Tuesday TV Talk

 

I assume that everyone is anxiously watching to see if our country is going to be a pile of flames in two months tops (which SNL correctly envisioned a few years back)

 

But for those wanting to distract themselves, let’s talk TV!

Honestly, my TV watching was limited this week because I was up in the Portland mountains with no reception (sob).

This Is Us continues to charm although sometimes I feel like they try too hard to be over the top but sentimental. I wasn’t crazy about the grown-up Randall storyline this week. Kevin continues to be a puppy I want to hug.

Eyewitness has started to bore me a little with the whole drugs/gang/evil FBI thing but hopefully that will pick up eventually. Philip’s coming out scenes were heartfelt but not over the top (and I still think there’s something creepy going on with the husband). Despite all of Lukas’s terrible choices, I can’t help but feel for him as he’s dealing with the whole burgeoning sexuality issue on top of recently witnessing a multiple homicide. I don’t really blame him for not having his crap together.

I really love Crazy Ex-Girlfriend but I need Rebecca to get her shit together soon. She has so little self-awareness it’s hard to understand how she gets through a day. I also wasn’t crazy about the whole airport trope but with the cliffhanger, I’m giving them credit that they’ll subvert the trope next week. I always liked Greg and Rebecca better than Josh but I think both of them need to work on themselves for a while before they have any chance of having anything resembling a successful relationship.

Aside from that, I’ve restarted watching Misfits on Hulu and I forgot how amazing this show is.

One last thing, I’ve made the decision that Truckasaurus is the official winner of the cancellation pool. Congratulations Truck for correctly intuiting which show would be the worst! Email me your contact info for your prize at kemathys@gmail.com.

About cassmasterflash

I do a terrible job pretending to be a grown-up. You can usually find me watching Teen Wolf or Hollyoaks with my cat while looking at pictures of One Direction on Tumblr. I'm not nearly as funny as I think I am.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I did it! I won the pool! Wow! I hope this lucky day continues all night!!!!

  2. martinmegz says:

    I’m more into my Justified re-watch than anything new airing right now.

    But I have a shameful secret to share with you, my friends. I’ve been watching Joey Tribbiani’s new show, Man with a Plan. It’s not necessarily funny, per se, but it’s certainly watchable while I’m doing dishes or painting my nails. I can’t articulate why this show is okay but Kevin Can Wait is a total garbage hole. The plot is almost identical: men who have to take on more duties around the house. Yet somehow Kevin Can Wait makes me want to stop watching television while Man with a Plan is fine.

  3. hotspur says:

    I had the TV on for five hours last night while I tried to decipher the many props I am supposed to vote on as a citizen of California. It sucks. Even the ones I like, I don’t want to vote for. For example, there’s one to build housing for the homeless. That is great. I love that. BUT: it stipulates not only will the city build a ton of housing, they will also be empowered to eminent-domain the hell out of any existing building they like for the purpose. That means I might be voting to make people homeless. So, seriously, you assholes, why’d you tack on that massive power move at the end? Why you make it so hard??

    Anyway, as I toiled away in the salt mines of democracy, I rewatched the great Gosford Park (viewing #4; it gets better every time), progressed another episode down Season 3 of Silicon Valley (I am getting a little tired of how Richard screws himself every time through the magic of Asbergers, but Guilefoyl and Erlich Bachmann remain endlessly watchable), and then tried out Mr. Holmes, where Ian McKellen plays an aging Sherlock. I thought Mr Holmes was near-great, a very interesting take on the character, and as we have many Sherlock fans here, I wonder what you guys thought of this movie (if you’ve seen it).

  4. flanny says:

    Guys, I feel like I watch TV a lot but I literally can’t think of a thing I actually WATCH. Yesterday I did watch an episode of Antiques Roadshow, and it was very good. It was a compilation show of items of with Asian Pacific heritage. Very good show.

  5. nastyemu says:

    For new shows I have really enjoyed Atlanta and Better Things. Westworld is very nice to look at, but holy crap I couldn’t care less about people being mean to robots or corporate espionage. I’m prepared to be really disappointed when they get around to answering questions.

    • FRQ says:

      I don’t remember if it was you or someone else, but a while ago someone said he enjoyed Westworld, but couldn’t tell whether or not it was any good. I still hold that opinion.

      • nastyemu says:

        Yeah, that was me. I still feel that way, too. Additionally, I enjoy hearing other people’s theories about the show more than I enjoy watching it. I have no shortage of backhanded compliments for Westworld.

  6. Apparently I don’t know how to embed a video player

  7. Sota says:

    I watched a bunch of Superstore episodes last night because I needed something really mindless. I really don’t like that they are going to get Jonah and Amy together at some point. Ugh why is that necessary? Not every sitcom needs a Jim and Pam. And these two definitely aren’t anywhere that good.

    The Halloween ep of Modern Family I finally watched, and I loved when Cam ran as Batman they used the old batman theme song. That was fun.

  8. catweazle says:

    I haven’t been keeping up on my shows because of work craziness (still haven’t watched any TVD, sorry guys!). Mostly I have been rewatching Elementary. I know it’s a show about murder and addiction and all kinds of gloomy stuff but I find Lucy Liu and Jonny Lee Miller’s voices very soothing so it helps me de-stress.

  9. FRQ says:

    The only shows I’m caught up on are Last Week Tonight and Star Wars Rebels, both of which have continued to be excellent. I’m one episode behind on Westworld, but I don’t feel like I’ve missed a lot. New Girl and B99 have been on hiatus because of the World Series (and I’m assuming the election), but I have been okay with this, as I’ve been busy with grown up crap and I don’t have to worry about catching up.

  10. I binged The Crown on Netflix this weekend, and it was GREAT if you like stodgy period dramas about royalty, which, duh. They do a pretty good job of not portraying anyone too sympathetically, and obviously it’s all very dramatic and soap opera-y. I want more.

  11. martinmegz says:

    I’m so keyed up about this election that all I can do is mess around in Canva. That’s how this came to be.

  12. Erika says:

    I’ve recently bingewatched Stranger Things and the Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt and am working on the second season of Difficult People. I’m also really enjoying Lucifer, even though it’s breaking my new trend of mostly watching made-for-Internet shows.

    • Erika says:

      I also just realized that my boyfriend and I have fallen two episodes behind on the Walking Dead, and I’m kind of okay with that.

Comments are closed.