Tuesday TV Talk

The big TV news of the week thus far has been the cancellation of The Nightly Show With Larry Wilmore.  TBH, I never got on board with his show.  It seemed to be too much about confirmation applause and awkward round table discussions.  That being said, I hope this doesn’t discourage networks from investing in non-white dude late night hosts.  Also, I do like Larry, and I hope he lands on his feet again after airing his final episode, which is this Thursday, August 18th.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I finished watching Damages. Overall, it was a good show, but season 1 was by far the best of 5. It’s the same creative team as Bloodline, and I think I like Bloodline better since it’s a bit more subtle. This team really loves their flashback/flashforward method of storytelling! It started to feel kind of gimmicky in Damages, but they still managed to surprise me in a number of episodes with the twists.

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    We stumbled upon Naked and Afraid a few weeks ago, and wow, those survivalist people are insane. I don’t think they even win a prize if they survive through the whole challenge, so I guess they are doing it to prove something or for fun? It’s bizarre to me, but I guess that is what makes it interesting to watch.

  3. Commentatrix says:

    Some no-doubt underpaid assistant tweeted at me to apply for the next season of American Grit, which made me lol so hard and would you too if you knew how weak-bodied I was (very). Otherwise, I started The Get Down over the weekend, and I like it a lot, but boy are those episodes so long and so visually exhausting! It’s why we love Baz I guess, but this is not a show I will be bingeing.

    I’ve also been watching the gymnastics event finals, and Simone is still obviously the best ever, but it made me so happy to see the Dutch girl get the gold in balance beam because it meant so much more to her! Also the reactions of the two Brazilian guys who got medals in floor exercise were the ultimate best for the same reason!

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I had to look up American Grit – I would definitely not last for more than 5 minutes on that type of show.

      This is probably the first Olympics I have ever bothered to watch, so my knowledge of any of these sports is limited, but I think the girl who won gold had a pretty unique routine, and it was executed well. Hernandez was also spectacular, and of course Simone is great. I do think it’s an important lesson to anyone watching that even “the best” aren’t perfect.

      I don’t personally understand how people are sad that they win silver or bronze. Or at least the media/announcers make it seem like such a huge disappointment. YOU WON AN OLYMPIC MEDAL. Sorry you didn’t get the gold one, but seriously? You are still very good at your job.

      • Commentatrix says:

        Yeah, and especially when the margin of victory is so slight (racing-type events) that the top award is nearly meaningless (but also so much more meaningful?) Basically, I don’t understand sports.

  4. Kate says:

    Anyone watching Outcast? Strange show on Cinemax? I can’t quite decide whether it’s good or just ok.

    • My friend wants me to watch it, I think he’s giving me the full series sometime soon. What’s interesting about it?

      • Kate says:

        Well the main character’s acting is good, and it’s well written, scary but not too scary. The plot is getting more interesting as we move forward. While I’m watching it I’m involved, but it’s not something I look forward too yet.

  5. flanny says:

    I watched the first episode of Mr. Robot this weekend, and while I like looking at Rami Malek and his sleepy doe eyes a lot, I don’t know if I’m going to continue watching it because it’s too moody. Like, I need just a smidge of comic relief. Also it takes me three tries to get the title of the show right. I call it “I Robot” and then “Me Robot” and then “Mr. Robot.” It’s just too much.

    Inspector Lewis is very good though, although I was very sad when Hathaway hung up on his sister in the latest episode. Poor Hathaway!! He’s taking his dad’s illness very hard!

    • FRQ says:

      Yeah, it’s pretty dark through and through, so you might want to quit while you’re ahead. As for this season, I missed last week’s episode, but I feel like it’s getting back on track after a slow start.

    • catweazle says:

      Are you sure you weren’t watching the Spanish language version of a Will Smith movie?

  6. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Bachelor in Paradise continues to be great!
    I didn’t like this week’s episode of The Night Of. Too heavy handed. That might not be the right word, but they seem to be trying too hard to make you think a couple different things. Like how it’s almost the last episode and John Turturro’s character is like “How is that young girl able to afford that super expensive house?” Like, how was that not your first question??? It’s just unbelievable. Also suddenly after two weeks in jail Nasir is super tough and a totally different person? Dumb.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I haven’t seen the newest episode of the Night Of, but I am not very interested in what is going on in that jail. I want to see the case unfold more. I’m more interested in the cat and John Turturro’s eczema side plot than I am watching Nasir shave his head and befriend the top dog in jail. All the performances are top notch, though.

    • Commentatrix says:

      Agreed on all counts. Also, I feel like the whole subplot with Stone’s psoriasis is just quirk for quirk’s sake.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Yeah, I read that the writer or director also had similar skin issues so I get that it’s personal, but it just doesn’t contribute to the story the way they think it does. I’m sure it’s supposed to be an allegory for the seeming unending struggle of defending the public, but it just doesn’t really land for me.

    • martinmegz says:

      BIP=Perfection! From the opening with Josh kicking the ball into Nick’s head, to Jorge the wise bartender, to the horrible people like the Barbie twins, to cringey Evan thinking he has a shot with anyone. I love it! Josh definitely seems like a bad guy, but Evan is a schmuck for getting mad about stuff written in a book he never read. And Amanda has worked so hard to cultivate this fake good-girl persona for herself and now it’s all unraveling on television.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        When Caila arrived, Jorge the bartender said, “Oh, this just got good!” What a brilliant, brilliant man.
        Agree about Amanda. Also seriously what is wrong with them that they have to make out all day right next to people? Are they 14?

  7. Sota says:

    I have nothing to contribute to this post, so instead I give you this Nick Miller buzzfeed (sorry) list.

    https://www.buzzfeed.com/ashleywagner/16-times-nick-miller-was-an-actual-dreamboat-17x3k?utm_term=.xg544Zya7#.yx7MMOgYj

  8. martinmegz says:

    I started watching The Last Kingdom on Netflix and oh my gawd it is so good! It’s a cross between Game of Thrones and the Vikings but with much less graphic violence and sex, which is good for a delicate flower like me. They fight a lot, but I’ve only had to cover my eyes twice in six episodes. The main guy is so good, in part because his face is amazing, but really I like how he plays the character as impulsive but still fun and not broody. Has anyone seen it? Netflix got involved in producing season 2 so I expect it to get even better.

Comments are closed.