It’s Friday! Let’s Dance!

This week was rough but it also went by fast, so it all works out. What are your plans for the weekend? I’m hanging out with family of Saturday, and then doing my best to sleep Sunday away.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to It’s Friday! Let’s Dance!

  1. mikaelajm says:

    I’m guessing most of you will have already seen this, but just in case you haven’t, I’m leaving it here (and also watching it on loop all weekend). My favorite part is the refresher on post-WWI Germany:

  2. catweazle says:

    It has not been a very enjoyable week because of work and also because I live in Chicago and everybody is losing their shit over sports. I got caught in a flood of suburbanites walking from the train station to wherever the parade was on my way into work and it was very unpleasant and also they took over my Dunkin Donuts so I wasn’t able to get coffee.

    I thought this would be the worst of it, but it wasn’t! I tweeted a bit about how much of a pain in the ass the parade was and MY MOTHER apparently found my Twitter at some point and responded to one of the tweets and this is honestly a nightmare scenario for me because the whole reason I started a Twitter in the first place was because my mom was on Facebook and I had to start censoring myself. I don’t want to have to think about my mom reading my boner jokes and drunk tweets! Also I occasionally tweet things about being queer which is not something I’ve discussed with her. So basically this is terrrrrrrible. When my dad found my Twitter a couple of years ago I immediately blocked him and he died like a month later so hopefully this isn’t some kind of curse because I think that’s my only option.

    ANYWAY! I am on call for work tomorrow afternoon through Sunday morning which sucks because we’re still really busy right now and I probably won’t get any sleep. I was going to go see either Moonlight or Gimme Danger tonight after work but the theater they’re playing at is dangerously close to Wrigley Field and I don’t think I want to take my chances there so I’ll have to wait until next week when peace comes back to my city (hopefully).

  3. flanny says:

    This was supposed to be my first weekend is September that I didn’t have something massive going on, and I was looking forward to it. But now I have to go in to work for a few hours on Sunday, so that’s a bit of a bummer. But other than that I’m going to try to write a lot. Depending on how this weekend goes, I might start up Nanowrimo, but I’m not holding my breath about it.

    • flanny says:

      First weekend *since* September.
      (Update: I was trying to find a gif of Towley saying “I have no idea what’s going on” but I sensed I should click back over to my excel just as my boss strolled in for a chat.)

  4. artdorkgirl says:

    I took the day off today because I’m really run down and I’ve completely lost my voice! We’re going to see Doctor Strange tomorrow (swoon) and I’m going to be lazy this rest of the weekend.

  5. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    This popped up in my Facebook memories. I’m guessing it came from Videogum. It reaches new levels of perfect around the :49 mark…

  6. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    You guys, this week was long and shitty. I got less than 5 hours of sleep last night, and I am very very stressed.

    BUT it’s almost the weekend, and I am looking forward to sleeping, catching up on shows, and grabbing lunch with one of my coworkers. I’ll have to do some productive stuff too.

  7. actionjackson5 says:

    After three consecutive weekends of attending children’s birthday parties, we’re going to an adult birthday Saturday night! (I’m not complaining about the others, really. Two of those served beer to the parents, so…)

    http://giphy.com/gifs/cheer-cheering-11sBLVxNs7v6WA

  8. Sota says:


    I am just ready for a weekend. Trying to tie up loose ends before this job is done (Wed!) is draining me. I have my desk totally cleaned out, but I feel like I am leaving so much stuff up in the air. Oh well, pretty soon it won’t be mine to worry about and I just have to let that go. It’s hard because I want things to be done well. This weekend I don’t really have any plans except to try to get my lazy buns to the gym and also to go tomorrow and vote early so I don’t have to wait in lines on Tues. Ill prob watch tv online and I am sure something fun will come up that I am not expecting. Also…its supposed to be 68 here today! It’s like spring! Are you screwing with us fall? Whats the deal?

  9. hotspur says:

    I watched the first episode of Good Girls Revolt last night. That was literally my biggest achievement. I liked it, even though it was so fucking on the nose that I also hated it (sample line of dialog: “You’re never gonna make it out there, because all you have in journalism is your name — Nora Ephron!”). But the art direction was cool (it is set in 1969), and it was all about history — full of crap I didn’t know! Like that Altamont was covered up by the cops! But an intrepid secretary from Newsweek got the scoop by jetting to Haight-Ashbury and convincing a groupie who sculpted rockstar penises to go on record about what really happened! And that Nora Ephron was hated, literally hated by her editor, for being too good a writer.

    Except so psyched was I to learn all this that I immediately took to the internets to read up on the secret history. TURNS OUT it’s all bullshit. Nora Ephron worked at Newsweek in 1962, not 1969. In the mailroom, not as a writer. Newsweek didn’t even cover Altamont. Were penises sculpted in the Haight? Definitely! But seems they’re just inserted here to add period color. Was there even a police coverup? Who knows. One debunking site even noted that the Rothko show a character attends at the Guggenheim did happen — but in 1978. Fuck this show.

    (I’ll prolly watch again. I’ll let you know.)

    • flanny says:

      I watched the pilot back before it got picked up and I couldn’t get through it. But things being ham-fisted about history are literally my least favorite things on earth. I thought maybe I would give episode two a shot, like maybe they’d mellowed out just a little since the pilot. But within the first minute one of the ladies was like, “I couldn’t talk to my husband about b-b-b-b-birth controOoOoOl.” And I was like, “I’m out.”

  10. FRQ says:

    I’m currently in the waiting room at a car wash, reading a local magazine. It features an up and coming actress from the area, so I started reading the article to see what she’s been in. Apparently her claim to fame is playing Lizzy Caplan’s daughter on Masters of Sex. Which, naturally, made me think “Holy shit, Lizzy Caplan is old enough to have an adult daughter?!” Jesus, how ancient am I?

Comments are closed.