How Was Your Weekend?

Mine is still going, because I took today off work. I had a nice visit with my brother and sister-in-law on Saturday for brunch, and spent Sunday being both s lazy as possible and trying to figure out how to handle the real life/internet balance in light of the current and continuing onslaught of terrible news.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My weekend was uneventful except that my kid was a whiny asshole all weekend probably due to teeth which probably hurt a lot so I guess she’s allowed to be whiny but also I would like a couple extra days off. On the other hand, my team (Iowa) defeated Michigan, who was previously ranked #3 in the nation, in a really great game and it was really exciting and great!

    • Kate says:

      Do they still have baby motrin drops? I had good luck with that at bedtime when they were teething. During the day it was letting them chew on cold wet washcloths. Or putting them in the highchair with a couple of ice cubes to play with (for older babies). They love ice cubes for some reason.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Good call across the board – she’s 20 months so she can have tylenol or motrin, and we gave her both all weekend, but she was still just so whiny. She likes cold glass bottles (empty) but hard to trust her with one on the hardwood floors, so we had to improvise. The ice on the highchair is a great idea! Thanks!!

  2. Kate says:

    Took a ride to NYC on Saturday to visit with Kelly so that was nice. We went to a place called Beauty and Essex that had great food and colorful New York characters to watch. I’m starting to calm down a bit after last week, heartened by President Obama’s way of dealing with Trump–kill him with kindness. One way of influencing him. I love that he’s staying around to help out when Trump takes over. Amazing.

  3. old man fatima says:

    I had Friday off, so I booked an airbnb for the weekend. I wanted something way in the boonies, where I had never been before (we explored the area A LOT so basically everywhere I go reminds me of him??), with internet and near some good hiking. I think I’ve mentioned that the former Fatiman took the modem when he left… I’ve run out of podcasts and episodes of Rumpole, and I don’t want to get anything out of the library because his brother works there, so my plan was to download all sorts of stuff in the evenings and hike in the days.

    SADLY, most of the trails were closed for winter maintenance, and the internet was so slow that nothing would download! Also, the family who lived there were having a crisis with their daughter and it was super awkward so I just holed up in my room and watched terrible TV all weekend? The one bright spot is that I went for a drive and discovered this sweet little artsy fartsy town on the ocean and I had a grilled cheese sandwich there with apples and brie and almonds, and I found a cafe/bookstore/antique shop/chocolaterie and if dogs were allowed I would have just lived in that little shop forever.

    Also, my tenant no longer has a phone or internet, so every time I get a request for a viewing I have to drive 45 minutes to give her notice in person! This weekend I had 2 requests that I had to turn down because I was 3 hours away, and I got one today for tomorrow afternoon that I also had to turn down because I wouldn’t be able to go until after work and she needs 24 hours’ notice per the lease. WHO DOESN’T HAVE A PHONE IN 2016???

    • martinmegz says:

      Can you get her a phone just for this purpose? It might be cheaper than the time and gas spent getting there in person. Or set up some time frames to expect showings and try to book people in those slots?

    • Simon Spidermonk says:

      Very sorry to hear about this. I can’t wish enough unpleasant, painful things on this year. You stink, 2016!

      • old man fatima says:

        Thanks! This year started with a very bad hair decision (cut bangs and immediately regretted it), that should have been my cue to stay in bed until 2017.

  4. mikaelajm says:

    Hi, Monsters. I know I only comment here sporadically, and I got on a plane at 8am the morning after the election for an out-of-town conference, so I’ve missed the last few days of discussion. But I just wanted to let you know I’m thinking of all of you. My ice-cold heart warms a little at this place. Everyone here is so wonderful. I can’t believe this fucking nightmare is happening, but it helps to know there are sane, thoughtful, generous, engaged people who I haven’t even met but with whom I can discuss the horrors, share moments of humor, and plan the fights ahead.

    If you haven’t already seen this week’s SNL, this makes me cry a lot but is also a beautiful performance: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BG-_ZDrypec

    Theresa, happy belated birthday!!!! I hope you managed to enjoy it, you deserve it.

  5. catweazle says:

    Two of the four people who were supposed to come to my “Let’s watch Twilight and get hammered and forget about everything” party had to bail (for legit reasons so I can’t be mad!) so the three survivors decided to skip the movie and just get drunk and rant about things and then the night culminated in us casting a misery spell on my little sister’s ex-boyfriend (the one I sadly still work with) which involved chanting in Latin and burning a picture of him (we didn’t have any physical photographs because this is 2016 so I just drew an insulting caricature of him) and I am very proud to say that I didn’t burn my building down in the process. Don’t know if the spell worked yet but it sure was satisfying!

    I spent the vast majority of the rest of the weekend asleep but I did manage to leave my apartment to see Loving yesterday which was a good movie but not as good as I was expecting.

    • catweazle says:

      Oh also I got paid Friday so I sat down and made donations to all the appropriate charities/foundations/whatever and afterwards got an email from Chase Fraud Prevention questioning whether the charges were legit which I am choosing to view as a conspiracy rather than honest concern that my card was stolen. It’s not even the first time I’ve given to some of these places FFS!

    • old man fatima says:

      I’m very interested in this spell.

      • catweazle says:

        My friend was the one who looked it up so I don’t have a link but it was definitely called a “misery spell” and it required us to sit in a circle around a candle, have one person close their eyes and place the picture of the subject close to their face while the other two chanted a chunk of Latin three times, then use the candle the burn the picture and throw the ashes out the window (I have screens so we just took the ashes outside and dumped them in a planter).

        The Latin part was hard to do with a straight face because it started with “Deus Inferno” which sounds like basically fireball of shit, and ended with “Sic Fiat” which sounds like you’re complimenting somebody’s car.

  6. flanny says:

    I stayed off facebook and twitter all weekend and for social media only looked at instagram, so I saw a lot of beautiful pictures of sunsets with inspirational quotes under them. I also didn’t watch any broadcast tv, not even my beloved CBS Sunday Morning. I felt guilty because I want to be engaged and informed, but for the past month social media and television has only made me angry, and sure enough when I checked back in on the old fb feed this morning, my blood pressure went up twelve notches. How can I stay informed and not want to throw myself under bus? Genuine question!
    And when you give up social media it’s amazing the time you have! I wrote a little bit, but brainstormed even more. And I went shopping and made homemade applesauce and talked on the phone with my sister. But the best part was that on Sunday I sat around and read the Abby Wambach memoir and watched Ghostwriter on YouTube. Guys, guys, that show is still very good. It’s got everything: fun mysteries, a cool multi-culti crew of kids, Spike Lee, Vietnam vets, ghosts, writing. The first time Lenni sang a rap, though, I muted it because I can’t handle that shit. I can’t handle your weird, jazzy, tassle-coated style of rap, Lenni!

    • I’m struggling with the same issue. I want to stay engaged (and know it’s my responsibility), but I had a problem with obsessive social media-checking even before this tire fire of a year, and it’s gotten to a point where it’s actively preventing me from doing anything that might be useful because I’m glued to my laptop 24/7. I think I’m going to start limiting myself to two hours, at most, of internet a day, excluding responding to emails and personal messages. That way I can stay caught up with the news without drowning in it.

      • martinmegz says:

        Accidental downvote! I’m drinking in an airport bar plus my fingers are fat. Mea culpa.

      • hotspur says:

        Yeah, I’ve been giving hours of every day to compulsively reading news sites and Twitter since the conventions, and it only got worse the past 3 weeks. It has to stop. Reality is bad enough without me knowing about it, and there’s crap I need to get done in my actual life.

        I went to a friend’s birthday dinner last night and it was super fun until she started crying and shouting curses in the restaurant because another friend said he didn’t know what Pantsuit Nation was. I guess if the night couldn’t be 100% fun, at least it was interesting? Interesting is better than boring, right? You guys I am really dreading the future.

        • flanny says:

          True confession: the day before the election I was invited into Pantsuit Nation and I turned the invitiation down because I thought, “I cannot handle any more politics on my feed.” LITTLE DID I KNOW WHAT THE FUTURE WOULD BRING.

        • hotspur says:

          Do you own a pantsuit? Who owns one became part of the heated discussion that drew fearful stares in the restaurant.

        • flanny says:

          I don’t. I am a dresses or separates lady. I also don’t own anything white (except for a poorly-fitting Oxford I only wear under things), so I couldn’t wear white to the polls. Is that why Hillary lost? 😦

    • FRQ says:

      As I demonstrated in my comments below, it’s super hard avoiding the results of last Tuesday. Also, my experiment last week of unfollowing all my friends has yieled mixed results, too. While I don’t have to deal with waves of anger and bullshit, I am missing out on a bunch of life stuff, since FB is the only way I can keep track of what’s going on with people that I rarely see. I’ll probably give it another few days, then I’ll check in with a handful of friends to check the figurative temperature of my friends list.

  7. nastyemu says:

    We found an apartment! We didn’t expect to find or decide on something so quickly, but it feels really good to have that done already. Now we have to get rid of stuff because it’s about 500 sq ft smaller than where we are now. PURGE! Anyone need a kitchen table?

  8. martinmegz says:

    I had a great weekend, a really nice break after that shitty week. I came home for something called the Arizona Treasure Hunt. 75 teams of six drive around 300 sq miles solving riddles and clues and running through the desert with flashlights for five hours on a Saturday night. They release a list of hints for topics to know so I spend the month before the Hunt compiling research. My parents have been doing it since before I was born. We placed 8th but there was so much cheating this year that I think we were top 5 at least. Other teams would wait for us to solve a clue then follow us to the next site. It was infuriating!

    Yesterday I took my nephews to mini golf and that was great. Now I’m drinking at Sky Harbor waiting for my flight home. Right before I got here there was a suspicious bag so everything’s delayed now.

    • martinmegz says:

      There are 20 people waiting for a table at the airport bar so as I was leaving I told the crowd there’s more than 10 spots open at the communal table so they could sit there instead of waiting. And everyone just shrugged at me! And I have the nerve to be surprised that people are stupid. Why wait when you can start drinking right now in this moment?

  9. FRQ says:

    My weekend was a mixed bag. In terms of human interactions, it was good. The concert Friday night was very good, and my volunteering Saturday went well. Yesterday I had a very successful round of music practice, then went to a friend’s house for dinner. He had a bunch of Blue Apron meals and wasn’t able to eat them all before heading out of town for 2 months, so we helped him not waste the food. I probably ate more than I should have, but it was delicious.

    However, this goddamn election keeps poisoning everything. The concert I attended Friday was Tegan and Sara, who, if you’ve never heard of them, are very LGBT friendly. Clearly they had some stuff to say about last week. While I 100% support their stance, I was hoping to escape the horrid week with a night of fun music, but clearly that wasn’t going to happen. Then Saturday night, I decided to finally watch Zootopia now that it’s on Netflix. The movie was good, but the central themes of the film are standing against discrimination, bias, and fear mongering. It hit a little too close to home, and I had to follow that up with Star Wars to make me feel better. The icing on the cake came the next morning, when my dad sent my sister and I a text message basically letting us know that he wants to have “a talk” with us about the election next week, which of course is EXACTLY how I want to spend my Thanksgiving.

    John Oliver is right. 2016 is fucking trash and needs to die a horrible painful death after it releases us from its grip.

  10. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I mentioned last week that I was waiting around on Friday for a delivery, and that delivery never came. I spent 3-4 hours on the phone dealing with customer service, and never really received any resolution except for a discount that was so low it was insulting.

    Saturday, I went to a different store, ordered the exact same items for significantly less money, and promptly called the first store and canceled my entire order.

    I was actually pretty productive this weekend! Laundry, work, errands.

    We ate lots of pizza and had these for dessert with the Mediterranean take out we got one night…
    http://honestcooking.com/awwameh-arab-dessert-recipe/

  11. I had Friendsgiving Saturday, which was great. Somehow, though, on the way home my new gentleman friend and I got into a fight over nothing. So I ended up spending Saturday night in a 3-hour fight with a drunk dude who just kept telling me to go find someone else but then would get mad if I tried to leave. I am still a bit hurt by it, so I need to deal with that shit sometime soon.

    Sunday night was at least nice because I got to hang out with some girl friends and a puppy. So I’ll take that as a win.Plus tomorrow is Hamilton, so I have that going for me.

  12. Simon Spidermonk says:

    Today is the first day since your election that I’ve felt moments of… non-despair, I guess you could call them. Not quite happiness, but I have tofu vindaloo cooking in the slow cooker and it smells great and my apartment is warm and I’m listening to Leonard Cohen’s last album (*sob*) and for the moment I don’t feel like I’m stuck in a gravity well around a core of super-compressed dread. And I’m not even American! But this is a disaster for everyone. The fact that there are still climate change deniers is hard enough to believe… and now one of them is gonna be the most powerful man in the world? Give me a fucking break, there’s no way that can be true…. Really feels like we’re entering the Dark Ages here and I’m having a hard time seeing a Light Ages at the far end of the tunnel.

    But I’m often unnecessarily pessimistic so I’m hoping I’m wrong (even though I wasn’t wrong about this election, I had a very bad feeling from the start) and trying to find some solace in all the outrage and calls to action in your country. This has been a wake up call for everyone. Democracy isn’t safe anywhere. We all have to be vigilant and work to make the world a better, more tolerant, and safer place for everyone or this shit happens. There are strongmen and ignorant bullies everywhere, just waiting for the opportunity to reinstate the rule of might over right. We can’t let them.

    You have my sympathy, guys. I really feel for you. But we’re all in this together. You’re not alone in this fight.

    Also, this Leonard Cohen album is great.

  13. Sota says:

    My weekend was pretty nice. I went with my mom to visit our rural family members (including my 90 year old grandma). The signs for He who must not be named are numerous in the rural areas. I was surprised. Thankfully it was a wonderful blessing that not a single family member brought up the election and therefore I didn’t have to argue with anyone or leave the room to cry about it all. So thankful for that. Instead I did some great thrift shopping and had a nice time with my Grandma. Today was the new day at the new job. It went pretty well. Everyone was nice to me and I felt like I followed more of the things in meetings than expected. I don’t understand the acronyms but that’s okay. The one wierd thing, the women’s room has this strange table off to the side with like 30 old empty vases on it. It’s super unsettling. The tablecloth is branded with the company logo…so bizarre. Will report back. I took a photo…maybe if I edit out the logo I will share it with you all.

Comments are closed.