How Was Your Weekend?

I’m home sick today, which pretty much says it all about how my weekend went (not great! Also, mucous-y). At least it coordinated with the weather, though, because it’s cold and snowy and windy as heck outside, and at least I’m cozy and warm and full of snot in my apartment.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. flanny says:

    Saturday was crazy snowy, so I took that as an excuse to literally never leave my apartment. It was great. I watched Apollo 13 and Quiz Show for some reason, and then ordered pizza. I also talked to my sister and we complained to each other about my mom’s voting, so that was good.

    Then on Sunday, my friend stopped by on her way back to Chicago and we caught up and then planned for our trip to Thailand in the spring. I don’t know if you guys know this, but Thailand is very beautiful. I can’t wait to see it for real.

  2. martinmegz says:

    I got a lot of sleep this weekend. Some would say too much sleep; I would say too much sleep. There was a flyer for an Indian restaurant on my door this morning when I left for work, and I thought, “Wow, were they roaming the halls in the middle of the night???” Then I remembered that I didn’t leave my apartment all weekend and it could have been there for two days. So, not a productive weekend — unless you count clearing out my DVR. If so, I was incredibly productive, because mama likes a clean DVR.

    • flanny says:

      When I left my apartment on Sunday I had to clean snow off my car and I was outraged that no one else needed to. “Why is MY car always the one with the snow on it???” And then I realized my neighbors had probably ventured out into the world on Saturday during the snow because they had lives and couldn’t just sit around watching 90s dramas with their cats, and I felt ashamed.

      • martinmegz says:

        I used overcast weather as an excuse not to leave home even though I could have gone out in a t-shirt and flip flops, so I don’t think you have anything to be ashamed of. How does anyone go outside while it’s snowing?!

  3. catweazle says:

    I saw Moonlight and Doctor Strange. Moonlight is just as amazing as everybody has been saying and you should all see it. I did not like Doctor Strange very much! Doctor Strange is an asshole who needs to leave Rachel McAdams alone and also he doesn’t deserve to have magic powers. Tilda Swinton was great but I needed a lot more information about her character and also Chiwetel’s character. He’s supposed to be Doctor Strange’s arch nemesis after this now right? All because they disagree about some of Tilda Swinton’s ethical choices? And because Tilda Swinton said once “Oh yeah Chiwetel is super into the rules”? Not a good enough reason! Also the dark realm or whatever the fuck it was called looked like if somebody caught Lisa Frank in an emo mood and asked her to draw microbes. Did it looks impressive in 3D? Because it looked very lame to me.

    Also I went to my bro-in-law’s black belt party and the baby was being so cute! He ate popcorn for the first time and loved it so much. His parents basically only feed him fruits and vegetables and nuts and beans so I was glad he got an opportunity to eat real food.

  4. hotspur says:

    HOORAY: Saturday I finished the kitchen cleanup — after ~9 hours of work spread over three weekends, it is finally usable as a kitchen! I celebrated by eating in there on Sunday. (Still no lightbulb, though.)

    HOORAY PARTLY: I wrote, though only 75 percent of my goal. Fine. I’m still so much faster than Donna Tartt.

    BOO: Sunday it rained for 10+ hours, and this morning I woke up to a buckled ceiling. Not leaking, but there’s a huge bulge about four feet long. Full of water. Which means the only thing stopping untold gallons from dumping onto my floor is a coat of latex paint. This is bad.

    I sent my building manager photos and he said he will get on it. We will see. His track record is not 100%.

    BOO #2: I dropped off some laundry this morning and was like, Why is the laundromat PACKED at 8:20 AM? And then I overheard a crazy lady announcing she had to dry her blanket, and I realized. These are all homeless people and a lot of them are tossing their muddy blankets and coats straight in the dryers. Holy shit you guys, I’m a little freaked out. I left my underwear in a den of filth and disease and the smells of a World War I trench.

    ADDENDUM: I would like there to be no homeless people so don’t take the above as a knock on them, but I don’t know how to round them up and make them sane and have houses. All I know how to do right now is think about how they are drying a muddy urine-soaked blanket without washing it first in the same dryer my underpants will then go in. I don’t feel good about any aspect of this.

  5. FRQ says:

    I was the plus one at a wedding this weekend, and it was pretty fun. I was especially impressed with the bride’s taste in music. I never thought I would hear Sharon Van Etten at a wedding that wasn’t my own. I had a late flight last night so in the afternoon I saw Fantastic Beasts. I thought it was fine. It was an enjoyable two hours but ultimately nothing memorable. I’m not a huge Harry Potter guy, so I’m not sure that took away from my experience.

  6. Kate says:

    My mom ended up with a double bypass on Saturday. She’s doing very well considering, but i had to convince her yesterday that yes, the surgery had already happened! She was skeptical.

  7. collin0truckasaurus says:

    This weekend my husband taught our daughter to say “Oh no, a ghost!” so that’s going to blow up in our face sooner or later.

  8. Sota says:

    My weekend was pretty good. Saturday I slept in, made a list, got groceries and spent the afternoon baking. I made these yummy peanut butter sandwich cookies we make in my house and a ridiculously huge amount of banana bread batter so I could do muffins and loaves. I set up the laptop on the counter so I could catch up on Modern Family and The Goldberg’s while I baked. Overall great. Sunday was pretty mellow, laundry,packing and errands/christmas shopping. I bought myself two new pairs of boots and a nice pair of pants for work so I won look like a slob at the new job. Wednesday I leave for seattle for turkey day with the BF and his family…hence the baking. Can’t show up empty-handed. I’m from the midwest…we always bring a fattening treat to every event.

  9. I did a bike ride/scavenger hunt on Saturday in the freezing cold and wind. It was for charity so I had to. Ended up being really fun, but I went to bed feeling chilled to the bone. Spent Sunday playing original Nintendo and snuggling, so that was pretty awesome. I wish my weekdays were as good as my weekends.

  10. Erika says:

    I had a good early birthday, which included a free slice of coconut cream pie and free chocolate caramels at the two restaurants we went to. Since there weren’t any enticing movies to see at the theater, we went home and watched The Thin Man, which made me realize my boyfriend’s and my dynamic is pretty similar to Nick and Nora, minus the almost constant drunkenness. I then did nothing on Sunday, which is good considering how busy I’ll be tomorrow and on Thursday. Costco was a madhouse yesterday despite my going at 2 pm on a Monday, so I’ve already gotten my fill of being annoyed by my fellow humans for this week.

Comments are closed.