(Belated) Tuesday TV Talk

Apologies for not getting this up earlier, but here is your Tuesday TV talk thread! Talk about TV! I haven’t watched anything in ages, so alas, I can’t really participate. I’m gearing up for Gilmore Girls and The Crown on Netflix, though–November TV is shaping up to be bountiful.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to (Belated) Tuesday TV Talk

  1. martinmegz says:

    Did anyone catch Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency on BBC America on Saturday? It’s based on a series by Douglas Adams, who wrote The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. I watched it because I saw an interview with Elijah Wood, and he’s just such a delight. Dirk Gently is strange and compelling and gross and funny and quirky and confusing. I recommend checking it out, but there’s a chance it could totally derail in subsequent episodes.

    I loved New Girl this week, it was the first episode of the season that I thought was as good as season five episodes. The callback to Winston’s color blindness was great: “What color is that, yellow?”

    I don’t want to post any Walking Dead spoilers in case people still haven’t watched it (why would you wait to watch such a major episode???) but I will say how annoying it is that the show can’t just tell a straight story. There’s always some stupid gimmick or time shift or cliffhanger or misdirect or whatever, at least lately.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I recorded Dirk Gently because I enjoyed the trailer a while back. Then I saw it got a pretty low grade on the A.V. Club, so I wasn’t in a big hurry to watch it. I will check it out though.

      I STILL haven’t seen the Walking Dead, though I know who got killed. I’m not happy to learn that they are using ANOTHER gimmick. I will ignore the rest of this thread in case you all want to discuss details. Hopefully any other procrastinators have fair warning that spoilers might be present here.

    • Commentatrix says:

      The whole thing about secret keeping. Slayed me.

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    • How has Emily not aged one single second?

      (And ugh, while I’m super looking forward to this and think it will be fun, please, no more Luke and Lorelai drama. PLEASE, show.)

    • I have been spending wayyyy too much time trying to strategize the most effective watch schedule for the release. Midnight-6 am watch session? Watch half the first night and half the second? These are real struggles that I face.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        I’ll have the day off of work, so maybe I’ll watch from midnight-6. Or just watch it all on Friday during the day. I kind of wish they were releasing one for each season – fall, winter, spring, summer.

        • My struggle is that I’ll be with my family and there are some Gilmore Girls haters in that group. I feel like if I watch it in full view, at least one sister will be sitting around mocking it. I KNOW IT IS SAPPY AND RIDICULOUS AND TERRIBLE BUT I LIKE IT SO JUST LEAVE ME ALONE. I also feel like I need to plan my snacks accordingly because having just rewatched it all on Netflix, I remember just being constantly hungry the whole time because they are always eating. I’ll probably end up eating like 4 pies while I watch like a winner.

        • Sota says:

          I am going to be at Thanksgiving with the BF’s family, so I will be watching the following week when I get home. I am going to try desperately to resign myself to exactly one episode at a time. I don’t want it to end too quickly.

    • Sota says:

      SO EXCITED TO SEE OLD FRIENDS!

    • catweazle says:

      I just hope that the reboot ends with my OTP together at last (Kirk and Luke).

  3. Things are looking good for Truckasaurus to win the cancellation pool since Notorious just got their episode order cut. We’ll see if any of the other networks make some quick cuts to their new shows.

    I watched the first few episodes of Bull this week which was not bad but shows like that always kind of mystify me because do companies like that actually exist? Are there actually people who are professional jury guessers? Or is it just completely made up for the benefit of the show?

    I also watched a few early episodes of The Good Wife and Elementary and I like them both. Has anyone watched those shows and are they worth seeing through to the end?

    This Is Us continues to be a delight and makes me hope that the Gilmore Girls reunion show will have Rory and Jess married with kids because Milo Ventimiglia is a great TV dad.

    • Sota says:

      I looooved the Good Wife, but I still havent watched the two final seasons.

    • martinmegz says:

      It’s based on Dr. Phil’s previous career, apparently he used to be a jury consultant! I crack up when they show his name in the credits and he insists on being listed as “Dr. Phil McGraw,” ever since I learned from Happy Endings that he has a PhD, it’s not even an MD.

    • catweazle says:

      Elementary is super good, especially the first season (the second season suffers a bit from a sort of sucky Mycroft storyline) and the third season. I have actually been meaning to rewatch it.

    • flanny says:

      Yes, Good Wife is good up until a certain point, but I can’t remember when that point is…

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I love Elementary. It’s in its fifth season now, and I still enjoy it. Sherlock and Joan are great together, and Joan’s wardrobe is fantastic – with the exception of the weird neck ties and bows around her neck that come in season 4.

      Good balance between mystery, humor, and drama. A+

    • Commentatrix says:

      I completely recommend The Good Wife! The finale and half of the final season was a letdown, but I just pretend it doesn’t exist.

    • mikaelajm says:

      Ooooh, I also just started The Good Wife! I really like it so far.

  4. Sota says:

    The final (tear!) season of The Vampire Diaries premiered on Friday. I still have not watched it yet. I will def get that done sometime this week. Looking forward to it.

Comments are closed.