Tuesday TV Talk

I made good on my promise this weekend to watch a bunch of stuff.  I finally saw Keanu, which I enjoyed, and the new-ish Hong Kong action movie The Bodyguard, which I did not.  On the TV front, Halt and Catch Fire is back tonight.  Like its computer-friendly counterpart Mr. Robot, AMC aired the first part of the season premiere online.  Despite the fact that it’s kind of anachronistic, it remains to be a solid show.

If you aren’t aware, it’s currently Amazon Pilot Season, where Amazon releases a bunch of shows for customers to sample, and they in turn vote for the programs they’d like to see more of.  The three shows featured this time are a second attempt at a live action version of The Tick (which was okay), an adaptation of the 1997 novel I Love Dick (which I have yet to watch), and my personal favorite, Jean Claude Van Johnson.  In this show, JCVD is merely a cover identity, so he can travel to exotic location and perform his real job as a covert operative.  It’s pretty cheesy, but the humor is pretty well done (including a solid Timecop joke).  Some have criticized that its plot is a one trick pony that may not be sustainable over a series.  It’s a valid point, but it’s not like I’m going to watch this show for its intricate storytelling, so as long as they can keep up the action movie spoofs, I’m game.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. catweazle says:

    I didn’t really watch much TV aside from background Gilmore Girls this week but I did watch Looking: The Movie. It was good and had a satisfying ending but mostly it just made me really sad that Looking was canceled all over again. Oh and also Russell Tovey does NOT look good blonde.

    • Agreed. I was never a big fan of Richie, he always seemed so blank and had no personality but it was inevitable they would end up together and I didn’t mind it too much. Andrew Haigh is such a good director though, I can’t wait to see his next project.

      • catweazle says:

        Aw, I love Richie and honestly think he’s too good for Patrick (not that Brady is any better, vom). But at the same time Patrick is too good for Kevin. I was kind of hoping for an out-of-left-field Patrick/Dom ending which they seemed to be hinting at a bit in the second season but at least they acknowledged it in the movie.

  2. flanny says:

    I watched the last ever episode of Lewis (my icon) last night, and I’m not ashamed to say I cried! At one point, Lewis is worried that people will forget about him at the police department if he leaves it, and Hobson (forensics lady and his lady friend) is like, “People won’t forget just because you’re not around.” And Lewis says, “It happens.” And he was obviously talking about Morse and I lost it! Lewis has said a couple of things about Morse this season that have just hit me in the gut, because obviously their relationship was awful and Morse was a jerk to him, but Lewis acknowledged that Morse was a good detective and he respected him. God, it was emotional! Now just fingers crossed there will be a Hathaway/Maddox series.

    • I still need to catch up! And yes, there better be a Hathaway/Maddox series. I’M NOT READY TO LET GO.

      Morse has to be one of the most depressing characters ever, now that we’ve got the series where he’s young and sympathetic but we know he grows up to be a lonely jerk who only had one friend and was mean to that friend.

  3. Sota says:

    I watched almost all of season 1 of Gossip Girl while I was cleaning out my closets and bookshelves etc over the weekend. That show still holds up. Love it. #manbangs

    I also went and saw Bad Moms. It was kind of exactly what you would expect of it, and I went in with pretty low expectations and therefore I did enjoy it. Christina Applegate is AWESOME at being the evil PTA mom, and Kathryn Hahn is so great as the crazy boozin single mom. I would put this solidly in “entertaining to watch online when bored sometime” territory.

  4. Kate says:

    One of my new favorites is Vice Principals on HBO. It’s like Bad Santa meets Veep. Very funny.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I was on the fence for the first few episodes, but the last couple, specifically Circles, have completely sold me on loving it.

      Also, Bad Santa is my favorite Christmas movie. I see that they are coming out with a sequel, which I will go into with very low expectations.

  5. Commentatrix says:

    DIFFICULT PEOPLE IS ON TONIGHT.

  6. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My complaints about The Night Of from last week continue to be true.
    Mr Truck started showing My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic at our house on the rare times we let Tykeasaurus watch tv and I think I love that show now. All 3 of us enjoy it equally.
    Also I think I want Twilight Sparkle’s hair:

    • flanny says:

      Welcome to the world of Belonging To A Fandom Other People Consider Embarassing and Make Fun Of You For But Which You Love With All Your Heart Suck It Haters.

  7. hotspur says:

    Does Halt and Catch Fire get awesome? I watched the first episode of season 1 and thought the pacing was clunky — it felt like 28 minutes of material packed into 60 minutes of viewing. I decided it might get good but would not get great. So I abandoned it. That made me sad, though, because it was a premise I was interested in. What should I do?

    There are a thousand shows. I have to make quick decisions.

    • Kate says:

      I think you need to give it at least 3 episodes. I love it now and can’t wait to see the new season. Do it!

    • Commentatrix says:

      Look, I barely even remember Season 1 of Halt, and because of that reason I didn’t watch Season 2 for the longest time, even after it had been on Netflix for 45 years. And then unemployment happened, so I decided, lukewarmly, to give it another shot. AND I BECAME OBSESSED OMG SEASON 2 WAS SO GOOD. It’s like all of a sudden all the characters became complex-complex not just fake-complex? If that makes sense. So yeah, you should keep watching imho.

  8. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    The last season of Rectify starts in October. I’m going to strongly recommend that everyone watches that show because it is fantastic. The first 3 seasons are on Netflix. The seasons are pretty short – only 22 episodes across all 3 seasons – so it’s not a huge time commitment.

    • Commentatrix says:

      Oh good, I was wondering why my DVR wasn’t picking this up because I expected it this summer. Every year this show doesn’t get canceled is a year worth staying alive for. 😉

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        I heard that the creators want the fourth season to be the last, so even though I am very sad it is ending, I’m glad it’s going out on the terms of the creative team.

  9. martinmegz says:

    Dang it guys I know it’s not Wednesday but I’m annoyed about my day. Everyone in my office leaves early on Tuesdays and I have to stay till five, so I was about to take my lunch break at 2:30 to get back before the office is empty and my boss made me stay for a meeting he said would take 15 minutes. Well it took an hour and now everyone is going home and I can’t take my lunch break.

  10. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I spent way too much time yesterday searching “Stranger Things” on etsy.

Comments are closed.