • FRQ says:

          We bought like 700 pounds of food for about a dozen people, including pancake mix, syrup, and bread for french toast. We were too hungover/in a hurry to check out, so I got stuck with most of it. If anyone needs pancake mix, Kroger maple syrup, and approximately 400 slices of bread, hit me up.

  11. old man fatima says:

    I went to a super fun wedding and made a new bff. He is in his 60s and his name is Joe and he is the most enthusiastic dancer I’ve ever shared a dance floor with. All my friends were like “Who is that weird old dad who keeps bumping into everyone?” and I was like “Geez, maybe I need new friends?” Who doesn’t love rocking out with someone’s dad to all the good dance tunes of the 80s and 90s? He even knew the dance moves to Stop Right There by the Spice Girls! The best, that guy.

  12. Theresa! Did you see this:

    video/1

Comments are closed.