So, How Was Your Day?

Ugh, I’m tired. Catching up after a three-day weekend is never fun. But I did the dishes and laundry and WENT TO THE BANK [*heavenly choir*] so I did a pretty good job, really. I am now going to go to bed at 8:00,* like the elderly woman I am at heart.

*Because I know it gets confusing, a reminder: I write these posts on Tuesday nights. I don’t live in, I don’t know, Australia or wherever, where it’s always the future and time doesn’t make sense.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. martinmegz says:

    My day has barely started because I roll into the office at 10. My boss switched from the coffee-mate pods to a big jug with a pump, but it’s a different formula so it sweetens the coffee too much without offering any creamer-type properties. In the morning this feels like a big problem, but hopefully by lunchtime I will gain some perspective.

    Tomorrow I have an off-site event in the evening that I’ll take the subway to so I get to work in my PJs all day and not drive much, looking forward to that. Tonight I hope to get to Target and will spend too much time watching the Survivor premiere and Big Brother finale because I am a person who does those things in the absence of having other human beings to care for or raise.

    Who saw This Is Us last night??? I wasn’t looking forward to it at all but it made a big impression on me. If you haven’t seen it but are planning to, don’t look up anything about it, go in blind!

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I tried to change the channel like 15 times during This Is Us because I was mad that I gave in and watched it, but it was a pretty good pilot. I don’t know if I’ll bother watching it every week, but it was way better than I thought it would be.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      I thought the twist at the end was incredible, but it actually in a weird way made me not want to watch the show. Like the show was emotionally manipulative and the characters weren’t (yet) that interesting to me, but the twist made me really love it but in a way that I kind of want to not watch anymore – like it’s good enough to let it exist alone – if that makes any sense at all.

  2. flanny says:

    I am exhausted this week! Yesterday I drove down to Indiana for a conference and back, and tomorrow I’m driving to Ohio and then across to another part of Indiana and coming back on Friday, so I’ve only been in the office for two days this week, but it feels like thirty. I think part of the issue is allergies and part is my period, and then on top of that I’m not feeling particularly enthusiastic about my job. This is my third year here and so it’s my third time doing everything, and I don’t feel like I’ve made any great progress in any of it. And I’m distracted by all sorts of other things in my life, and I just want to hang out in bed with my cat, except that she like to wake me up at 3am so half the time I’m mad at her. Being human is impossible!

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I got to hang out with my friend and her baby this morning, which was way more fun than yesterday morning when I had to get new brakes and new car keys.

    Tonight, I’m hoping to make time for the Mr. Robot finale because I didn’t invest all this time into this show to accidentally read a spoiler about the end of the season on Facebook.

  4. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Theresa, congratulations on going to the bank!

  5. catweazle says:

    I’m on these painkillers for my back which make me nauseous if I don’t eat enough when I take one and apparently a peanut butter sandwich and some carrot sticks is not a big enough meal because I felt like garbage when I went to bed and got like no sleep. It may not have helped that after dinner I went out with Stoner Ron Weasley and drank a bunch of beer. But whatever! I am pretty torn on the SRW situation because I always enjoy spending time with him and we have a ton in common but I just don’t feel the urge to mash faces with him so far. And we’ve been on three dates and he has made no face-mashing moves either so maybe he feels the same way? I don’t know. Dating is stupid. But we rescheduled our karaoke date for this weekend which I think will be the final test before I decide to see if he just wants to be friends.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      You never know…sometimes you don’t think you’ve got the make-out spark until you do and then BAM! CHEMISTRY!!!

      • catweazle says:

        Oh I forgot the funniest part of the date. Somehow Harry Potter World came up in conversation and I mentioned that my brother looks a lot like Daniel Radcliffe and he was like “Oh yeah I used to get Rupert Grint a lot but now that my hair is grown out and I have a beard luckily that doesn’t happen so much.” Oops sorry babe.

  6. FRQ says:

    I’m tired and just want to take a nap.

  7. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Not great, to be honest. This morning I tried to go to the UPS place (to finally mail those GD packages!) and when I was doing that this car freaking hit me and drove off! He really only scratched the side of my car, but the fucker just drove off like nothing happened. I don’t think it’s enough to submit a claim to my insurance company, it just looks like i barely scratched the side of a parking spot or something, but I JUST got my car back from the shop! Fuck that guy. Then the UPS place wasn’t even open yet! Then I started crying at work because something made me think about something very sad and it kind of took over (not work-related) but luckily no one saw me cry. Finally, I had a “chat” yesterday with the hiring manager for that job I applied to a million years ago. and it was actually really an interview. I think I nailed it, but I don’t think I’ll get hired because I don’t have the EXACT experience they’re looking for (I have exactly the experience they’re looking for just not in the exact correct area), which is a real bummer! I am supposed to meet with another VP later in the week but haven’t heard back from the dude yet (sent a follow-up email asking about the other meeting this morning). I am trying to look on the bright side (still have another interview!) but I’m also trying to prepare myself that I won’t get it. Which I understand, but that means I have to figure out how to make my current job situation work for the foreseeable future, which is very stressful because it means I’ll have to have a “serious conversation” with my boss about how things are going and I just don’t have the energy for that. On top of all of that I am still getting over a cold I’ve had all weekend and I’m just feeling pretty bad.

    • Sota says:

      Everyone around here needs a puppy gif around here to help us all cheer up.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I was on my way to a job interview, driving down Michigan Avenue, and some ass side swiped me. He actually stopped, and we exchanged information. Turns out, he gave me SOMEONE ELSE’S business card. It’s my own fault for not handling it more carefully, but I was worried about the interview and being stopped on an extremely busy street in pretty heavy traffic, so I figured it was best to hurry out of there.

      I think I filed it as a hit and run, but the damage might not have even been bad enough to bother with insurance.

      Glad you are ok!

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        What a nightmare! I’m so sorry for you! It’s like the perfect storm of anxiety! Glad you are okay too! People who don’t take responsibility for their car stuff can burn in hell!

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          This happened probably 10 years ago, and I had almost forgotten about it. The guy whose business card it was felt super bad too. He was like, “I wasn’t in any accident?! What is the description of the guy who hit you? Maybe I can help you find him.” Which was nice of him, but of course, he couldn’t help.

  8. I have a bunch of important stuff to do at work and no motivation to do it. I’m speaking at a conference next week and my presentation is not at all done. I hung out with my ex last night and totally still have feelings for him, so that didn’t help. The past week blows. I still have a job but it’s not really the job I want anymore. I spent 5 months of last year looking for a job and now I have to do it again. Lovely.

    I am a Debby Downer today. Blargh.

  9. Sota says:

    I am tired and cranky and hormonal and overwhelmed with work. So I wont even go on and whine because its just not worth giving it more attention. Instead I will post what google tells me is the #1 “cutest gif ever” for your enjoyment. We all need some cute gifs today clearly.

Comments are closed.