So, How Was Your Day?

Mine was pretty good! I got a lot of work done and finished a great book (Georgette Heyer, where have you been all my life), and I’ve started drinking coffee again, so I’ve been in a GREAT mood all week.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. Sota says:

    It’s all I can do not to cry right now because I went on a “walking status” meeting with a coworker and I had no idea how far she wanted to walk or how fast and now I have terrible blisters on my heels and smallest toe. I really had no idea what I was getting into and clearly these boots aren’t worn in enough for this kind of adventure. It hurts so bad.

      • Sota says:

        Well now that I’m in quiet cubeville it’s nice to get away from the office for a walk…and so we could talk without everyone hearing. I was just thinking a leisurely walk…it was not. Other than the major blister on my left heel the meeting itself was wonderful. We are both relatively new…so we could commiserate/talk about the wierd table of empty vases in the bathroom. Wtf?

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Theresa, I hear you about the coffee! I hadn’t had any for a while, but recently brought it back into my life, and it makes me very happy.

    Today is not great because I’m not feeling well. The good news is that I’m 99% sure that my stomach troubles are stress related, so I can probably stop worrying about what foods are triggering my illness. The bad news is that I’m constantly stressed out or feeling anxious, and I’ve been trying to manage it by refocusing my thoughts, but I’m either going to need to start an anti-anxiety medication and/or become extremely disciplined with meditation.

    I’m very glad the sun is out today, although, I know it’s super cold out, and I have to leave the house to go grocery shopping and get gas in my car.

  3. hotspur says:

    I had to be at work at 7:30 to read a giant thing, so that was not optimal, but I got out of bed so easily even though it was pre-dawn that I feel like today is a Day of Achievement. I hope the glow lasts and I can spend some of it on my own stuff when I get home in 6 hours. (Oof.)

    For now, let me complain about when people type “read” into a sentence to tell you what they actually mean. Example: “We open on the exterior of a cozy (read: small) house.” I really hate this. It is so moronic and fake-intimate and garishly pseudo everything, and if you ever do it, I’m sorry, but our friendship is over, because if you don’t have the instinct to hate it, I know I will never 100 percent respect you. #truth

    • flanny says:

      What about “AKA”?

      • hotspur says:

        “AKA” makes sense when discussing a criminal mastermind’s alias. Is that what we are talking about, or did you have an imbroglio in mind? If I ever used the term in my own crap, however, I’d spell it out, unless it was a tweet, because there is no need to save the kind of time you can save by abbreviating it.

        In other news, since my last comment, I discovered one of the writers here has actually written this into a script, and it made me angry and sad and puzzled by the state of the world: “Overcome by the feels, she gives them all a hug.” This made me want to spit out a tooth, wipe my own blood on my sleeve, and charge to my doom.

        I might not still have the Aura of Achievement come 6 p.m.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      or just say what you mean!

  4. flanny says:

    Ugg, I had a comment written and then I accidentally closed the tab!

    Anyway, I extended job offers to three people this week, and each of them turned me down. Either because they’d found their “dream job” closer to home, or because they’re making more money than God at their current positions. But I’m fighting a cold and slept really poorly Monday night, so I was not in a place to hear so many rejections in such a short period of time.

    Basically now I’m just waiting for Christmas break when I can not think about hiring new people for a while.

    • flanny says:

      Update: out of nowhere, the dean emailed me to ask if I wanted to talk to an alum about the positions, and I just did and she’s amazing! It was really informal, but I’m going to see if my boss would be available to meet up with her next week for a formal interview!

    • martinmegz says:

      That’s frustrating. Does your school list salary ranges on job applications?

      • flanny says:

        NOOOOOOPE. That’s part of the issue.

        • martinmegz says:

          Ah, yes. I wonder why places do this? I don’t think I’ve ever bothered applying for jobs that don’t list a range. Let us know if you need some references so these people can be aware of how great it would be to work for you.

        • flanny says:

          I think it’s pretty common in higher ed, sadly. Thinking back on when I was applying to places, they’d either not list a salary or give you a salary grade which was coded and specific to the institution.
          This is the type of boss I’m planning on being:

        • martinmegz says:

          Well I was looking at SpaceX jobs earlier and there was one I might be qualified for, but it has no salary listed, either, so I have no idea if it’s worth the time to apply.

        • hotspur says:

          Seriously, if places don’t want to tell you the salary up front, they should at least imply it in the posting. Say, like, include a link to Pinterest pages of the kind of apartment you’ll be able to afford, the range of cars you might be driving two years from now. Or maybe say “All interviewees will get a $5 coupon to Ikea” OR “a $5 coupon to Design Within Reach.” You know? We’d pick up what you’re putting down, potential employer.

  5. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    This story popped up on my Facebook news. It basically confirms my theory that Jess and Logan benchpressed each other between takes for the Gilmore Girls revival to get in such good shape…

  6. martinmegz says:

    I’ve only been at work for 80 minutes and this day is already a trial! Ugh! Gotta go clean up the coffee I spilled all over the kitchen because I forgot to take out the center tube thing. See you guys later.

  7. catweazle says:

    It’s the last day of my weekend and also DAY THREE of construction noise from upstairs. May I remind you that the email from my building manager said there would be minor repairs happening during business hours on Monday only. Instead, it’s been three days and counting of what sounds like they’re redoing the entire fucking apartment from 7AM to 7PM. All I wanted during this time off was to laze around at home playing videogames and putting up Christmas decorations in peace! So I’m going to be asking very nicely that my rent be reduced for this month.

  8. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I chipped or cracked or broke a tooth last friday and it doesn’t really hurt so my appointment to get it fixed isn’t until tomorrow and every day I’m more and more anxious I’m going to bite down on something and break it for REAL to where it REALLY hurts! But it’s almost dentist time so I can get it fixed! Come on tooth, be cool for 24 more hours!!!
    I’m trying a new policy at work with things that annoy me in order to combat stress: the IDGAF method (related: I currently subscribe to CTFD method of parenting and it’s been working great!). Basically, instead of arguing and fighting over stuff I know I’m going to have to do anyway, just say “will do.” and move on. I’m getting paid either way. Remember that magnet & tshirt from the 90s: never try to argue with a pig; it wastes your time and annoys the pig. I’m going to try to remember that when I want to argue with people unnecessarily.

  9. FRQ says:

    As they say, not great Bob. Last night I used a CPAP machine for the first time, and it was awful. I tried it using it for an hour, couldn’t deal with it, and went to bed without it. I woke up 3 hours later, tried it again for 15 minutes, and it was still terrible. I probably got another hour of sleep before I had to get up and go to the freakin’ dentist (to be fair, that actually went pretty well). I’m going to power nap when I get home, but tonight I will give it another shot. The technician said I had 30 days to try out different masks, so hopefully that will solve any issues if I don’t get used to it.

  10. actionjackson5 says:

    Cold here, but no longer wet, so bonus. I got final sign-off on a big project, so the client is happy, my boss is happy, and I am happy! Most of the teachers at the preschool have colds, so I’m bracing for our four-year-old to come home and give it all to us (he hardly every gets sick himself, the little spark plug).

Comments are closed.