Tuesday TV Talk

Another Tuesday, and more TV to discuss. The CW shows have finally begun premiering, which is like 90% of my TV, so I have a lot to talk about. Plus, we’ll check in with our cancellation pool contest.

Frequency – I never saw the movie that this show is based on and I have no idea if that will be a hindrance but I thought the pilot was pretty intriguing. The characters are likable and I’m intrigued by the pilot and interested in seeing where the show goes. I’m a little curious about how much the time travel element will play into future episodes or if they’re going to drop that eventually but for now I don’t mind it to much.

No Tomorrow – This show isn’t as bad as it could be but it’s not particularly amazing. The whole “beautiful blonde girl dreams of being a singer” feels a little Disney channel and some of the characters feel like retreads from other CW shows. The super dry and blunt Indian girl and the super soft-spoken person who needs subtitles? Totally in Crazy Ex-Girlfriend.

The Flash – I’m a little surprised that the show turned back the Flashpoint universe in the first episode. What, Barry sees that Joe is sad so he decides that both his parent’s lives are worth that? The reasoning is a little lame. Barry has never been able to tolerate the negative effects of his choices so it makes sense in the universe of the show but come on dude, you’re a superhero.

Brooklyn 99 – I’ve liked the season so far but the last episode felt like it belonged in season 1. The jokes were a little lame and Jake’s self-centeredness was really obvious.

This Is Us – I am still really enjoying this show. I’m charmed by the characters and I like seeing the different interactions and relationships. I think Kevin is my favorite of the kids so far but I also really like Mandy Moore and Jess from Gilmore Girls’s relationship. The big twist a few weeks ago was that Mandy Moore is now married to a different guy in the present and my theory is that Jess dies some time between the two periods. Watching the pilot for the second time, I noticed that Kevin and Kate talked about their dad but used the past tense in their conversations, like he’s no longer there. We’ll see if that turns out to be the case.

Now, for the Cancellation Pool! Here are everyone’s choices:

Catweazle – Timeless

Truckasuarus – Notorious

FRQ – Kevin Can Wait

Theresa – Frequency

Flanny – The Great Indoors

Sota – Pure Genius

Commentatrix – Man with a Plan

Hotspur – No Tomorrow

Neverabadidea – McGyver

MartinMegs – Pitch

Let me know if I missed you or if you didn’t pick before and want to join the fun. So far, nothing has been cancelled (that I’ve seen, feel free to correct me if wrong).  A few shows have gotten picked up for a full season (sorry FRQ and Neverabadidea) and so far, all the new stuff seems to be sticking. If anyone wants to add themselves to the pool, just remember you have to pick a show that is premiering it’s first episode this fall and it can’t be anything that someone else already picked.

 

About cassmasterflash

I do a terrible job pretending to be a grown-up. You can usually find me watching Teen Wolf or Hollyoaks with my cat while looking at pictures of One Direction on Tumblr. I'm not nearly as funny as I think I am.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. hotspur says:

    I like a contest where if you pick a winner, you lose.

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    This episode of Project Runway was emotional. I didn’t really like the winning collection that much because I thought those embellishments looked cheesy, but I looooooved that leather jacket. I was so happy to see all the teams get along. And how a lot of them nominated themselves to go home?? I thought for sure Tim would use his save this time even though it’s so early in the competition.

    • martinmegz says:

      That jacket was incredible. I thought the losing collection looked like a bunch of weird costumes so I was happy with the winners, even with the terrible minidress. I totally thought Tim was going to save the person who went home because he was talking about integrity. Will he pull a move like when he saved Char the next day?

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        I hope he uses the save. I know it’s not a personality contest, but the judges have let everyone through for much less.

  3. catweazle says:

    Who wants to talk Drag Race finale? I was thrilled obviously because Alaska is my fave though I was simultaneously sad for Katya because she’s so amazing too. Detox was also very good especially in the last episode but let’s face it, she was a clear 3rd place.

    I watched the finale at a drag bar which was fun except everybody was salty about Alaska and not very happy that she won. Dummies. Chad Sell was there selling prints and he told me that Katya fans are so nuts right now with Alaska hate that any time he posts an Alaska drawing on Instagram people comment with snake emojis.

  4. catweazle says:

    Oh also can we talk about how pointless the New Girl/Brooklyn Nine-Nine crossover was?

    • I didn’t watch the New Girl episode but on the Brooklyn 99 side, it was pretty pointless. It lasted all of about 30 seconds.

      • FRQ says:

        The New Girl side was definitely more involved. Jess met like half the cast during the episode, and even Nick and Winston encountered Charles on happenstance. That being said, neither episodes were particularly good.

      • catweazle says:

        It was a little more substantial on New Girl but still pointless. Boyle and Nikolaj watched Nick and Winston try to busk on the subway platform, Jess had a conversation with Holt about New York, and… I think that was it? Other than the Jess/Jake stuff which was literally just a rehash of what happened on Brooklyn Nine-Nine. So it was kind of a waste of an episode for both shows for almost no payoff!

    • summerestherson says:

      Yeah, they were BOTH lackluster episodes!! I’m really hoping B99 picks up soon, b/c I wasn’t enamored of the Coral Palms episodes either (and NOT just because I’m a Floridian!)

      Also, B99 related, does Stephanie Beatriz (Rosa) look different this season? Is it her hair? Or are they doing something different with her makeup? I can’t put my finger on it, but it’s weird.

    • martinmegz says:

      They had such a great opportunity to bring something up in B99 and explain it in NG, and they chose to go with why she had a container of soup. SOUP. My opinion is that the network forced them to do a crossover and the writers half-assed it out of spite. Apparently they couldn’t manage to get most of the casts together to shoot, like Holt and Jess filmed their scene separately. The only thing I liked was the Coach cameo at the end because I’d given up hope that he would make an appearance.

  5. nastyemu says:

    I’ve been watching Westworld, and I look forward to it every week, but I’m still not sure if it’s actually good.

    • summerestherson says:

      I watched the first episode and then went on vacation, so I’m behind, but I’m planning on catching up this weekend. I think it’s interesting, but yeah, I don’t know if it’s actually good or just prurience with a nice sheen on it?

  6. flanny says:

    This is unrelated to TV but I’ve been running around all day getting paperwk signed so I can post the two new positions that’ll be under me! And the department’s current admin is getting a promotion to do a related job that is under me, and she’s moving into her office down here in the basement right now!

  7. summerestherson says:

    WHO WATCHED THE JANE THE VIRGIN PREMIERE?!

    I cried! ~~~SPOILER ALERT~~~ I’m not even a big fan of Michael, but I still cried when Jane was talking about their life together!

    Also, poor Petra. 😦

    Mateo continues to be cute. Rogelio continues to be the best.

    So I finally started watching Playing House and Crazy Ex-Girlfriend and I want to smack myself for waiting so long. THEY’RE BOTH SO GOOD EVERYONE WATCH THEM.

  8. martinmegz says:

    I loved the first episode of Frequency, then the second episode pissed me off because the main female character is written as such a bitch. She basically threw a temper tantrum like a spoiled brat and refused to speak to help her dad save her MOM’S LIFE!!! It makes me so angry that the character is written so terribly. And she’s mean to everyone. Ugh.

    Timeless is turning out better than I thought it would be; it’s actually interesting to go back to big events in history and there’s an occasional funny joke. Plus the three leads are very likable.

    Is anyone watching The Mindy Project on Hulu? It’s gotten so bad that I can’t figure out why they’re still making it. Put that money into a Happy Endings reboot, you Hulu idiots!

    I’m shocked that Kevin Can Wait got a full season pick up. I watched one episode and it was so, so bad. It’s offensive that this show is on the air. I guess I know what those alleged “undecided voters” must be watching. (That’s supposed to be a sick burn on people who haven’t decided who to vote for yet).

  9. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Mr. Truck is out of town so I am re-watching Mad Men. I love that show so so so much.

  10. Sota says:

    Ugh I was so busy today I missed tv chat. I spent the weekend watching things online. I’m as caught up as I can be without paying or watching real time on Modern Family, Goldbergs, New Girl and something else I can’t remember. Oh and I watched American Housewife and I actually cannot believe what a nightmare that show is. Barf. Basically the whole storyline is about not being the fattest lady in the neighborhood. Woof. I also watched part of Frequency. That guy that plays the Dad…Riley Smith was in one of my favorite 90s abc Family movies…Motocrossed. anyone else see that?! And I watched Timeless last night, which was actually pretty decent but I wish I was a little bit more interested in any of the secondary plots.

    • Commentatrix says:

      Motorcrossed! Such a gem from my tween years!

    • Sota says:

      I just remembered the other show. The good place! The fact that I forgot it should give an accurate review.

      Also so glad Trix remembers Motocrossed too. More validation that you monsters really are my people. ♡

      • nastyemu says:

        I wanted American Housewife to be good because I like the people in it but based on the commercials I didn’t bother.

        The Good Place is fine, but if not for Kristen Bell and Ted Danson I wouldn’t be watching it anymore.

        I forgot to mention the other new show that I like in my post, but I am really liking Atlanta so far. I’m one or two episodes behind but it’s my favorite new show.

Comments are closed.