So, How Was Your Day?

Ehhhh. I still have leftover pie from Thanksgiving, so I’ve got that going for me. Otherwise eh. The week after a holiday weekend is always just the worst.

I did realize that we all forgot to address something very important in our Gilmore Girls discussion yesterday: how freakishly youthful the actor who plays Christopher looked in the revival. What is that man’s secret??

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. Kate says:

    Update on my mom who had a double bypass last week. She’s doing very well considering. Started cardiac rehab today!

  2. FRQ says:

    Currently chillin in a stairwell, waiting out a tornado warning. There’s a sandwich waiting for me at my desk, which makes me very sad.

    • FRQ says:

      Update: Both the sandwich and I are fine.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Phew! Glad you’re okay! I work on the top floor and got a bunch of rolled eyes (from men in offices with windows, no less!) when I said we should all probably go downstairs at least or maybe just get away from the windows. I went down to the studios with a couple other people and even though a tornado didn’t hit us directly, I still think it was the right thing to do.

        • mikaelajm says:

          Glad you all are safe! I waited out the tornado warning in a bar after a lunch meeting at which we all agreed it would be safest to seek shelter at the bar down the street!

          Great Wednesday, one of the best!!!!

        • FRQ says:

          Glad you made it, too. I was reluctant as well, but the stairwell is only a few steps from my office, so I just dealt with it.

      • martinmegz says:

        I’m confused, do you all live in Kansas? Tornados are possibly the scariest natural disaster, the videos are terrifying.

      • Sota says:

        This reminds me of when Joey tried to save his sandwich from a gunshot. So glad you and the sandwich are both safe.

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    This was on the Today Show this morning. It is a bunch of people I’ve never heard of plus the guy from Sugar Ray and Lisa Loeb singing a Christmas song medley, and it was very awful…

    http://www.today.com/video/mark-mcgrath-band-of-merrymakers-perform-holiday-in-la-live-on-today-820892227863

    Also, Lisa Loeb has not aged at all. Are some of our celebrities actually robots?

  4. flanny says:

    All this week I’ve been interviewing candidates for a position that would be directly under me. THe last interview was this morning, and I think I’ve got a first choice and a back-up. But I’m giving myself the afternoon to feel comfortable with it and then I’ll start calling references tomorrow morning!
    This morning I started listening to a podcast about the Boston Strangler called Stranglers and it’s very good. Recommended.

  5. I am in a little bit of turmoil. The week before Thanksgiving I had a job interview that went HORRIBLY. I showed up and talked to the guy for literally 3 minutes and then he asked me which of their projects I was most interested in and I couldn’t remember any of the names and he ended the interview. It was honestly one of those experiences that you laugh away as like “welp, that happened”. Then over Thanksgiving, I get an email asking me to come in for another interview and meet the other members of the team. I went in yesterday, ended up meeting with just the one guy again and got the feeling that I might get an offer. On one hand, I do need a job and there are some aspects of the job that seem appealing but at the same time, he came off as such a jackass in the first interview that it’s hard to shake that first impression. So now I am internally debating whether I would take the job if offered or hold out for something else and it’s making me a little crazy.

    Why can’t I just win the lottery and not have to worry about these things?

  6. mikaelajm says:

    Omg, the guy who plays Christopher legit looks younger in the revival than he did in the original! It’s so creepy!! I’ve heard this referred to as “Paul Rudd syndrome.” (e.g. https://www.bustle.com/articles/20287-9-facts-that-prove-paul-rudd-has-found-the-fountain-of-youth)

  7. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My day has been okay…it has been very busy and I’m so so so tired. Gotta get to bed sooner! I had a blonde brownie just now and emailed my mom for her blonde brownie recipe so I’m going to make that sooner or later and that will be delicious!

  8. martinmegz says:

    I’m sick today and oddly enough I’m at the doctor but not for the sickness, I’m here to get a flu shot and my annual physical. I can’t wait to get back to my couch.

    I can’t stomach listening to NPR these days because all news is bad now, so I’ve been listening to Cary Elwes’ audiobook in the car. It’s about the making of The Princess Bride. I don’t really care that much about the movie, but his voice is so soothing, and he does impressions, and he’s so clearly a nice guy. It’s really helping me relax.

    • martinmegz says:

      They’re making me get a tetanus shot!!! I finally understand how anti-vaxers feel! Just kidding but really I don’t want my arm to hurt all week. I don’t play with rusty metal ever, I swear.

  9. old man fatima says:

    This was maybe the worst day of my entire life. I moved to the new place this morning, which was quick and painless, and then went back to the old one to clean and get the last carload together. (I hired movers for the first time in my life and I RECOMMEND IT.) By the time I packed and cleared out the garbage and did the bathroom I was so tired and I still had to clean the oven and the fridge and wash the floors and I was getting angrier and angrier at the fact that this was somehow only my responsibility. I texted Fatiman and told him that he needed to come over and help me clean because this was both of our responsibility and not just mine, and he replied that he was too busy and he’s sure I’ll do a good job. I said “No, I am telling you that I need your help to do this because we are both responsible for it. I don’t care that I’ll do a good job.” No reply. THEN I texted my subletter to let him know that I’m at the place cleaning and he can come by any time to get the keys, and he replied “Why don’t you let me know when you think the place is clean enough, and I’ll come by to inspect. If I agree with you, then I will accept the keys.” WHAT. Anyway, I finally finished and he came over and literally did a glove test and found some dust on a baseboard and refused to take possession until I scrubbed the walls and washed the floors again. He’s a lawyer and he started on about how I’m technically his landlord since he has a sublet agreement with me and as the landlord I’m required to meet certain requirements and they aren’t being met, etc etc. I told him the place was clean enough for any reasonable person and he found a little spatter of something behind the stove, literally a doplet of grease or whatever, and said he wasn’t going to move into a place that had “food on the walls.” He said that if he took possession now he would have to clean for at least 9-10 more hours before he would be comfortable moving in, so I said ok then I guess that’s what you have to do, and he said oh so you are agreeing with me that this apartment needs at least 9-10 more hours of cleaning before it’s acceptable to live in? Finally, I agreed to scrub the walls and rewash the floors just to get him to shut up and take the fucking keys. He watched the whole time, and when I got out the mop for the floors, he said no the mop isn’t good enough AND HE MADE ME GET DOWN ON MY HANDS AND KNEES AND WASH IT BY FUCKING HAND. Now I’m finally at the new place and I have the worst headache and I don’t know where I packed my tylenol and I just realized that I haven’t eaten anything today and all I want is to go to bed but my bed isn’t put together yet and all the bedding is packed away so maybe I’ll just jump off a bridge instead?????

    • flanny says:

      WHAT. A. DICK!!!!!!

    • martinmegz says:

      This sucks. I hope there’s a fat security deposit coming your way when the lease is up, and that you will keep all of it because that jerk doesn’t deserve a penny. Also your subletter sounds like a piece of work, be sure to make him sign documents all the time because he seems like the type to sue over nothing.

      • old man fatima says:

        I already gave Fatiman his half of the deposit as soon as I got it from the subletter, because he was being a dick and I just didn’t want to deal with him anymore. Otherwise I would have just hired cleaners and taken it out of his half of the deposit.

    • UGH.

      But hey, if nothing else, you now have even more confirmation that you dodged a bullet re: the jerkward formerly known as Fatiman.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I’m so sorry that you had to do all of that by yourself. And the subletter sounds awful! Eat some good food and sleep on the couch if putting your bed together is just too much work after a hellish day.

    • nastyemu says:

      I was going to write about how unreasonable our new landlord is being but after reading what you’re dealing with I just want to say that I’m sorry for the shit you’re dealing with and I hope everything works out.

    • I have no words but WHAT A DOUCHE. I hope you are in bed with take-out on the way and you pup curled next to you.

    • Erika says:

      I gave you a thumb’s up, but that was a sympathy thumb’s up.

      One thing I always try to do when I move is have some junk food on hand at the new place so I can gorge and pass out.

    • mikaelajm says:

      Oh no, fatima, that is AWFUL. I am SO sorry. Jesus, what a parade of douchebags. Agree with Theresa re: BULLET DODGED.

    • FRQ says:

      This year can eat shit and die.

  10. Commentatrix says:

    Hi guys, I’ve been so MIA for so long! Work has just been so busy, and I am not good at regulating my stress, so I get into this weird head space where everything feels like an emergency, and I can’t bring myself to ever take a break, including for food or restroom use, until I’m done with whatever task, which is crazy. The good news is that I stopped procrastinating on asking my doc about antidepressants for ten years, and I started taking them, and I can’t prove it, but I think they might actually be helping with my “everything is overwhelming” feelings? It’s only been two weeks, but I’m letting myself feel optimistic about this experiment. I’m still a personal mess, don’t get me wrong, my hamper full of clean laundry is still sitting in my car and coming to work with me four whole days after laundry day, but I feel like I’m on my way to become amazing any day now. DRUGS AMIRITE?

    Today was chill. I had ice cream. I’m going to the gym soon for the first time in two weeks, which will suuuuuuuuck.

  11. flanny says:

    I just also want to brag real quick that Kellogg’s is headquarted about five miles where I am currently sitting in my bedroom. Thank you, Michigan, for not being a horrible national embarassment FOR ONCE. (I’m sure as soon as I post this comment, Kellogg’s is probably going to reveal a redesign of Tony the Tiger where his stripes make a swastika because I can’t feel proud of anything without it falling apart on me immediately.)

Comments are closed.