A Brief History Of Time (Spent On Recapping The 2016 Emmy Awards)

Last night, ABC had the privilege of airing the 68th Annual Emmy Awards.  I spent the evening casually watching it while playing board games with my friends, so I don’t have any in depth insight.  That being said, I thought it was a pretty good show.  Jimmy Kimmel was fine, the speeches were solid, the award winners seemed appropriate (FINALLY #justicefortatiana), and most importantly, it finished on time!  I don’t know how it will fare in the annals of entertainment history, but compared to the last 2-3 award shows I watched, this was a breath of fresh air.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Brief History Of Time (Spent On Recapping The 2016 Emmy Awards)

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I enjoyed the Emmy’s, mostly because Tatiana Maslany finally won. Also, Ben Mendelsohn won for Bloodline. He’s so good at playing a creep!

    Oh, and Louie Anderson! If you haven’t seen Baskets, check it out. He’s so great on that show, so I’m very glad he won.

  2. catweazle says:

    My favorite part was when Transparent lady yelled “Topple the patriarchy!” and they cut to a shot of the dude sitting next to Patton Oswalt rolling his eyes and then Jimmy Kimmel came out afterwards to undercut her with a clueless white dude comment.

  3. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I only watched the beginning (up until it was time for Reality) but it was fine. When Julia Louis Dreyfuss won for the 5th time in a row, it made me cry how much she was shaking and when she dedicated the win to her dad who just died on Friday!
    Also was very happy for Kate McKinnon!

  4. flanny says:

    I watched a 50th anniversay marathon of The Monkees instead of the Emmys and I realized I’m not attracted to any of the Monkees anymore, but I still appreciate the humor. No, not even Davy!

  5. artdorkgirl says:

    Sherlock won!!! WHOOOOO!!!

  6. martinmegz says:

    I thought Kimmel was fine, but the PB&J bit fell flat for me. It was so much work for no pay off, until they read the notes from his mom. I loved the Matt Damon part. My brain is 20% Good Will Hunting quotes so I love any call back to “How do you like them apples?” He was so funny. “So you don’t get a trophy?”

    Most disappointing speech for me was Key & Peele. I thought they might say something funny or interesting, but it was just the same old boring recitation of names we don’t know. If they put me in charge of award shows, I would outlaw listing names. You start saying names, your time is up. You make a funny or meaningful commentary or tell a story, you get more time.

    I was shocked that it finished on time, since everyone went over on the speeches (including that very awkward Aziz Ansari moment when he dashed back to his seat instead of going backstage for press). Overall, I laughed a few times, I fast-forwarded through a lot of speeches, and got some work done while watching.

Comments are closed.