So, How Was Your Day?/Tourism For Weirdos, NYC: Hamilton Edition

Instead of telling you about my day, which was boring but fine, I’m going to tell you about my vacation, which was obviously a lot more interesting (still tell me about your day in the comments!). I went to NYC with some friends because we snagged Hamilton tickets nine months ago, and were patiently waiting until August 19th, when our Hamilton baby would be born.

First of all, I have to say that if you don’t have friends who will make you novelty shirts and trip itineraries so beautiful they should be framed, well, my condolences.

After my ridiculously long train ride, I walked to our hotel, which I recommend–it was clean, comfortable, and VERY quiet considering that it A) seemed full, based on all the lobby activity and B) is literally two blocks from Times Square.

On Wednesday night, we had a delicious dinner and then puttered around Times Square, which was Times Square-y (bright and loud and full of naked weirdos). Then on Tuesday, the Hamiltrip truly began.

First, we went to Central Park because none of the museums were open yet.

I climbed a rock.

Then we went to the Historical Society, and saw a lot of neat/creepy stuff, like George Washington’s chair and Aaron Burr’s death mask:

IMG_6162

Disturbing!

Then we went to the Federal Reserve on Wall Street, and Trinity Church to look at graves like a bunch of goth nerds:

IMG_6185

IMG_6192

IMG_6187

I put pennies on both Eliza Hamilton’s and Hercules Mulligan’s graves, so as not to offend their ghosts.

This was the best part of Trinity Church, though:

IMG_6189

Philip stood nearby.

THEN (this was a long day) we went to Battery Park, where I rode in a Sea Glass Carousel and took this panorama that is almost perfect, thanks for nothing, lady in the foreground who moved:

IMG_6209

I also saw the Statue of Liberty from a great distance, and you already know what it looks like so let’s move on.

We had dinner at Fraunces Tavern, where ol’ G. Wash liked to hang, and saw one of his teeth and a lock of his hair. The short rib ravioli was delicious.

And finally, we went for ice cream in Greenwich Village and saw the Stonewall Inn and memorial.

IMG_6227

The next morning, I took a walk down 5th Avenue and had Rockefeller Center entirely to myself, but alas, Tina Fey did not appear.

IMG_6231

I also passed the American Girl store of Rich and Caity fame, but forgot to take a picture. I did take many pictures of St. Patrick’s, which is a little scary-looking, like a giant, lurking Pokemon.

IMG_6235

That thing comes alive and stalks the streets at night. I’m just saying.

After breakfast at the Kellogg’s cafe (which was honestly wonderful), we visited the Grange, Hamilton’s house in Harlem. My pictures of that didn’t really turn out, but it’s a lovely site and the tour was very good. Then we went to Morris Jumel mansion, which was also lovely and also very poorly photographed by me. The important thing, though, is that I bought a bottle of George Washington’s cologne there and it smells amazing.

And then…it was time.

IMG_6266

Our seats were SO GOOD and the show was SO GOOD and really, I don’t even know what to say about it. It was awesome. I’m sad I’m not watching it again right now. Go see Hamilton. (I will say, however, that while very beautiful, the Richard Rogers Theatre is small and ill-equipped to handle a stampede to the women’s restrooms during intermission. The line snaked all the way back into the stage area itself. I made it, though, thank goodness, because if dashing to the bathroom were an Olympic sport, I would be your champion.)

Saturday morning, we packed up and I walked back to Penn Station, admiring the view:

IMG_6275

…of Hooters. And other stuff I guess.

Also I saw three Toynbee tiles. The end.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?/Tourism For Weirdos, NYC: Hamilton Edition

  1. flanny says:

    Oh, I’m so glad the Kellogg’s Cafe was good! We here in Battle Creek (the OG sanitarium is across from the place where I get Indian food) had our fingers crossed about it!

    My day was just okay until a friend of mine posted a picture on facebook of some sketchy-ass bilboard that says “Beware the beast Hildabeast Clinton and its Vagenda of Manocide” and since I saw that I’ve just been thinking about how much I love the idea of a vagenda! I kind of want to buy a day planner and write VAGENDA on the front of it and then pull it out in business meetings. VAGENDA!!!

  2. catweazle says:

    It has been hard to sleep in my apartment this week because I’m trying to wean myself off of constantly having the AC on and therefore it gets very warm in my bedroom. So today I am extremely sleepy! Luckily it’s not very busy at work but unfortunately tomorrow my boss’s boss’s boss is visiting our office for the first time and it’s very important that we make a good impression because apparently he doesn’t give a shit about us and wishes there were only Boston and LA offices. What a dummy! So this means I’m not allowed to visit non-work-related websites for the next two days so I’ll see you guys on the other side!

    • flanny says:

      Coastal snob. Doesn’t he know that Lake Michigan is the third coast????

      • catweazle says:

        Yeah I don’t get it. I haven’t been to the Boston office but I have been in the LA office and like, it’s ok but it’s in a shitty location whereas our office is very nice and classy and right in the heart of downtown. Get with the program, dude!

    • catweazle says:

      Oh and as long as I’m talking about myself, let me tell you about my Tinder date on Monday! The dude looks like stoner Ron Weasley but he has a real job and is a pop culture nerd and I wasn’t repulsed by him so I actually intend to go out with him again. SHOCKING I KNOW.

  3. Commentatrix says:

    I am EXHAUSTIES today because I was up until the wee hours working on this freelance project I just started. Basically the job is to review Romanian subtitle translations (for a series I never intended to watch in the first place, but oh well), and I thought “piece of cake” but it was actually much harder than I thought! It’s good though because it forces me to practice thinking/speaking/writing the language, I just hope it doesn’t continue to take me 4-5 hours to complete a single hour-long episode edit…

    Also, at my real job, my next-door neighbor and team colleague has begun to noticeably resent me for asking her so many questions and just generally needing help doing my job lolol. I’m sorry I’m new and stupid, but don’t be a jerk?

  4. Sota says:

    This has been a long week. Work has been madness. Like to the point of chaos where I cannot even do anything about it. Basically everything is going like this… Client: “This has to be done right now” My boss: “We will do it!” Me: “Ummm how?” Boss: “You’ll figure it out.” Woof. So I am over here trying to make Hermione’s Time Turner a real thing. At least one big pressure meeting got moved to next week. That was a blessing.

    Also, can I talk about a few of the people who work in my area at the office? Its a big collaborative workspace and new people moved in behind me about a month ago. Two of the guys have loud and distinctive voices that I just cannot place. One guy sounds just shrill and squeaky like a cartoon character. I haven’t figured out who he reminds me of. But the second guy has just a generally familiar voice, not bad, just the kind that makes you think WHY DO I RECOGNIZE YOUR VOICE? Well, I finally figured it out! He sounds exactly like Paul Rudd!!!

    In other news I haven’t seen my BF in like three weeks and despite always being a single independent woman who don’t need no man…I am now so desperate to see him I miss him like crazy. The good news is that he is moving to be close to me! So by the end of September this long distance pain will be over. Wooo!

    • mikaelajm says:

      That’s so exciting that you’re going to be close to each other!!!!!!!!

      • Sota says:

        I know! I am so excited! The pain of being apart will be over, and instead we will get to work on the pain of his job search process and also the pain of a lifelong Californian’s first Minnesota winter. Pray for us.

        • flanny says:

          Please keep us updated as to what temperature he first puts on gloves. My money’s on 45 degrees.

        • Sota says:

          He keeps telling me that he doesn’t mind the cold. I try not to laugh.

        • hotspur says:

          I grew up in NJ and I was shocked my first week in CA when I went down to the beach (it was November but so warm!) and saw a girl in not only gloves but a scarf and EARMUFFS. I had on shorts and a T-shirt. I was gobsmacked. It was like 62, maybe 65!

          Now I have lived here too long. Some nights I get chilly and consider bringing out the space heater and then I look at the thermometer and it is 70.

          My point is flanny’s guess of 45 is optimistic. Congrats on the move! And good luck.

        • flanny says:

          My original number was much higher, but I didn’t want to insult the SoCal monsters. I guess I should have gone with my gut.

        • martinmegz says:

          It’s not an insult that our temps stay above 60! Living the dream out here, god help me if I ever have to move somewhere cold.

      • martinmegz says:

        (by which I meant because I would not survive in cold weather)

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

  5. Sota says:

    Ps. Thanks for sharing about your trip Theresa! I love seeing what people do in NYC. I lived there for 5 years and felt like I tried to do every tourist thing possible, or would send my guests to do them. So much fun to be had! My apartment was only about a block from The Hamilton Grange. I was all about the Ham before he even got that Broadway show. 😉 Jealous of your tickets btw. Glad it was spectacular.

  6. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Today was tough. My boss was walking me through a bunch of stuff and it’s all stuff that is supposed to be my job that he just did because he doesn’t want to give it up and he’s giving me a couple other things to do and I’m making the list and he’s like “this is lots of stuff…are you able to handle it all???” and it’s writing 4 emails, one of which will take slightly longer because there was a little work that goes into it, but it took me all of about 30 minutes to do all of that. That’s my job now – being ignored by my boss while he does everything and doesn’t give anything up and then acting like what he actually asks me to do is important but it’s not. I’m also stressed about a couple other things, number one of which is this job I applied to TEN WEEKS ago, that I’m allegedly still in the running for! Is it happening, is it not? Who knows? I sure don’t. It’s still posted and a friend of a friend who is apparently the frontrunner for the job still hasn’t heard anything either. WTF. Finally, the car repair shop told me last week they hoped my car would be ready today. They’ve been working on it since August 1st and I miss my car so much that I had a dream about him last night! I dreamt I was sitting in him and he was all put back together and beautiful and it was so great. Car dude said he hopes it’ll be ready tomorrow.

    • Sota says:

      I think in the meantime you may want to start searching outside your current company. All of the stories about the boss just indicate a place where you wont be able to grow even if he does give up some of the tasks you should have. You can still keep your hat in the ring on that other job, but maybe toss your resume out to some other jobs and explore some options while youre waiting. When I moved out of NY i had tried SO hard to get a job with the same company over and over and over and finally it just seemed clear that it was a sign that I needed to jump out into something else completely. And I also find it rude (unfortunately not surprising, but rude) that they haven’t given an update to the applicants after that long of time. Thats terrible.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Thanks, I think I’m getting to that point. I just have a hard time seeing a future here!

    • hotspur says:

      Your boss sounds like a control freak. Unless he is afraid you’ll kick ass so it’s “political,” not a personality disorder? But if he’s a control freak… I have worked for a few and it is no picnic. One sent me to clean the kitchenette, and then hovered to watch the whole time, looking stressed. I said, “Why don’t I come get you when I’m done, and then you can make sure I did a good job instead of standing there wincing throughout?”

      And I shit you not, she grabbed the washcloth I was using to wipe the counter, and said “You’re doing it wrong; do it like this,” and she wiped in circles instead of in stripes like I was.

      BUT WAIT THERE’S MORE, because the next morning she went around telling everyone she had to come in early that day to clean the kitchen because I’d done such a lousy job of it. And everyone looked at me like: You can’t even wipe down counters? I looked in and it looked the same as it had when I cleaned it — just that this time, she’d had total control over every spray and wipe, I guess.

      Holy crap telling this story makes me want to light a cigarette and just walk out of the building forever even now, 15 years and 7+ jobs later.

      • Kate says:

        Wow. She cray cray.

      • flanny says:

        Can we complain about micromanaging bosses? One of my old bosses had me so freaked out I was scared to even change the font size on a set of nametags I’d been asked to print out by the assistant director. I figured if the assistant director okayed them, they must be okay, even though the font was small. Well, it was too small and our mutual boss reamed me out IN THE LOBBY WHILE PEOPLE WERE COMING IN TO THE EVENT. And after that I had to run nametags by her after I printed them to make sure they were okay. This whole team I worked for was really good at giving me vague instructions for things they wanted done a particular way, and when I’d do it wrong they’d look at me like I was an idiot for not reading their minds. I hate everyone.

        • hotspur says:

          Hahah, name tags and crazy reminds me! I was asked once if I could type for a temp job, I said yes… and they sent me to sit in a building lobby with a TYPEWRITER. People came up and told me their names and I was supposed to type them out onto a tiny tag. WHAT THE MOTHER F’ING F here is how that went, for the first hour:

          “What’s your name?”
          “Meridien Slovocak.”
          “Could you spell that, please?”
          [Angry sigh from Meridien and then spelling it at 100 mph]
          “Name, please?”
          “Brian Smith.”
          “Great! Nice! Here’s your tag!”
          [bitter frown] “I can’t wear this. I’m Bryan with a y.”

          The lady who’d hired me was super pissed off because the name-tag line was stretching out the door. “Why is this taking so long? I was told you could type!”

          At that point I grabbed a pen and just handwrote the names and, at that, she full blew a gasket and called the agency to send someone new. I called the agency too and said, “Don’t send anyone new, this job is terrible.” Then I went back and continued handwriting and she seethed/yelled some more. Finally she walked away, saying she was going to find “someone else, the convention center MUST have SOMEONE who can handle this simple TASK,” and at that point I just put the blank tags and a few pens on the table and told people to write their own names, and I went outside and bummed a cigarette off some kids and sat in the sun for 15 minutes until I thought, “Fuck, this is too long. If I don’t go back in there, she might try to not pay me.”

          I went back in and the line was gone. When I saw her, I said, “You must be pretty relieved that it all worked out well enough,” and then she said I was clueless, and that everyone looked sloppy, and I had single-handedly done everything in my power to ruin the event.

          OH HOLY CRAP I just remembered, at that point the agency DID send someone new, but there were no more name tags, so he and I just sat in the lobby bullshitting with each other and wondering where we could get a soda. Then the lady told us to leave early, but we wouldn’t leave until she signed the papers saying we’d both worked the full time. Hahahahah, temping!

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Thanks, that sounds infuriating.
        In my case I am pretty sure he’s afraid I’ll kick ass. It’s mostly that with a lot of insecurity and job insecurity on his part. He’s told me “If you do my job, what will I do?” which sounds fine in a platitude like that but he’s so overworked that I have a hard time imagining he won’t have something to do. Not to mention it takes him twice as long to do everything.

    • martinmegz says:

      I think our bosses went to Boss Camp together. Lately I feel like mine is leaving me out of the loop and dismissing my opinions when I used to have a good relationship with him. He’s already stretched too thin with two job titles and is going for even more duties without giving anything up.

      What was wrong with your car that is taking a month to fix???

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        I got rear-ended. They had to replace the bumper and the trunk hood. When I dropped off the car they found out that the parts they had already ordered were damaged so they had to wait for new parts, then they were trying to install everything and found out there was additional damage. then they had to get approval from the at-fault party’s insurance to pay for the additional damage. Then they had to order parts for that. Then they did that and found out one of the parts was used so they ordered a new part. Then there was some rust on one part and that took a little extra time to finish and that brings us to today. The good news is that it sounds like it’s being done extremely correctly, it’s just taking forever.

        And yes, it’s possible we have the same boss! Crazy. It’s so demoralizing!

  7. Kate says:

    Theresa what a perfect NYC trip! Now I Need to get back there. I heard a song today that’s making me cry about letting your kids go. So of course I posted it to Facebook so my sister in law and cousin whose oldest kids are going off to college this week can have a cry too. “I’ll Let You Go”. https://open.spotify.com/track/2Ukc7Z3TFllLs9ydkIpShr

  8. My client is driving me insane and all I want is a stiff drink, but I have to wait until 8 to do that. This is my 3rd 11-hour day in a row. I love when a client doesn’t answer your emails for weeks, ignores data, then blows everything up when they finally start paying attention. I’m headed home tomorrow for a long weekend but it looks like I’ll be doing a lot of remote work to keep this clusterfuck afloat.

    In better news, my other coworker on this project is amazing and we get along great. So at least I am hanging out with someone I enjoy on my long days.

Comments are closed.