It’s Friday! Let’s Dance!

I made my plans be known this morning, but aside from my cinematic excursion, I have a holiday party tomorrow evening, then brunch on Sunday.  I feel like such a basic B going to all these brunches, but I can’t turn down breakfast food.  I CAN’T.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to It’s Friday! Let’s Dance!

  1. catweazle says:

    I’m going to see a bunch of Drag Race queens (including Katya!!!!!) sing Christmas songs tonight. Tomorrow my glam class has our last show of the year. We’re playing a Gary Glitter Christmas song but my suggested alternate lyrics about Chris Hansen and being on the sex offender registry unfortunately were vetoed. Sunday I’m going to see Rogue One. The movie theater closest to me has been closed for the last year for renovations and they just reopened this week and are only screening Rogue One for now. I’m very excited to go back there! They have a bar now!

    • catweazle says:

      I just finished my last training session of the week and after this all I need to do for the next while is occasionally send and grade homework! No more 90 minutes sessions of me talking incessantly into what feels like a void!

    • I can’t believe how much they raised their prices, though! It looks fancy, but I always figured they stick to being discount.

      • catweazle says:

        Oh shit how much? I assumed they’d go up to Landmark-esque prices since they were becoming less janky but I will be very sad if it’s more than that 😦

        Really I actually prefer Landmark but I have to take a bus there and I can walk to the Davis.

  2. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Today is my last day of work in 2016! I had a huge deadline looming that I was going to have to spend all afternoon working on that got pushed to the middle of January, so now I have 2 tiny things to do and then I’m ready to party!
    This weekend we’re dropping the kid off at her grandparents to go out for a friend’s birthday, which should be very fun. Then sleeping in!!!!

  3. flanny says:

    It’s supposed to be absocrapply disgustoid out this weekend, but I haven’t got a single thing on the schedule. So the plan is to hit up the grocery store on my way from work and then literally never leave my apartment until my car check-up appointment on Monday morning.

  4. Thanks for making this post, FRQ! I forgot because I collapsed into bed at 8:00 last night. This weekend I’m going to hide inside from the snow and luxuriate with the new faux-chinchilla blanket my mom sent me. I really hope I have enough food in the fridge because I am NOT going anywhere.

  5. Tonight is my company holiday party and since I now work for a giant company it’s going to be fancy and at a museum. So I’ll be hanging near the mummies in my cocktail dress to see if they come alive after hours. Then tomorrow I’m having people over to eat cookies. Hurray!

    In other news, last night while I was at Rogue One another apartment in my building had a fire! Fortunately it didn’t spread, but the fire department did break my back door. I think they were making sure I wasn’t dead? So now my apartment stinks, but I’ll take that over losing all my stuff. Don’t mess with heaters, guys! And don’t dry your clothes on them!

  6. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Like Flanny and Theresa, I plan on staying inside all weekend because of the weather.

    Our office holiday lunch was today, so I got home a bit earlier than usual. I plan to cut my hair and either take a nap or watch Project Runway. Since I’m two episodes behind, Project Runway will likely be my activity of choice.

    I have some work projects to take care of, but other than that, I’m hoping to do nothing but relax since the next couple of weeks will be busy.

    • flanny says:

      I’m going to watch Project Runway while eating a frozen pizza! Twins!

      • martinmegz says:

        I’m also going to watch it tonight! But I usually hate the Finale Part 1 episode. The home visits are such a snooze.

        • flanny says:

          I usually do too, except that I’m right now watching them and i’ve been to the restaraunt that Erin takes Tim to! It’s like I’m best friends with Tim!!!!!

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          Did you guys know that I have met Tim Gunn, not once, but twice? He’s just as delightful in person as he is on tv!

        • martinmegz says:

          Oh my God Laurence! I assumed her still waters ran deep, but what a heartbreaking story. Speaking of stories, I need extensive details about both Tim Gunn encounters please.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          The first time, I was in Palm Springs visiting family, and we walked past this little book store, and he was doing a book signing there. I had bought some goofy trinkets for friends prior to this, and one of my friends was a Project Runway fan, so I asked him to sign some silly item, and he obliged. I wasn’t wearing anything even remotely fashionable, so that was slightly embarrassing, but oh well. Props to Mr. Costco and my family for waiting around to meet him since maybe only one person in our group besides me had any interest.

          A few years ago, he did a mall tour – another book signing, so my friend from work and I went to the mall, and waited in line FOREVER – we were some of the last people in line. But, he was all smiles and super nice even though this had been probably a pretty long day for him. He is exactly as he seems on tv. I think the deal was that you had to buy a certain dollar amount of Liz Claiborne clothes to get a copy of the book, so I did, and then I returned the clothes. We got a photo with him, and they printed out the picture and gave it to us in a frame – like we were at a high school dance or something. It was great!

  7. Sota says:

    I am currently on a bus home from work. We are supposed to get 10 inches of snow by tomorrow morning and then Sunday is supposed to be in the NEGATIVE TWENTIES. I know I’m completely a local when I thought this morning “oh it’s actually not that cold at the bus stop right now.” It was 11 degrees. So clearly my internal thermometer is crazy. Tonight I am supposed to go to a “gender reveal party” to find out if my friends kid is going to be a boy or a girl. Eyeroll. I’m sorry but I already have to go to a baby shower for this kid, why must there be so many parties for everything now? /end rant. But the snow might kill my plan to go. Also brunch tomorrow was cancelled. Basically I’m doing nothing all weekend. I need to maybe stop and get a pizza so I can be 100% lazy.

    • flanny says:

      Remember when Carrie in SaTC gets mad about how everyone gets to have showers/parties except for her? Why hasn’t that caught on?

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        One of my absolute favorite moments in all of television history is when Samantha throws a party for not having a baby.

        • Sota says:

          My favorite is when she makes that friend buy her shoes because of all the party gifts she bought. So true. Single ladies unite!

    • nastyemu says:

      I’ve been to three engagement parties for a friend that isn’t married. So yes, there are too many parties for things.

    • martinmegz says:

      Excuse me but I cannot condone a gender reveal party. They can put that nonsense on Facebook Live if they need attention so badly, but don’t expect people to put a whole night aside for that, especially in your weather. I’m realizing as I type this why my friend circle is so small. Next week I’ll share my feelings about babies being heavier than they look, so no, I don’t want to hold yours for more than five minutes.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        I feel like if you want to buy those gender reveal cupcakes or something and have a “party” with your parents or grandma, then that is fine. But a whole big shindig for that? That’s what a baby shower is for. I don’t want kids, but I LOVE buying stuff for my friends that do. But I would never want to go to a gender reveal party.

    • Sota says:

      Verdict: I attended the gender reveal party and the weather wasn’t even that bad and I had fun. So maybe I need to stop being such a grinch about everything.

  8. nastyemu says:

    This is our last weekend at our old place. We have people coming tomorrow morning to collect all the furniture we didn’t sell and can’t take with us so it can be donated. Movers come on Tuesday. It looks like the weather is going to cooperate. There’s really nothing left for us to do but it still feels really stressful. I can’t wait for the move to be over. Don’t move, it’s the worst.

Comments are closed.