Tuesday TV Talk

Like many people with premium cable (or significant others that have their parents’ HBO Go password), I watched the final episode of the season for Westworld.  Now that I have had a chance to view the season as a whole, I feel that it was pretty satisfying, despite the absurd Maeve story and abundance of terrible acting.  Apparently we won’t get season 2 until “2018”, meaning we could be waiting between 13 and 24 months.  Fine by me.  Take whatever time you need to write it well.  There are 50,000 other shows I can watch until then.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. catweazle says:

    I just caught up on New Girl and I cannot tell you how much I hate this whole Robby storyline. Why do they even keep bringing him back? He is not a good character! And Jess would NEVER! It’s also getting tedious to have Nick nominally be in a relationship with Reagan but they apparently can’t get Megan Fox back so she’s just never around. I get they need to draw things out before getting Nick and Jess back together but there are better ways to do it!

    • flanny says:

      I’ve been rewatching New Girl and it’s always a delight. Also yesterday I was watching the news and they were talking about the Oakland fire and they interviewed a guy named Nick Miller! It was definitely inappropriate how much joy that brought me.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      The Robby storyline really bothers me too! Does no one remember he dated Cece first???

  2. martinmegz says:

    I gave up on Westworld immediately and have no regrets, but I’m happy for those who enjoyed it. For the people saying they don’t like the show but enjoy watching it, what’s your take after the finale?

    Regarding yesterday’s discussion of “single at Christmas” movies, I found about a million of them in the On-Demand folders for Lifetime, Freeform, and Hallmark. Yesterday I watched “Fir Crazy,” which follows the usual plot of a driven career woman who is mean to people and only after experiencing a professional setback she is able to find love and meaning in her life.

    Shooter is on tonight on USA! If you like action conspiracy dramas and/or Ryan Phillippe, this is the show for you (and me)! I also enjoyed the first season of Dirk Gently on BBC, even though I usually don’t like super-quirky stuff. Last week I watched the premiere of Incorporated, from exec producers Matt & Ben, which airs on SyFy and USA. I’ll give it more time but the first episode was nothing to get hyped about.

    Is anyone watching Timeless? I’ve grown to love it. I really like seeing history play out and there’s always some funny moments mixed in with the drama and action.

  3. nastyemu says:

    I still don’t think Westworld was very good.
    The whole Maeve story was frustrating and ultimately pointless. I don’t think they did a good job showing the transition from William to the Man in Black. Most of the big reveals/moments fell flat because they were predicted several episodes earlier or didn’t matter because of the mechanics of the show (Oh no they made that robot kill himself). Even at the end when the show is presumably trying to give the viewers some closure it’s impossible to not be skeptical because of it because everything that came before. How about some closure for Elsie and Other Hemsworth?

    • nastyemu says:

      That kind of sounds like I hated it, but I didn’t. I liked it better after the finale than I did before, but overall it was disappointing.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      That security guy was a Hemsworth???
      I kind of agree but I also liked the show although I’m not sure I can pinpoint why. I definitely agree that the stakes weren’t as high as you feel like they should be (a host dying means basically nothing) and I think the reveal of William/Man in Black would have been much more shocking if I hadn’t read the theory (and also spent a LOT of time in the finale trying to find the mole from young william’s face on the man in black…).
      I found most of the finale kind of slow, but then ending really set up the next season so well. My husband said “what if that Ford who got shot was a host???” afterward and now I’m really hoping that’s the case because that would be bonkers.
      I like the set up that Maeve is responding to programming and someone told her to do all that she’s doing – will be interesting to see who and why next season.
      Also, in general, I feel like if I knew which songs were playing on the player piano, it would be a clue into what’s going on or something.

      • nastyemu says:

        The “what if the Ford that got shot was a host” is totally possible and is basically everything I think is bad about the show. Most of the deaths being meaningless really reminded me of AHS: Coven, and I’m pretty sure that isn’t a comp HBO will be happy about.

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          Yeah and please don’t make me compare you to Walking Dead if you get into “are they really dead or just seem dead for now” territory!

        • Commentatrix says:

          Yeah, and in general my least favorite moments of this whole show were all the times (too many) when someone was like, “Aha! I got the upper hand against all odds!” and then later Ford or someone was like, “Just kidding, I only let you think you had it, but the upper hand was mine all along mwahahahaha!”

        • nastyemu says:

          Yep, they went full Frank Underwood with Ford.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      There were definitely some problems with Westworld, but overall I liked it. I tried to avoid reviews so I didn’t see theories ahead of time – except for the Man in Black/William reveal.

      Things I loved:
      – Felix, and his moment of wondering if he was a robot
      – That modern photo glithcing out Abernathy, the reveal of the photo later on, and how that played into the multiple timelines
      – Ford’s creepy house in the woods with his robot family
      – Radiohead and Nine Inch Nails covers using player pianos and string arrangements
      – Snake tattoo lady’s utter delight of modern guns
      – Actress who played Clementine has really mastered the “dead eye stare”
      – Beautiful cinematography, and great Western set pieces, landscapes, and wardrobe/styling

      Biggest problems:
      – Considering the constant surveillance, a lot of things were going unnoticed
      – I assume other Hemsworth is the other security guy who went looking for Elsie? Yeah, what happened to that guy?
      – Definitely could have shown a little more transition from “white hat” William to Man in Black.
      – Deaths of main characters have no impact when they can easily be brought back to life. Which is great for the actors who play robots, but who cares if Dolores gets stabbed in the stomach? She’ll be back.

      I’m definitely going to tune in for season 2. Interested to see where they go from here.

  4. flanny says:

    I was so sad to see Mah Jing go on Project Runway. He’s just such a sweet, earnest teddy bear of a man! I hope that he comes back in one of the final challenges as a helper to a designer.

    • martinmegz says:

      I’m holding a grudge against him from the premiere when he ripped materials out of the hands of another designer. For that reason, I’ve never seen him as a nice guy, but I’m willing to admit I could very well be wrong.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I just can’t believe he didn’t cry very much during elimination! He cried all the time!

      I don’t remember him snatching fabric from another contestant. He did seem pretty nice throughout. I don’t think he would have won, though, so I’m not too broken up about him leaving.

      I loved that scene in Mood with Swatch and Tim Gunn.

      Also, Project Runway Junior is coming back!!!

  5. old man fatima says:

    Am I the only one watching the Crown on Netflix? Or did everyone just watch it right when it came out? I’m about halfway through. Prince Phillip is not as racist as I need him to be, but I like it a lot!! I legit love that they got tall, thin, American John Lithgow to play short, fat, British Winston Churchill. He is so slouched and padded! I read that they had to use angles and oversized props to make him look smaller, like with the hobbits!

  6. Sota says:

    I haven’t watched anything. I’ve been meaning to reup my netflix for like 6 months and I haven’t done that yet either. Sometimes when I realize how little tv I’ve been watching lately it makes me really wonder who I am because it’s so unlike me.

Comments are closed.