It’s Friday! Let’s…Dance?

As of this posting, I’m having internet issues and GIFs aren’t loading for me, so, insert the dance GIF of your choice here. It better be a good one!

Co-editor’s note: I don’t have that issue.  Enjoy!

What are your weekend plans? I’m going to a Friendsgiving party tomorrow, and then staying inside all day Sunday, when winter is supposed to finally make its first real appearance of the year.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to It’s Friday! Let’s…Dance?

  1. martinmegz says:

    First of all, thank you to our blog parents for your tireless work! Second, this post has reminded me of the Gabe and Kelly chats and now I really want to see more of these co-editor’s notes happening. I don’t know why, but it brings a modicum of joy into these dark times.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Speaking of Gabe and Kelly, this popped up in my Facebook memories. I’m 99.9% sure it came from Videogum…

  2. flanny says:

    I was supposed to go out for drinks at a brewery tonight, but because of injuries sustained to my face this week, I can’t drink except through a straw, so those plans have been canceled. I was really looking forward to getting drunk with this particular friend and maybe splitting a soft pretzel with her, so now I’m pretty bummed.

  3. Sota says:

    Yay friday! I have survived week 1 of the new gig. I finally got my computer today so I’m in the hell of setting passwords for 100 things.

    Last night I saw Fantastic Beasts. Anyone want to discuss?

    My weekend plans are to sleep, do freelance work ugggh…and bake cookies to bring to WA for thanksgiving next week.

  4. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I am going to relax this weekend and focus on destressing (thank you, everyone, for the tips!!!). Next week I only have to work Monday and then I’ll be going to see family!

  5. catweazle says:

    Tonight I plan to take myself to dinner and a movie (Moonlight) because this has been a rough week. Tomorrow I’m going to a get-together in honor of my brother-in-law getting his black belt in some kind of martial art which is mostly just an excuse for me to see the baby. Also the bar it’s happening at is near the only Jo-Ann Fabrics in the city so I’m going to go there afterwards and stock up on yarn for my knitting project and then going to see Doctor Strange at the movie theater across the street (I would like to apologize to my husband Chiwetel for waiting so long to see it). I have so many movies on my to-see list that two in one weekend seems necessary! Next on my list are Arrival and Nocturnal Animals.

    • artdorkgirl says:

      Doctor Strange is a delight, and both our husbands are lovely in it.

    • FRQ says:

      All of those movies are also on my watch list, plus I’m somewhat interested in Edge of Seventeen. I’ll probably use the Thanksgiving break to watch most of them, but by then, Moana will also be out, so it’ll just be a neverending stuggle.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        I definitely want to see Edge of Seventeen and Arrival. Nocturnal Animals looks very good, but also very depressing.

  6. artdorkgirl says:

    We’re going with friends to see “Fantastic Beasts” tonight, but I’ll have about an hour to kill before they meet me for dinner (we’re meeting closer to the museum so it doesn’t make sense for me to go all the way home and come all the way back) so I brought “Mort” by Terry Pratchett and I’m going to escape into the Discworld where things are funny and make sense. Not doing a darn thing the rest of the weekend though.

  7. FRQ says:

    I’m heading out of town for a wedding. Since the hotel and venue are in the ‘burbs (i.e. not much to do), we’ll probably take this opportunity to watch Fantastic Beasts with our downtime.

    Also, quick update on the online transaction where the buyer said he item was “smelly”: eBay ended up “ruling in favor of the buyer”, but said that I could appeal their decision and get my money back from the deal. I appealed, and in a matter of minutes, they agreed to my appeal and was refunded. It sucks that Whiny McWhinerson ended up getting his way, but I’m glad eBay is looking out for all of their customers, not just one group of them. I appreciate that, and will sell my shit through them as often as possible.

    • hotspur says:

      Anyway, smelly stuff you just put on a windowsill for a week and then it’s cured, usually.

    • catweazle says:

      Oh that reminds me I have an update on the noisy neighbors!

      Somebody from my building management company called to verify some details about my noise complaint yesterday and then they said they would follow up with the neighbors. This morning I got an email saying that the woman in charge of my property spoke to the neighbors and told them that I would be contacting the police if they made noise after hours and I was like “WAIT WHAT NOW?!?!?” because a) My complaint was not about noise late at night, it was about obscene amounts of noise at random times of day at least three days a week and b) I’m not going to call the fucking police on my neighbors because of loud music are you kidding me. So I sent a really scathing email to the woman who talked to them and was like “Yeah you should have run this by me first because now they’re going to think that a) loud music is ok as long as it’s during the day, and b) some crazy person in their building wants to call the cops on them so thanks for nothing!” and I was formulating a letter I was going to write the neighbors saying “Don’t worry guys I’m not calling the cops but please just keep it down” but then the lady got back to me and was like “Yeah the woman who emailed you this morning doesn’t know what she’s talking about, I didn’t say anything to them about the cops, the neighbors were very receptive and noise shouldn’t be an issue going forward” so at least it had a happy ending but for a minute there I had steam coming out of my ears!

      • hotspur says:

        That’s bananas. That drives me crazy, just hearing it. Oh man — at my previous job, there was this difficult dude I had to work with, but the company built in a layer so I never worked with him directly. We both “touched” the same projects, through a go-between, and he was forever overruling me on completely sensible points, which meant he was baking flaws into shit that would blow up down the line. But he outranked me by three tiers and he overruled me in a combination of ego + always being in a rush and not thinking things through. ALSO, because I was so unimportant but still had things to say, me talking to him only stressed him out.

        So I decided to use our go-between — this chick let’s say named Delandra. “Delandra, tell him this,” I said, and I gave her a carefully formulated sentence like, “He can completely ignore all my points if he wants, except two, which I’ve highlighted. Those affect other projects. Now, if he still wants to disregard those, just ask him to call me first, for a one-minute conversation, so I can let him know the relevant facts about those projects — one of which is also his.” The next day she came back and said, “He won’t be ignoring you anymore! I let him have it with both barrels, just like you said! I told him, hotspur said if you want to ignore him, you CALL him first, and show him some RESPECT! And you know what, he looked so shocked — SO shocked — problem solved, I’d say!” Oh man. Concerned, I then had to email that guy with, “Hey, seems there’s been a miscommunication…” and he wrote back something totally noncommittal so I had no idea what she really said or how he took it. But i DO know my career went nowhere.

  8. hotspur says:

    While we’re talking about gifs, I’m curious — I larded yesterday’s movie review with FOUR, two of which were really long/big. Did those load okay for you guys? The site crashed on me after my initial upload so I worried it was a mistake, but then when the post went live, they played okay for me… I will avoid huge gifs in the future, but in the meantime — did anyone have a problem with these?

    Over the weekend I plan to finish cleaning my kitchen, write more vampire book, and freak out that Thanksgiving is so close. That is not optimal. Also, inspired by FRQ and BBTS, I might watch a John Saxon movie.

  9. Kate says:

    So bad day here. I’m at the hospital with my mom and it looks like she’ll need open heart surgery 😦
    In other news, I’m getting me some lipitor.

  10. Erika says:

    My birthday’s on Thanksgiving this year, so I’m celebrating this weekend. I’m making fondue for dinner tonight, and tomorrow my boyfriend and I are going to a Hawaiian/Korean place for brunch and to a wine bar type place for dinner. I’m finally coming off a diet I’ve been on since September, so it’s going to be all about the food this weekend.

    • martinmegz says:

      Happy birthday! At some point this week you can make a gif request for your favorite topics/people/shows, that is the birthday tradition! I don’t know how old you are, but I still think 26 was the best age and that happens to fit this gif, so here you go.

Comments are closed.