Tuesday TV Talk

Can’t say I’ve seen much television this past week.  I’m up to date with Mr. Robot (GREAT episode last week) and Halt and Catch Fire (solid start), and I don’t give a shit about the VMAs.  The big news today was the announcement of the DWTS season 23 cast.  It features everyone’s favorite Olympian (see above) and least favorite Olympian (you know who).  You can see the entire cast here, if you care for such things.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. catweazle says:

    All I’ve watched in the last week besides Friends reruns is the season premiere of Drag Race All Stars which was great and which there will be a post about tomorrow so we can all talk about it!

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Finished The Night Of. Overall, it was fine. Solid performances, but a little sluggish, and some of the character’s decisions were just unbelievable – I’m looking at you, neck tattoo.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      That stupid neck tattoo!
      The ending was fine. I guess. I really don’t have strong feelings about it but I think I liked it better than the rest of the season.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        Have you seen Rectify? I see a lot of similarities between Night Of and Rectify – did he or didn’t he, how prison affects someone, their families, the town they live in, etc. In my opinion, Rectify is a much better show.

        NIGHT OF SPOILERS (sort of)
        I could understand getting neck and knuckle tattoos if you had a life sentence, but maybe stick to arms and back until your trial is over? Dude has been in prison for what, 2 months? I was very invested in the cat, so I’m glad they wrapped up her story.

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          Yes, I love Rectify and I agree about the comparisons. I also saw a lot of comparisons with the first season of Serial – Muslim good guy maybe caught in the wrong place at the wrong time. Also cause I’ve been listening to the first season of Undisclosed which is also about Adnan Syed.
          Yeah that neck tattoo with the fingers just got me. The jury is going to see that!

      • Commentatrix says:

        Also, like, they waited until the very end to actually analyze the victim’s phone records?? THAT IS THE FIRST THING YOU DO IN AN INVESTIGATION. It’s like the show tried to have its cake and eat it too by showing us how people can get railroaded by the judicial system (I GUESS that’s what they were going for?), but also you can’t do both that and also depict the detective as an ultimately good guy and competent cop!! I feel like this show didn’t have a clear vision of what it wanted to be and was ultimately a letdown. Also I LOLed at how they tried to establish some kind of deep bond between Nas and MKW at the very last minute? Like… no, sorry, literally none of us are having any feels whatsoever during this forlornly-gazing-through-the-window-slash-punching-bag scene going on right now. I’m just super glad the cat got closure.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          I kind of thought that MKW was going to have him killed? If he can’t have Nas, no one can? I know that is ridiculous, but there was enough other ridiculous stuff, that it would not have surprised me.

        • Commentatrix says:

          I literally thought the same thing. I was like wait, he’s leaving prison now. He’s gathering his things. Will totally get stabbed out of nowhere. He’s walking through the corridors. That guard will stab him. Nope, another door opens. THOSE guys will stab him. etc etc lolol

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          HAHA Glad I wasn’t the only one!

  3. Sota says:

    I am just so ready for my favorite trash tv to come back. I love you Vampire Diaries! Please give me a season worth enjoying and mocking. Price Peterson recaps = ❤

    Other than that I haven't been watching much. Just Friends and Happy Endings dvds, and watching Superstore season 1 with my Dad on NBC.com. Man alive am I sick of their dumb constant repeat commercials.

  4. Sota says:

    Also…season 23 of DWTS?! Holy bananas thats a lot of seasons.

  5. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    This exchange on Vice Principals was great…
    Gamby makes fun of teacher’s shirt.
    “For your information I got this at Nordstrom.” – teacher
    “Yeah, Nordstrom Rack” – Gamby
    “No! Real Nordstrom.” – teacher

  6. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Bachelor in Paradise continues to be wonderful. Chris Harrison is the perfect host. I would like to see Wells as the next Bachelor.

    • Sota says:

      I miss Bachelor Pad when they had to do competitions and stuff. That was fun.

    • martinmegz says:

      The editing is absolute perfection. From the dogs barking and appearing from heaven to Josh dreaming about pizza — just perfection. I hate Ashley with a burning rage, she is a terrible person who continues to think she is justified in her behavior even to this day! She thinks she is mature because she “shows her emotions.” I’m not into Wells, he seems fine, but I can’t picture 25+ Bachelor-type women competing over him, and they’re not going to find 25 normal women to come on the show.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        I burst out laughing so loud when Ashley was talking about how her wish with Wells was going to come true and then the producers cut to the thing going up in flames while the villagers were screaming. So perfect.

        • Commentatrix says:

          Wait, I don’t get it, is this show, like, actually tongue in cheek?

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          Yeah, the producers and editors definitely have fun with it. Last year they had footage of a woman talking to either a producer or her friend and they edited it so it looked like she was talking to a raccoon. This year another woman was doing the same thing and they made it seem like she was talking to a parrot and she was like “you know they’re gonna make you a raccoon on the show?”
          It’s great.

Comments are closed.