Tuesday TV Talk

Even though it’s been a full TWO WEEKS since we last spoke of our television exploits, I can’t say there’s much to talk about.  The Emmys are Sunday (we’ll talk about that next time), meaning a new fall TV season is upon us.  But… who cares?  Other than the steady crop of Fox comedies, there’s nothing on network television that I care about premiering next week.  Most likely because, as we all know by now, all good TV has gone to cable or streaming services.  I mean, a MacGyver reboot?  When I see commercials for that show, the only thing running through my mind is Will Forte.  Oh well.  I think Transparent season 3 starts in a few weeks, so at least I have that.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. flanny says:

    I’ve been watching Mozart in the Jungle, and while I have some issues with it, Gael is so adorable in it, it’s worth it. (My issues are primarily about how they portray fundraising/fundraisers in it, but that is a personal issue of mine that I get VERY defensive about DON’T GET ME STARTED.)

  2. hotspur says:

    Based on the trailer, it seems macguyvering things now consists of throwing platters instead of rigging up chemical reactions with a pen cap, gum, and two pennies. I guess Burn Notice (the greatest show of the past 50 years*) stole their thunder but come on, this does not look good.

    *I know, it’s not.

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I’m going to check out The Good Place because I love Kristen Bell and Ted Danson is also pretty great. I’m also going to give Speechless on ABC a chance.

    HBO shows don’t start until October, but their whole fall lineup seems worth looking into.

  4. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Mr. Robot is almost over for the season, and I’ve really liked season 2, but I feel like the show is constantly about to jump the shark. I’m glad there will be a third season.

    I know this happened a few weeks ago, but Elliot’s friend talking about Mad About You was one of the funniest things I have seen in a long time.

    • flanny says:

      Please tell me more about this Mad About You discussion. I thought my sister and I were the only people on earth who liked that show anymore!

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        Full disclosure – I’ve never seen Mad About You. As you know Mr. Robot is a pretty serious show, so when Elliot’s friend, played by rapper Joey Bada$$, starts talking about 90s sitcoms, it lightens the mood a bit.

        The first few episodes we see his character, he constantly talks to Elliot about Seinfeld. In a more recent episode, he sings the praises of Mad About You. I can only find this quote which is the end of his speech…

        “My man Paul Reiser, he doesn’t get the credit he deserves.”

        • martinmegz says:

          I still don’t understand the relationship dynamic on that show, the husband was this affable, good-hearted guy and the wife was a high-strung shrew who always criticized him and got her way… oh wait, that’s the husband-wife dynamic on a large percentage of TV shows. Women be yelling!

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          I really like Everybody Loves Raymond, but my god, Debra is shrill. And the men of sitcoms don’t fare well either – always written as dumb or careless.

        • flanny says:

          The people I am specifically thinking about who do NOT like Mad About You hate it primarily because they hate Paul Reiser. And I guess now that I am an adult I also don’t really like Paul Reiser. But when I was younger, I didn’t have any opinion on him. I like the show because it’s slice-of-life about boringish people. I don’t think Jamie was a shrew, and I don’t think Paul was particularly affable—DEAR GOD SOMEONE STOP ME TALKING ABOUT MAD ABOUT YOU.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          Well Flanny, now I’m going to have to watch Mad About You. I also like slice of life comedies about boringish people – see King of Queens, Everybody Loves Raymond.

        • Sota says:

          I don’t have input on Mad About You because…gasp!…I never watched it. But “King of Queens” and “Everybody loves Raymond,” “Rules of Engagement” shows like those etc. I cannot stand those shows because they all seem to bank on the general concept of shlubby husband is a screw up and hot wife nags at him in shrill whiny tones all the time. Not sure if MAY fits into that category, but I just had to whine in a shrill tone about those shows right now.

        • Sota says:

          Don’t read my comment…just read martinmegz. She said it first…and better and I should have read this through. SIGH.

        • martinmegz says:

          I did like Mad About You, it just always bothered me that Helen Hunt’s character was so mean! But that’s just my perception. And Sota, I think the point bears repeating because it is such a sitcom trope. I like sitcoms but I hate how often TV depicts men just suffering through their wives’ irrational behavior. One sitcom I love and don’t know why is Reba, maybe in part because she’s always the reasonable one.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        Dude who makes Mr. Robot loves his 90s sitcoms. There are a bunch of hidden gems in the show. Luckily other people have found them for our amusement…

        – One of the Seinfeld speeches from Elliot’s friend is spoken backwards. Turns out his speech was about the backwards episode of Seinfeld.

        – Someone’s email password is HolidayArmadillo, referencing Friends

        • FRQ says:

          That fake sitcom world Mr Robot constructed for Elliott was masterful.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          Agreed. And if you watched it on USA, the first commercial break was all retro commercials.

          If they would have done the entire episode that way, it would have been too much, but it was great the way they pulled it off.

        • FRQ says:

          I’ve watched most of it via Roku, so I didn’t see the ads. 😦

        • Sota says:

          I read a whole article last week where the premise was that Friends and Seinfeld exist in the same universe. It was pretty fun. Part of it was that Ugly Naked Guy is really Newman since we dont see his face. LOL

  5. catweazle says:

    The only upcoming show I am aware of is Speechless and only because I had to see a commercial for it (and the Kiefer Sutherland movie Designated Survivor) like 40 times on the cab TV loop on my way back from the airport yesterday. But I rarely watch new shows until I have been informed by a trusted source that they are actually good and know that they haven’t gotten canceled after one season.

  6. Sota says:

    Does the Gilmore Girls revival count as a show? Cause thats kind of the only one im interested in right now.

  7. martinmegz says:

    New season of Longmire comes out on Sep. 23 on Netflix which is exciting! I’m not excited about too much else that I’ve seen coming up. I’ll definitely watch Designated Survivor because Kiefer Sutherland is in it.

    So far my favorite new fall show is Kevin Can Wait because the title is so stupid that I reference it all the time: “Unlike Kevin, Martinmegz CANNOT wait for xyz.” Just a stupid name for what will probably be a stupid show and so it is guaranteed to be a hit.

    • FRQ says:

      I like the movie How To Deal for the same reason :

      Friend: “UGH, why is this train ride SO LONG?”

      Me: “Dude, you’re just gonna have to deal, like Mandy Moore.”

      Speaking of which, Mandy Moore has a new show debuting on NBC.

      • flanny says:

        She’ll be forever yours. Love always, Mandy. Boy, she’s craving. Missing you like candy. This fall on NBC.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        I have seen the previews for that new show with Mandy Moore 5,000 times, and only just the other day realized her tv show husband is Jess from Gilmore Girls. And I never would have recognized him – I just heard the actor’s name in association with the show.

  8. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Feel free to roll your eyes at me, but I’m actually kind of interested in the Lethal Weapon series but mostly because I like the guy from Rectify.
    I’m also interested in Pitch about the first female MLB player (again, feel free to roll your eyes at me).
    I don’t think any of the comedies look good this year.

  9. hotspur says:

    I watched episode 2 of Stranger Things last night. May well do episode 3 tonight. It is borderline perfect but in a way that I don’t completely trust yet. Like it is running toward perfection but on a highwire and the highwire is over a toilet.

    ONE THING THAT BODES ILL: Ep 2 closed with a song from 1985-87 and the show is set in ’83. YOU CANNOT FOOL ME, I WAS SENTIENT IN 1983-87. Also I don’t think you could buy phones in stores back then. Maybe? I think you called the phone company and they came out and installed one. You didn’t actually own your phone in 1983, it was property of the phone company. That was a true fact in the NJ of my smallest years, anyway; I assume it was the case nationwide. The Phone Police would come for you if you damaged a phone.

Comments are closed.