It’s Project Club Time!

I did great this week! I ran all my errands, and my apartment is no longer a disaster zone, although, sadly, it’s already time to do laundry again.

My only project for this week is to enjoy the four-day weekend ahead, which I scheduled for absolutely no reason other than needing a break. It’s going to be glorious.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to It’s Project Club Time!

  1. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I have purchased all of my Christmas gifts (please don’t hate me!) but I still have to wrap and mail 4 of them. Hoping to get that done this weekend! Then I have to wrap a couple more that are local. BUT I still have to come up with a gift idea for myself for a friend who always just wants me to tell her what to get me – do you guys have people like this? It’s annoying, right? Like not only do I have to come up with sweet and thoughtful gifts in a certain price range for lots of other people, now I have to come up with one for myself? Nevermind, I’m just going to tell her to take me out for a manicure.
    I have to write a self-review for work. That’s pretty much the worst, right? Any tips when I just kind of want to write “I did really well again this year. Trust me.”

    • martinmegz says:

      In my family it’s standard to ask what people want for Christmas and I like that because then we get each person the perfect gifts. Plus I always love what I get because I picked it out! One year awhile back my mom sent me to the mall with her credit card to buy my own gifts. But I can’t imagine doing this with friends unless you have a well-established price range history.

    • catweazle says:

      My family has a beloved tradition of sending each other Amazon wish lists at the beginning of December. I tend to try to shop off the list because I pride myself on my superior gifting abilities but it’s nice to have a backup.

      This year we’re doing a donations to charity Christmas though so the only gifts I actually had to get were for my nephew (who obviously we are all still buying presents for) and then for the grab bag my dad’s side of the family does every year. I was a little worried about that one because I drew my uncle this year and had no idea what he might want but I went to the Christkindlmarket downtown last week and got him a hand-carved German cuckoo clock. I don’t know if he’ll use it but guess what, I bought it and now I’m done Christmas shopping! That’s a lie, I’ve only bought TWO things for my nephew so far and that’s not enough but buying things for the baby is one of my favorite activities so I’m not stressed about it.

    • catweazle says:

      Oh and yes writing self-reviews is the WORST. But I happen to know that my manager hates doing the reviews as much as I do so that takes a little of the pressure off.

      Is yours a thing where you just write a statement about yourself? Because that sounds terrible. I’ve only ever done ones where you have a bunch of categories you have to evaluate yourself on. If you really do just have to write an essay about yourself, I guess my advice would be to just talk about what your job duties are and give examples of how you did them well?

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        It’s totally open-ended – just has a character limit!
        In the past you had to give yourself a number (1-3!) for each of your “goals” which was the WORST because to me, 1 is below average, 2 is average, and 3 is above average so obviously I get 3s all around which I was later told was a big no-no. I’d take a number system with 1-5 or 1-10 over just totally open-ended. I think my manager hates these too as he typically writes very little for mine, but I still feel like these go to HR for the long run so any future promotions, raises, and issues will all take these things into account because our HR people actually know nothing about us and what we do.

        • hotspur says:

          I’d just give myself all 3s anyway, and if they disagree they can tell me where. Never admit to weakness in a job review!

          I enjoy comical self-aggrandizing in these stupid things; I have a history of ending self-evals with sentences like, “And that’s why this company should buy me a boat.” I don’t take them seriously, and the boss always seems amused.

          I also have a history of never being promoted, so keep that in mind.

        • Sota says:

          I agree. Always rank higher than you think. If you don’t say it about yourself no one will.

    • old man fatima says:

      Ugh, those are the worst! I just did mine. I gave myself top marks for everything, and the HR lady was like “I don’t want you to feel discouraged, but I see that you rated yourself 5/5 in everything and that’s really reserved for people who have been here a long time, and you’re doing great but you’re still pretty new…” but then we went through it and she only moved one of them. Everything else was 5/5. So eat it, people who’ve been here for a long time!

      • hotspur says:

        Congrats, but also, what the hell does being there a long time have to do with how good you are at your job??

        • old man fatima says:

          I mean, new people have a pretty steep learning curve ahead of them, while people who’ve been there for 25 years probably have mastered their tasks. But also, I’m new to the firm but not new to the job.

  2. catweazle says:

    I didn’t make any progress on knitting and the farther I fall into a guilt spiral over it the less likely I’m ever going to do it so I’m just not going to think about it.

    I decorated my apartment though! Last year I put up a lot of lights in my living room but my new couch completely blocks the outlet I was using for most of them so I really just have my tree and a couple of nutcrackers and a Christmas village, but I’m still proud of myself. Especially since I did it all with the horrible construction noise going on!

  3. martinmegz says:

    I’m six weeks into my gym commitment and I’ve gone four times every week except for last week because I was very sick. Going to the gym has become a part time job, between making sure I have clean gym clothes, packing them to take in the morning, washing my hair more, scheduling classes in advance because they book up, shaving my legs every day, finding parking, etc., it consumes so much of my energy. Trying to be healthy is the pits.

    Last week I finally finished the freelance piece I sat on way too long, and I got a really nice email from the foundation I wrote about telling me how much they liked it. Now I have to finish a difference freelance project that I’ve been sitting on too long so I can make some cash money. But tomorrow I’m heading to NY for a few days! I think it’s been at least five years since the last time I felt cold so I’m worried about how I’ll handle this weather. I had to buy a coat!

    • gnidrah says:

      Congrats on the gym commitment though, so many try and fail. I go about the same and it’s so hard to motivate, especially when it’s colder. Keep it up!

    • Sota says:

      Look at it as a fun cold adventure. So different from your normal life. Also…pro tip…if you relax your muscles instead of tightening up and shivering I think it makes it seem warmer. Or possibly that’s my illusion and I’m sticking to it.

  4. hotspur says:

    My ongoing project is getting my computer to work again at home. It’s been 6+ weeks since the desktop could connect to the intertubes (I’ve had to rely on the laptop; woe is me). So I spent 3 hours on the phone with Dell Support on Saturday, only to have them decide they had to mail me a disk to reinstall the OS. So last night I spent another 3 hours on the phone while we reinstalled the OS. But it was very slow at restoring my old files, so we agreed to end the call. The guy said, “When you wake up in the morning, there will be a window that just says Finish. Click Finish and reboot, and all should be well.” Except when I woke up it turned out the reinstall had locked up and made no progress for 7 hours. So I shut it all down and now it looks like there is a third 3-hour phone call looming. I am getting very sad about this, in combination with the ceiling leak two weeks ago. I had just cleaned my kitchen and felt pretty good about life…

    • nastyemu says:

      That sucks, man. That’s the kind of thing any decent computer repair shop would probably have sorted for you in one business day. It won’t be free like I hope Dell’s tech support is, but I’d pay a not insignificant amount of money to not be on the phone for three hours.

      • hotspur says:

        It is not free. I did it because I thought it would be faster than disconnecting the tower and driving it somewhere and then having to rush there to pick it up some night before closing time. But in the end this will have cost me $130 and 9 hours, so I may have made the wrong decision.

        In happier news, the support dude in India was enjoyable to talk to. We discussed Bollywood action movies, the zombie apocalypse, and how you get technology repaired in India (you mail it away for a month).

        • nastyemu says:

          You just reminded me to reinstall the Wakie app so I can have weird conversations with foreigners. Thanks for that!

  5. flanny says:

    If I remember correctly, my project was to prep for writing an PEN Faulkner award-winning novel in 2017. In the past week I did some brainstorming and thinking, and now I think I’ve got a little summary of what it’ll be about. This week I start to figure out some of the details, like who my characters are and maybe what the plot actually is.

    • hotspur says:

      Maybe we will be your characters! You can call it The Great Blogsby. Or maybe The Adventures of Hucklebloggy Finn.

      Pride and Blogsjudice? To Kill a Mockingblog.

      Murder on the Orient WordPress.

  6. nastyemu says:

    My projects are:
    1) Get the house ready for a party we’re having on Saturday that way more people than we expected are coming to.
    2) Keep getting rid of stuff we won’t have room for in the new place. If it doesn’t bring me joy it has to go. Even if it only brings me a little joy it still has to go, because we just won’t have the space for it.
    3) Find a job. Bleh.

  7. gnidrah says:

    My Portuguese language learning kit reckons I’m 50% fluent, which I would say for being almost entirely self-taught, is pretty darned good! So I am really pleased with my achievement this year. I have now decided to firm up my Greek, which, given my avatar, is pretty important. Next year I will get into it properly.

    Like emu I need to find another job, was doing really well in the hunt when I got two months freelance stuff to take me to Christmas and so I let it slide, I’m slightly dreading January in that respect, but I’m hoping I’m stronger than I realise.

Comments are closed.