EW PopFest to Give Us a Happy Ending(s Reunion)

Hey do you guys remember this song? I’m going to date myself by saying this was a big song when I was in college. I lived with my friend Pjetur (pronounced Peter) who was obsessed with *NYSNC so he waited until this video came on TRL (Total Request Live with host Carson Daly on MTV), popped a VHS tape into the VCR, and recorded it so we could watch it whenever we wanted. That was what passed for “on demand.” My god, I feel so old at this moment, like I’m telling my grandkids a story about rationing pantyhose during the war.

Anyhow, Pjetur and I watched this video over and over and memorized the dance moves to the part after JT says “man, I’m tired of singing.” And today I have this song playing on repeat in my head because… I’m going to EW PopFest on Saturday!

There are some very exciting panels, but the biggest one is a Happy Endings reunion and table read of a brand new episode. There’s also a panel with “first footage” of the Gilmore Girls. Since I’m going not just as a fan who’s watched Happy Endings all the way through five to eight times this year but as an intrepid reporter, please let me know what on the Saturday schedule looks interesting to you and I’ll try to report back with inside details.

Any LA folks can find ticket info here: http://ewpopfest.com/#tickets2

Please let me know if you plan to attend and we can make plans to meet up for drinks!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to EW PopFest to Give Us a Happy Ending(s Reunion)

  1. FRQ says:

    Don’t see too much there outside of Happy Endings that interests me. Ed Brubaker is cool, as he wrote some of the best Captain America stuff I’ve read, and I’m kind of curious to know what he’s up to. Possibly interested in The Oscar Contenders. Also, I’ve seen Janelle Monae perform and she’s great, so check that out if you can.

  2. Kate says:

    Exciting! I’d like a report on the strangest thing you see there.

  3. Sota says:

    OMG I AM BEYOND JEALOUS.

    Ughhhhhhh.

  4. Sota says:

    22 weeks ago the ladies reunited.

    Happy Endings reunion with these two. 😢 #vulturefestival @theelizacoupe @elishaphaneuf

    A post shared by Casey Wilson (@caseyrosewilson) on

  5. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    When I was in college, I had a late class on the nights that Gilmore Girls aired, so my friend would VHS record the episodes for me. It’s hard to believe that in the not so distant past, DVRs were not a thing. It’s one of my favorite advances in technology.

    If I lived in LA, I would definitely join you. Have fun, and if you catch the Gilmore Girls footage, let us know if it’s good.

    • martinmegz says:

      It’s crazy how much entertainment consumption has changed! When I studied abroad in college, my dad used to record 90210 on VHS and ship it to Italy for me. Such a great dad.

      • Sota says:

        One of my college roomies used to type out extremely detailed play by play recaps of new One Tree Hill episodes to send to our other friend studying abroad in Spain. When I say play by play, I mean down to what Chad Michael Murray’s hair looked like and what everyone wore, exactly what they said etc. They were basically mini novels in email format.

        • Sota says:

          ps. thats the level of description I would like regarding the Happy Endings event too okay Martinmegz?! Also if they sell any #bringbackhappyendings merch, totally buy me something. Ill pay you back.

        • martinmegz says:

          I will do my best to chronicle every joke for you!

  6. Kate says:

    Also, Kelly went to the Gilmore Girls fan thing in Connecticut last weekend and reported on it for Vulture. Here’s one of her posts: http://www.vulture.com/2016/10/gilmore-girls-actors-on-fan-fiction-dual-roles.html

Comments are closed.