How Was Your Weekend?

Sigh, back to work. I had a great holiday weekend, though, eating too much and hanging out with family and doing just enough around the house to not feel too lazy. My leftovers are already gone, though, which is is a tragedy.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. catweazle says:

    I am halfway through a five day weekend which is lovely. The highlight of the first half was when my nephew called me (meaning, my sister’s phone was on the changing table while she was changing his diaper and he somehow managed to swipe around on it in the right configuration). I felt honored to be the recipient of his very first phone call. Speaking of my nephew, have I ever mentioned that he is so cute! He is very into taking selfies right now and on Thanksgiving he was very excited to take one with me where he had his hands on his head. He is going to be a supermodel someday.

    Aside from nephew-related things I have mainly been lazing around and watching TV. I have been trying to watch the new Gilmore Girls but there’s something going on with my internet so I’ve only managed to get through the first two episodes so far. Stupid internet! So far I am very disappointed in Rory which is consistent with the last few seasons of the show. She better get her shit together in summer and fall!

    • martinmegz says:

      Can we do a discussion post on the revival after everyone watches it? I have so many questions. I don’t remember ever watching the original show, but I know the theme song by heart so I must have watched it a lot! Here’s a question that’s not a spoiler: In the original show, did they ever address whether Rory has a trust fund?

    • old man fatima says:

      See below, I was so angry at everyone! I feel like I need an episode just on Paul so I can be sure he’s doing alright. I hope he finds someone who remembers that he exists. I feel like maybe it should have ended with Rory getting arrested after someone found Paul’s body in the bathtub in that Brooklyn apt she abandoned. If she had a kid with him, do you think she’d even remember to feed it?? EVERYONE WAS TERRIBLE EXCEPT FOR THE PIG.

    • FRQ says:

      Thank you all for helping me determine the topic of the next Tuesday TV Talk.

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Somehow, a four day weekend still seemed too short.

    Mr. Costco and I went to separate family functions on Thanksgiving day, but we made dinner together in the evening. He’s been eating a vegetarian diet for almost a year, so he picked up a vegetarian “turkey” roast at Trader Joe’s. I am not a vegetarian, but I don’t eat poultry, so this worked out well for me too. It was really good, and tasted very much like turkey. Plus, side dishes are the best part of Thanksgiving, and we had lots of potatoes. We still have leftover pumpkin pie.

    Friday, I powered through, and watched all 6 hours of new Gilmore Girls episodes. I have mixed feelings about it, but I’ll save that discussion for TV Tuesday. I also felt sad that I was eating toast and drinking tea instead of eating pop tarts and drinking coffee, but my days of eating like a Gilmore Girl and not feeling like garbage are long gone.

    We also watched Kubo and the Two Strings (very good) and Divergent Series: Allegiant (very bad).

  3. old man fatima says:

    I packed all weekend, which was more emotionally exhausting than physically, but I think I’ll feel better in general once I’m in a new place! I also dropped some stuff off at the second hand store and while I was there I found a whole stash of super cute sweaters with fuzzy animals on them and you had better believe I am wearing one right now.

    Other than that, I went to a Gilmore Girls watching party. I never watched the show, so I was just in it for the snacks and company. I really need to know, though… were they always such awful people? They’re just horrible people! Maybe they’re trying to be edgy with the new series?? I thought everyone was supposed to be wholesome and clever. I was so angry about Paul (“Who?” lololololol THIS POOR MAN). It’s a good thing that there was basically an endless supply of chocolate and take out or I’d have left.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Lorelei and Rory are pretty awful throughout the entire series. I don’t think I noticed it when I watched it for the first time, but over the years, I’ve seen most episodes multiple times, and in those rewatches, they seem so much worse. They have redeeming moments here and there, but for the most part, they are selfish/childish/entitled, but the town and their boyfriends treat them like goddesses.

      • flanny says:

        I remember when I watched it as a teenager my mom complaining about how annoying Lorelei was, and I was shocked! But then when I started the rewatch a couple years ago I wanted to run her over with a bus (Lorelei, not my mom).

    • mikaelajm says:

      Yeah, the Paul gag was more “horrifying” than “cute.”

      They are more or less equally awful in the original show.

    • martinmegz says:

      I agree with your feelings on Paul and related story lines including other people being disrespected by significant others! It makes me very angry but I’m being vague to avoid spoilers!!!

      • old man fatima says:

        Ugh and Lorelai when she’s asked to tell a story about her father ARE YOU FUCKING KIDDING ME?? And when she’s being a jerk about the portrait??? I would never speak to her again if she were my child.

        • It also doesn’t help that Emily, the grandmother, became way less mean over the years while Lorelai and Rory got more annoying. Emily was SUPER mean in the early seasons, so you sympathized with Lorelai a lot more.

    • summerestherson says:

      Oh my gosh I have sooooo many things to say about GG, but if we’re doing a separate post/thread on TV Tuesday I’ll wait… But yeah, RORY IS THE WOOOOOOORST.

    • I think the thing that bugs me most is that Lorelai, at least, sometimes gets called out by the other characters when she’s being a jerk, but everyone still treats Rory like this perfect golden child even though she is VERY MUCH NOT and hasn’t been for a long time. And her actual characterization has been pretty consistent–she’s a very believable example of a spoiled former prodigy who can’t hack it in the real world–but everyone’s reactions to her make no sense. She’s not that pretty, guys. (JK Alexis Bledel, you really are so so pretty.)

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        Alexis Bledel is very pretty, but her acting is not so wonderful. The opening scene made me cringe, and her reading of the “I could have been a contender” line was off putting, although I’ve never seen the movie that quote is from, so maybe it was good.

        There’s other times where she’s good, so maybe it’s the director’s fault for not doing multiple takes on some of the less than stellar scenes?

        • flanny says:

          I thought Alexis had improved so much since the original run though! There was even one point where I consciously noticed that there was life in her eyes and I was delighted!

        • She was definitely a little rusty at the beginning. She’s kind of stopped acting, so I wonder if she even really wanted to be there, or just did it because everyone else signed on (and the money was probably good).

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          I read that Lauren and Alexis each got paid $750,000 for the Netflix episodes. I have no idea if that is accurate. I remember way back, both actresses said they were not interested in revisiting the show. But I’m glad they did. For all my criticism, I still enjoy the show and the revival overall.

  4. martinmegz says:

    I had a nice Thanksgiving and next-day brunch with friends, although I did have my first ever Thanksgiving fight! There was a woman who described herself as a “hardcore liberal” but whom I would describe as a full-on nut job. She called Obama a racist corporate shill who hasn’t done a single thing for this country and wants all Native Americans to die in the streets. She then proceeded to twist everything I said into her extremist nonsense way of thinking. Finally I got up and went to drink in the kitchen with my friend who was also pissed off. I’ve honestly never met someone I consider to be “too liberal” before, including hippies who wear patchouli.

    I ended up watching all of the Gilmore Girls while cleaning my apartment and burned through season 4 of Justified. I’m sad the weekend is over. Do you guys remember in Good Will Hunting when Ben tells Matt the best part of his day is showing up at his house and hoping he’ll be gone? That’s how I feel coming to work when I check for my boss’ car in his parking spot. Unfortunately today he’s here.

  5. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My long Thanksgiving weekend was really good! I was with my family and it was really fun watching my kid run around with her two cousins who are about the same age. They’re super best friends and she hugged them so many times. Also, I have now fulfilled my family/holiday travel obligations for the year which means at Christmas I’ll just have two weeks off from work and nothing to do but finish shopping, wrap presents, watch TV, and nap in the afternoon. I’m very very excited about that break!

  6. flanny says:

    Fun weekend! I went to Detroit on Saturday and dropped off the gifts for the girl I sponsored or whatever. That was nice. Then my friend and I went to the new contemporary art museum, which had an exhibit in its annex with Presidential paraphernalia. That was interesting but depressing. Then we grabbed coffee at a new hipster place and after that went to happy hour and fancy dinner. It gets dark out so early I thought we’d been there forever, but when we left it was just 7:15! Lame, darkness!
    Sunday I put up and decorated my tree, and the cat is a big fan! She likes to stand up and reach for the ornaments, so I was relieved when the thing was still standing when I woke up this morning.

  7. hotspur says:

    I watched all of season 6 of Game of Thrones so I am caught up now and yowza! Fun season! Although… horrible things would happen and I’d say, “Good. I’m fine with that. He/she deserves it,” and then I’d worry that means I am a horrible person. I mean, I am a horrible person, I know that, but I don’t want to worry about it. How unpleasant.

    I also considered buying a new couch because the old one is getting ratty (not literally; does not house rats afaik) but decided to hold off on major purchases until March when we know how the nuclear wars will affect the economy (see flanny’s comment re: presidents/depressing).

  8. artdorkgirl says:

    I had a nice long weekend, but I am not in the work vibe today. AT ALL. Putting on people clothes this morning was a struggle.

    We made Tgives dinner here and so we had plenty of leftovers that I’m now truly sick of. I watched the MST3k Turkey Day Marathon on Thursday and we did most of of shopping on Saturday. A new Sherlock still was released, but it’s pretty much what we’ve seen before, with Sherlock, dog, John, baby, and Mary. I have to take my happiness where I can get it, what with the real world and all.

  9. FRQ says:

    Overall my weekend was good. I got to see a lot of my niece, and ate things I really shouldn’t have, but did anyway and enjoyed it. I also did some reasonable Black Friday shopping and got some cool stuff (well, I think it’s cool, anyway). I did absolutely NONE of the movie watching I had hoped to do, but I did at least get through season 1 of Rick and Morty. The only real downside was that my sleep issues continued to plague me down there. I have a sleep doctor appointment next week, so hopefully he’ll have some insight as to what I can do (as opposed to the 400 other doctors I saw before)

Comments are closed.