How Was Your Weekend?

HI GUYS I’M BACK. I spent pretty much all of Saturday on a train, but I did get to stroll down 5th Avenue on my way to the station, feeling very fancy, and sit for a while outside Madison Square Garden with a nice view of the Empire State building, drinking coffee from…Panera, that venerable New York City institution (nothing else was open, ahem, “city that never sleeps“). I’ll do a full-blown Tourism For Weirdos post soon, but just know that Hamilton was AMAZEBALLS and I saw three Toynbee Tiles, but did not take pictures of any of them because I didn’t want to get run over by a cab.

Sunday was all couch, all the time. I’m still tired.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My weekend was pretty good. My parents were here and the baby was very cute all weekend as a result. The only bummer was that I was and continue to be very stressed out about work for some reason. I feel like I know a trainwreck is about to happen and all I can do is wait and watch. So much anxiety!

    Also today the two people who have cubes next to me are hiring someone and they flew him in so he could meet with the head of the dept and she was too busy to meet him! She poked her head in for about 2 minutes but that was it! Wouldn’t that alone make you reconsider taking a job? Maybe I’m an old lady, but I found it to be very off-putting.

    • flanny says:

      I had a similar experience where I was the interviewee where the people who were interviewing me kept saying MAYBE I’d get to meet the VP, but she was very busy, blah blah, and finally at the very last moment after lunch I got to sit down with her for, like, five minutes and the whole time she made eye contact maybe once. And this is in a field that is supposed to be very friendly and people-focused! Anyway, it did sour me on the job, but it didn’t matter because it wasn’t offered to me anyway.
      BUT because my field is small, I currently work with the guy who actually got hired for that position. And he said that everyone else had liked me but the VP didn’t want to hire me because she specifically wanted to hire a dude. So they had to repost the position all over again! But joke’s on her because the dude she did hire left after a year and if the rumors are right, she got fired not long after.

      • hotspur says:

        Uh… isn’t it kind of and/or totally illegal to say “This lady is totes qualified and we would hire her, but we want a dude”? Or vice versa? I… don’t see how that would be legal.

        • flanny says:

          I mean, I don’t think she said it quite that bluntly. I also don’t think it was coincidence that she was ousted soon-ish after.

  2. martinmegz says:

    I can’t wait to hear about the trip and who you had to kill to get Hamilton tickets! I think I heard Lin Manuel left the show so here he is on HIMYM as a consolation:

    My weekend was good. I drank too much and spent way too much time outside the house but I saw a lot of people I haven’t seen in so long, which was nice. I can’t even bring myself to type any more about it, I’m too lethargic. Let’s just get through the day.

    • martinmegz says:

      Oh damn I did want to tell you guys that I won bronze medal in the Baby Olympics at a baby shower I wasn’t even invited to! Apparently diapers no longer have sticky tabs, they fasten with some kind of velcro, which really screwed me in the start of the relay, but I caught up in the chugging beer from a baby bottle event.

    • We missed out on the original cast–except for Renee Elise Goldberry, who’s still there and was wonderful to see–by a month, ugh! (I bought the tickets way back in December.) But I can’t complain, because the new cast was totally amazing and did a fantastic job. They were super high-energy, which makes sense as it’s all probably still new and exciting for them. And even though I hate to say it because Lin is a national treasure and seems like one of the best people in the entire world…Javier Munoz, who’s the main Hamilton now, has a stronger voice.

      • I had another friend who was at the same Hamilton showing as you AND Louis Tomlinson of One Direction was there as well (but maybe the day after you?). What a small world!

        • I was there the 19th, so yeah, I missed him by a day. Which is too bad because I did want to see at least one famous person in New York (I didn’t care which one)!

  3. catweazle says:

    On Saturday I had brunch and a beer with my sister and our friend and then we went to the fancy toy store and I bought a wooden bathtub pirate ship for the baby whose birthday is next month. He’s going to be 2! Holy crap! Yesterday I mostly just lazed around the apartment but I did do some cleaning. It’s still the weekend for me since I took off work to go to the doctor about my back. He prescribed me some painkillers and I got some x-rays done but no conclusions yet. Is it bad that I almost want something to show up on the x-rays? Because the alternative is like, I sit too much at work and have bad posture or I have arthritis.

    Anyway, I spent my first weekend with my new phone tinding up a storm and I have a date tonight with a ginger who has a black cat. I don’t know yet if the cat’s name is Salem but if it is I might be married next time I talk to you guys!

  4. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Friday, we had a golf outing fundraiser for work. It went well, even though it was really hot. I will never understand why people like golfing. Granted, I’m always working at this event, so I’ve never golfed, but it seems extremely boring.

    We rented Morris from America, and it was a very good movie.

    • The number of dudes under 35 who play golf on Tinder is getting to be a little frightening. I had no idea it was that big of a thing for anyone under 60.

  5. Commentatrix says:

    I’VE NEVER EVEN HEARD OF TONYBEE TILES! My weekend was surprisingly exhausting because all I had on the schedule was a birthday party picnic on Sunday, so I was like, cool I’ll just lounge around and do nothing all weekend until then, but then my best friend and I decided to go shopping together on Saturday, which turned into hanging out for the entire day! We shopped, ran errands, ran into an old friend from college randomly, got pedicures, then ended with a take-home feast of pizza, wings and Trader Joe’s chocolate babka/Talenti ice cream, which we ate while watching the Fargo pilot (a rewatch for me) and the chocolate babka episode of Seinfeld (of course). It was super fun but we walked a ton and now my whole body [currently folded into my death trap of a work chair] hurts. (My plan for this new job and the shitty insurance that I am paying way too much for is to take advantage of the 20 pretty-affordable chiropractor visits per year that it comes with. My first appointment can’t come soon enough.)

    Then Sunday I kinda just rushed around town buying some hot dogs to bring to the birthday party and putting the finishing touches on my friend’s gift and headed over to the park, where I instantly regretted bringing my dog because he is such a handful even when tied to a tree. Other than that and the GIANT MUTANT SPIDERS that began descending/swinging from the trees promptly at sundown, it was really great. We drank delicious sangrias and ate burgers and hot dogs and went paddle boating. A+ activities, C- toll on the body.

  6. flanny says:

    I had literally the laziest weekend on record. I blame it on my cat because she woke me up at 3:45AM on Saturday, and then again at 5AM, and I still feel like I haven’t slept fully since.
    I bought the And Then There Were None miniseries starring my boyfriend Aiden Turner and watched the whole thing. And then for the half hour or so between ATTWN and the Closing Cermonies, I watched a walk-through of an Indiana Jones computer game on YouTube through my Roku. There’s still an hour and a half left of the walk-through and, tbh, I’m itching to get back to it!

    • hotspur says:

      Is that an Agatha Christie, And Then There Were None? I have read 3-5 Agatha Christies and that was the title of one of them!

      • flanny says:

        You’re right! It’s generally considered her masterpiece.

        • hotspur says:

          I read it when young and did not figure out who dun it. I should re-read it since I forget, and see if I can figure it out now. I sort of figured out Murder on the Orient Express! But then I overruled my solution as it did not seem entirely realistic. Stark realism is why people read Agatha Christie, right?

        • flanny says:

          Pretty sure she writes non-fiction.

  7. My weekend was good but last night, I went to bed at 11 PM like a normal human and come 7 AM, still had not fallen asleep. So pretty much my brain is mush today. If I don’t accidentally make a job-ending mistake today, I will consider it a success.

    Me rn:

  8. I finished my race! I didn’t throw up, fall over, or get a flat. It was 33 miles, which I did in under 2 hours. It hurt a lot, like every part of my legs was in pain. Both sets of toes went numb and my right fingers. There was a point where the wind was in my face and I was going uphill on gravel that was labeled in a biking app as “the second circle of gravel hell.” And yet somehow it was the most fun ever? Like, people were cheering on the sidelines (not a lot, we were in the middle of nowhere). At one point there were 6 of us just trying to basically carry each other along. I got a lot of hugs and high fives after. So basically, I may put myself through that again.

    Then I came home and ate pizza and drank beer. The ultimate reward.

  9. artdorkgirl says:

    I had a mini freak out this weekend, which was ultimately productive. I just have way too much going on right now to be entertaining outside guests!

    I also went to see “Hunt for the Wilderpeople” and it is utterly delightful. It’s funny and sad but not sappy at all. There are two scenes of animal violence though, so if that’s a deal breaker, be aware. The first one is really more about the joke of the blood and but the other one, I didn’t watch. STILL, it’s a great little film and stars a barely recognizable Sam Neill!

Comments are closed.