How Was Your Weekend?

It was COLD this weekend! Glorious. I totally wasted time and got nothing done, though, besides watching too many episodes of Forensic Files and giving up on two books that just weren’t doing it for me.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. flanny says:

    Good weekend! I took a three hour nap on Saturday that I never full recovered from until I woke up on Sunday morning. Then my brother and sister-in-law and mom came into town to tell us my sister-in-law is pregnant! Thank goodness, because the youngest kid in the family is now five and he’s starting to not be cute anymore. The pregnancy was a surprise to me and my mom (and probably the parents, too), and in classic mom fashion, my mom called me later that night to talk about it and then dropped in the dreaded, “Are you seeing anyone?” Moms!

    • catweazle says:

      My mom has her issues but I am very happy that she has never asked me any questions about my love life and in fact has never really talked to me about dating/relationships/sex except for one awkward car conversation when I was in high school about how Lisa Kudrow saved herself for marriage (which it turns out was not even true but a common misinterpretation of an interview she did back in the day!) which was her roundabout way of telling me not to Do It.

      • flanny says:

        In my adulthood, my mom’s done this twice. Last night at 10:15pm after I’d specifically told her I was going to bed. And once about ten years ago when we were both waiting for different flights at an airport and my mom just sighed and said, “I guess I’m only going to have one grandchild,” like she would guilt me into having a baby. Joke’s on her because she’s about to have a grand total of four and none of them came from me!

    • Sota says:

      My aunts are all a flutter about my singleness. (Well, now I have a BF, but I had 10+ years of singledom before him). My parents were always very relaxed about all of it, but my aunts are so worried my eggs are going to dry up before I squeeze out a bunch of children. Which honestly, I don’t know why they are worried…there are already more kids than adults at every family gathering. Including a new fresh one that was born last night. If the kids wanted to mutiny and take over, I am pretty sure they could. That said, now that I have a BF they are all gung ho about when am I going to get married. Kids haven’t been mentioned lately, but I can see that percolating in their minds.

      • flanny says:

        Ha! Yes! My current nieces and nephew are my sister’s kids so they have a different last name, and so yesterday I joked that finally the Flanny name will live on. And then we all laughed because my father was one of nine and we have 36 cousins on that side who all have kids so there was never any worry of the name dying in the next millennium.

    • My parents have come to terms with my #ForeverAlone status, but every once in a while my mom will say “You know, I just have this weird feeling that you’re going to meet your person soon,” and I have to remind her that she says that like once a year.

      I think my dad is just happy that he doesn’t have to deal with someone else in the family.

    • FRQ says:

      I generally don’t tell my family about relationships because I hate getting them all worked up for something that ends up not working out. My policy is to wait until the relationship is steady. Well, I find myself in such a scenario, and promptly told my dad about it, so he wouldn’t think I’m hiding anything from him. In true my dad fashion, he proceeded to give me a 12 point plan for me to follow and urged me to get on it RIGHT NOW. The only thing saving me from more agonizing advice is my sister, who is ahead of me with a spouse and kid.

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I watched the movie Green Room. It is a pretty good movie, but be warned that it is extremely violent.

    Last night, we ate take out from a newer place, and the food was excellent. I got a gyros bowl, and have a piece of baklava that I saved to enjoy tonight.

  3. catweazle says:

    My weekend was pretty good! I took Friday off work so I could get my couch removed and I was also going to get a few boxes of clothes and books picked up by a charity. The couch removal went fine but the clothes/books people didn’t give me a time window and I made the foolish decision of taking a nap during which time they showed up, rang my doorbell a couple of times and then left before I was able to stumble out of bed to greet them. So I’ll have to reschedule I guess. Anyway, I got the new couch delivered on Saturday and it is kind of comically large. It didn’t look very big at all in the Room Place showroom surrounded by other furniture but it is like twice as tall as my old couch. But whatever, it is very nice and comfortable and a dark color so it won’t stain (unlike my old white couch) so I am happy!

    Saturday night was supposed to be the karaoke date with Stoner Ron Weasley and we went to my usual karaoke spot only to find that it was so dead that they didn’t bother running karaoke. We stayed there anyway and just drank some beers and watched the loop of fail videos running on one of the TVs for three hours before the bar closed early due to lack of patrons. So we have been on four dates now and there has been no kissing which I think is probably weird? But real talk, prior to this I’ve never been on more than two dates with the same person so who even knows. Dating is dumb and weird.

    Last night I went to see Bill Callahan and I had been pretty excited about it because I haven’t seen him for a few years but it was kind of not very good? It was the first of four shows in two days at the same venue and it felt kind of like he was using it as a practice or something. And he played a couple of new songs that I wasn’t crazy about but I do hope it at least means he has a new album coming out soon because it’s been too long since Dream River.

    • Sota says:

      I hate that how furniture looks so different in the showroom than it does in your house. Did you get an opportunity to say “PIVOOOOOTTT”? Thats the best part about moving furniture.

      • catweazle says:

        Well the couch was so large that the delivery guys struggled to get it up the stairs. I didn’t say “PIVOT!” out loud but I was thinking it the whole time.

  4. martinmegz says:

    It was hot here! 102 in Camarillo where I spent Sunday. Even worse, it’s going to be 100 degrees in Santa Monica today! That’s very unusual weather for the beach over here. Tomorrow I’m escaping the heat for the chilly environs of Southern Oregon where it might get below 50 degrees at night! I don’t know the last time I was in weather under 65 degrees.

    I had a fun weekend at an event with some tennis players and celebs, I got to interview people and there was tons of free wine, beer and food.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      To never have to be in temperatures under 65 degrees sounds like a dream! It’s a little chilly, but nice here today, but I think it’s supposed to get into the 40s tonight. I’m not ready to have to start wearing a jacket or coat.

  5. Sota says:

    My weekend was good. I went to a Bonfire birthday party for my SIL that turned into a game night because of rain. I skipped out on the other 4 (yes, four) birthday events she had scheduled this weekend and instead just hung out at home. Saturday, I rearranged all my furniture and did a major deep cleaning vacuuming, scrubbing floors, setting aside more stuff to get rid of, etc. I watched Chuck and Happy Endings on DVD while doing all of that work. Sunday, I spent some time working on my photo books, and went to yoga for the first time in weeks. I am TRYING to get my life back in order with some semblance of a fitness regimen. Overall it was a very nice relaxing weekend, where I still managed to get some good stuff accomplished.

    • martinmegz says:

      I’m sorry are you implying that your sister in law planned 5 birthday events for herself in one weekend?

      • Sota says:

        I am. Friday evening bonfire, Saturday Dinner, Drinks and Dancing (does this count as 1 event? There were 3 Saturday bullet points on the invite.) and then Sunday brunch. And btw this is after she and my bro went on a vacation together to celebrate her birthday. She just likes birthdays I guess. I am more like, hey lets just have dinner and I am good kinda person.

        • hotspur says:

          I have friends who go NUTS for their own birthdays and I think that is very strange behavior in anyone over age 10, quincenera excepted.

        • martinmegz says:

          Was there a location change for dinner, drinks, and dancing? Is this a milestone birthday?

        • martinmegz says:

          Why do I need to get to the bottom of this??? I guess it’s less anxiety-inducing than thinking about politics.

        • Sota says:

          Yes all 3 were different locations. It was her 30th. So yes, a milestone. But she does just love celebrating and parties and birthdays in general, so the plethora of events doesn’t really shock me.

  6. hotspur says:

    Friday I went to a ghost- and witch-themed art show and grabbed a drink with a friend. That was enjoyable, though I did not go home with any new art to make my walls more ghost/witch-themed.

    Saturday I did some good writing and read a bit more of Steph’s book, Beware Beware, which continues to intrigue. Sunday I faced the horrible realization that the next two chapters I planned to write in my thing just aren’t going to work as planned — but I couldn’t bring myself to organize a good new plan, so I revised older stuff and watched the original Lethal Weapon movie. IT HOLDS UP. I also went for a run because I promised I would. Today I can barely walk.

    My main activity all weekend was sitting next to the A/C, where it was 79, compared to the 91-95 it was outside.

  7. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My weekend was pretty good. We just hung out watching football and watching my kid bounce around and say words. It was actually completely uneventful, which was great!

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Did you hear anything about your dream job?

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Thanks for asking! Nothing yet…they said they want to make a decision fairly soon, but considering they took 3 months to interview me, that could mean a week, a month, or two!

  8. I’m in San Francisco for a conference. I rented a bike yesterday and rode around. Got a horrible sunburn because it’s about 90 degrees out here right now. But SF is really pretty! I was prepared to hate it, but the parks are gorgeous and the views of the ocean.

    Now I’m debating between going to Moma or going shopping. Such a hard debate.

    • hotspur says:

      Why on earth did you expect to hate San Francisco??

      • martinmegz says:

        My thought exactly!

      • BECAUSE SAN FRANCISCO IS THE WORST. Except the food, they have good food.

        • hotspur says:

          Their food is not as good as LA’s. Don’t believe their hype!

          (One of the funniest things ever is when the SF Chronicle publishes its list of Best SF restaurants and always includes Chez Panisse and French Laundry. Those aren’t in SF! Including French Laundry — 60 miles away! — is so egregious, it is like listing a place in Connecticut as New York’s top restaurant. Or making Chicago sound better by naming something to do in Valparaiso, Indiana. Give me a break, SF! That said, holy god, I love Mikkeller.)

        • flanny says:

          West Coast feud!!!

        • I had tacos last night: two measly tacos for $11. They were super tasty, but I ended up eating a veggie burger and fries somewhere else later. The prices here are outrageous.

      • Because as an East Coaster I am automatically wary of the West Coast. Because I hate New York and assumed I would hate San Francisco because it’s even more expensive. Also, tech bro culture and hippy culture are both gross to me.

  9. I am jealous of your cold weather because it is 100 in LA and I am dying. My weekend was fun! It was a friend’s birthday so we did an escape room and we were SO CLOSE to getting out but didn’t quite make it, which was insanely frustrating. Afterwards I went to a bar with some friends and got really drunk and danced a lot to a band playing 90s covers. Yesterday I didn’t want to move so I laid on my couch all day and watched new pilots. All in all a pretty solid weekend.

Comments are closed.