So, How Was Your Day?

It was my first day of work back after a long weekend, so obviously I wasn’t in the best mood, but otherwise it was a perfectly fine, boring day.

Also: I don’t know if this is happening for everyone, but I’ve noticed that the up/down votes for comments have sporadically been not showing up. This is a WordPress issue; I checked and they’re enabled like they’re supposed to be. If it keeps up, I’ll send an email. WordPress in general has been very touchy for me lately, so they might be doing maintenance.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. martinmegz says:

    I was wondering what happened to all of my downvotes

  2. catweazle says:

    I am training people from the Montreal office again this week except I’m doing it from my own office. They don’t have a video conference room in their office so we have to do it as a conference call and so far every day it’s basically 90 minutes of me talking and being met with an icy Canadian wall of silence. They are also just being very difficult in general and driving me nuts. They interpret anything I do or say in the most negative way possible (for example, one of the people’s email address was misspelled in the group email chain my manager and I were using to communicate with them so he hadn’t gotten any of our messages; rather than asking us what was up once he realized he was missing emails he sent me and my manager a really rude email that said something like “Please spell my name right, it’s not Blah, it’s Blajh” and then told his manager that he thought we were deliberately trying to leave him out of the loop (seriously WTF)). Anyway, today’s training session is starting soon and I get to tell them all what a shitty job they did on the practice work I gave them so that should be fun.

    Also it is 10 degrees outside and the sidewalks are covered in ice so I’m about ready to burrow under the covers in my comfiest pajamas and not come out again until April.

    • martinmegz says:

      My goodness! This sounds very un-Canadian.

      • catweazle says:

        With the previous batch of Montreal people my manager and I kept telling them that they need to bug US people to give them stuff to do on the days that they’re working with us and they had their manager tell us that it felt too rude to do that. So they can be Canadian when it suits them! That was super obnoxious too because it just means that whenever they’re working with us I have to bug my coworkers on their behalf and act as a go-between, on top of doing my own work. Ugh!

  3. flanny says:

    A new trailer for Dunkirk (the Christopher Nolan film that is somewhat starring Harry Styles, my second-favorite member of One Direction) hit the internet today, and from it came this gif:

    Which means that I’ve spent a lot of time writing Titanic-based 1D fanfiction in my head.

    Also, it is snowing.

    • catweazle says:

      In middle school my friend once wrote self-insert Backstreet Boys fanfic that took place partially on the Titanic. It also featured everybody from our friend group. She very kindly wrote in the appropriate members of our group having romances with the appropriate Backstreet Boys and included a part just for me where I bludgeoned Leonardo DiCaprio to death with a toy boat. She is now a standup comedian.

  4. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    It is very cold, so that’s no fun. I have a lot of things to do that I keep putting off, but I made a few important phone calls, and hope to buckle down on some work projects this afternoon.

    I plan on making a pie and watching the series finale of Rectify later, so here’s hoping tonight will be good.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Just to be clear, when I say “making a pie,” I mean taking a pie out of the freezer and putting it in the oven.

      • martinmegz says:

        What kind of pie? Also, here’s a million-dollar idea: Single-size pies for single people. Don’t tell me to buy a slice of pie. I want a mini-pie.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          A blueberry pie 🙂

          I saw a mini frozen apple pie at the store! So, bummer that you won’t make a million dollars, but you will have mini pie!

          Or, you could just buy a whole pie (which probably costs the same as a single slice at any restaurant) and eat pie every night for as long as it keeps in the fridge.

        • hotspur says:

          For single people past age 30, a mini pie that calls the police if you’ve been dead for 24 hours, so they can get to you before your corpse is too horrific for words.

  5. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Yesterday I had a very bad day at work and I was ready to dismiss the events as my being too sensitive but then Mr. Truck found them both to be really big reasons to get serious about finding a new job. So we talked about a plan for that and so today I have this very calm attitude like nothing is wrong because I won’t be here much longer (once some other events transpire in the next few months). But…I’ve been trying to get ahead of the work because there’s a ton to do before I leave on Friday (and everyone else is gone next week too) and it’s been really stressful today.
    Anyway, on to the good news – the reason I have some time to figure out my job situation is because I’m having another baby in May so between not wanting to get a new job in like month 8 of my pregnancy and then being out for maternity leave, I can wait until I’m back to get serious about it. So, the baby stuff is super cool and we have a doctor’s appointment to find out the sex of the baby tomorrow! Related, I still have morning sickness even though I’m almost halfway through the pregnancy (woo, lucky me…apparently this happens sometimes), so if I’ve been complaining about not feeling well, that’s what I’ve been referring to. Also I’m crazy exhausted.

  6. nastyemu says:

    My current landlord (for another 7 days) is being annoying and not giving me some very basic info that I need in order to get reimbursed several thousand dollars by Femu’s company. It should literally take them 10 seconds to do it, but they’ve avoided me for the last week.

    • hotspur says:

      What is this? I am having the same issue. My landlord never answers even short Yes/No texts. Today I texted “Does the fire alarm in our bldg sound at the fire station too, or only in our bldg? My insurance co asked.” Obviously my renters insurance is cheaper if it sounds at the station, and I am sure he knows the answer. He will never reply. And I’m not a pest! I contact him about once every two years.

      • nastyemu says:

        They don’t know that I already know that the owner of my place isn’t going to rent it again. So I think they’re afraid that I’ll find that out and want them to give back the penalty I paid for breaking the lease early, since they aren’t marketing the apartment like they’re supposed to be. I totally don’t care about that though because Femu’s company is reimbursing us for all of it, assuming my landlord ever gives me what I need.

        Anyway, your next text should say that you borrowed a police scanner and you’re just going to set off the fire alarm and see anyone starts talking about it.

        • hotspur says:

          Credit where credit is due: He wrote back! Our alarms only sound in the building. So I asked a followup question (When is the ceiling guy coming to fix my ceiling) and he sent back a thumbs-up.

  7. artdorkgirl says:

    It’s all over but the grading!! Hooray!! I dick around on the internet again!!

  8. Sota says:

    I have so much I want to comment and tell you all and say, but it’s the end of the day and I’m tired and don’t feel like typing it all. So instead I’ll just say …heyyyyy. I miss you all.

Comments are closed.