Tuesday TV Talk

This past week saw the debut of another batch of shows, which include Marvel’s Luke Cage on Netflix, the possibly ironically titled Timeless, and the movie-turned-show Westworld.  I most likely haven’t watched any of them, as I am sitting on a beach earning 20% sipping on daiquiris.  How about you guys?

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. Sota says:

    I started watching Timeless last night, but then I got a phone call and so I missed the rest of the episode/watched the rest of the episode on mute. I will prob go back and watch it online, just out of curiosity. So far my biggest question was, if this is an NBC show, why is their time machine a giant CBS logo?

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Westworld was very good. I’m not sure how it will play out over the long run, but I am interested to see what’s next.

    I FINALLY finished watching the season premiere of Lethal Weapon. I liked it enough to give a few more episodes a spot on the DVR. If it wasn’t for Clayne Crawford, I would probably tap out, but he’s just a fantastic actor.

    HBO has the first episode of Insecure on demand. The main actress is a delight, and I liked the premiere. Will watch again.

  3. martinmegz says:

    I still love Lethal Weapon so much. Westworld is intriguing enough to get me to watch an episode eventually, but something about the promos turn me off even though the premise should appeal to me. I watched the first three episodes of Longmire’s new season and so far, so good. I remember loving the previous season but found out that I didn’t retain any information about the plot. Has anyone seen Westworld? I want to hear what people think about it.

    FRQ what you beach on?

  4. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Also, who is watching Project Runway? I like this season so far, and think they have been sending the right people home.

    • martinmegz says:

      I agree so far. I’ve found in recent years that my enjoyment of the show is lessened by the insane judges’ critiques when they praise total garbage and send home decent designs. I like this season because at least half of the contestants are pretty likable.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        The guy who got cut week 1 – I thought for sure they would keep him because he seemed like a dream for editors looking to create drama. Glad the judges surprised me.

        Yeah, there are a lot more likable people this time around. Maybe they all watched Project Runway Junior and realized that you can be nice AND be a good designer..

      • flanny says:

        Can we talk about how much I hated the emojis dress? I thought it was totally hack and looked like something an “artsy” teenager would wear to prom to make a point. But the judges were crazy about it and thought it was so edgy? I didn’t understand AT ALL.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          The emoji dress was better than I thought it was going to be since all we saw in the workroom was a white dress with a bunch of tape on it. But no way did it deserve to be on the top – especially since that guy was being such a cry baby about the challenge.

          The white fringe dress and the one with the orange frays should have taken the places of the emoji dress and that puffy paint jacket. Also, why do people keep making sheer jackets? Stop that!

        • flanny says:

          Yes, the orange frays were amazing!

        • martinmegz says:

          YES! That guy is also my least favorite as a person. He was such a dick about losing, complaining that the winner just glued stuff on or whatever. Dude, you TAPED and PAINTED your dress! And the day look wasn’t even well made, with that weird indented vagina!

  5. Sota says:

    Also…this…

    Not. A. Game. pic.twitter.com/QVT6Qx89sK— Prentice Penny (@The_A_Prentice) October 1, 2016

    //platform.twitter.com/widgets.js
    I just really wish it was going to be an actual reboot of the show.

  6. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Gilmore Girls News: A bunch of coffee shops are turning into pop up Luke’s Diners on October 5. Here’s a list of all the participating locations – https://townofstarshollow.org/lukes

  7. catweazle says:

    I’ve been enjoying some hotel TV here in Montreal. Last night I watched the French version of Family Feud and I couldn’t understand what anybody was saying but I could occasionally understand the answers up on the board so I mostly tried to guess what the questions were.

    Then I watched an episode of Shameless which I think might be the new season premiere? I don’t know. I’ve never seen it before so all I was thinking the whole time was “Is the premise of this show that William H. Macy has 100 children and is a jerk?”

    Then I watched an episode of Lucifer which I have also never seen and seems to have the premise “The Devil was just misunderstood and now he wants to solve crimes with a lady detective who looks like she models for Vogue on the weekends” and also he has a hot mom? I don’t know. It was not as dumb as I expected but I also had no clue what was going on.

    And then I watched the first episode of Conviction which was also ok but a) I can’t deal with Hayley Atwell in modern dress, b) Why is the world still trying to make Shawn Ashmore happen and c) Tag from Friends is playing like the hardass district attorney who has sexual tension with Peggy Carter and all I can think about is him riding around on a scooter.

  8. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I liked Westworld a LOT! I am sure it has some flaws that will get magnified in the coming weeks, but for how much it’s trying to do, I thought it was really well executed and entertaining and smart and all that!
    I watched Timeless and didn’t hate it! I will watch again next week although I’m not sure for how long (doesn’t sound like many other people watched it!)

Comments are closed.