How Was Your Weekend?

Mine was fine! It was too cold and I didn’t really do anything. And I slept until noon on Saturday, which I haven’t done in years, but I must have needed it because I woke feeling fantastic instead of with that awful, groggy feeling you get when you deliberately oversleep.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. flanny says:

    It was not nearly as gross outside as everyone predicted, but I’d already dedicated myself to being the laziest person on earth over the weekend and I wasn’t about to change my plans just because it wasn’t a terrifying world of ice outside. I had a very lazy couple of days. Not once did a pair of pants with a button or zipper fly find its way onto my body, and ditto for a bra. However, I DID make a pot roast and some brownies. Mostly, though, I hung out with the cat.

  2. Sota says:

    I attended the gender reveal party despite the snowstorm, and guess what…I had a wonderful time. Maybe I need to quit being such a grinch. Saturday I mostly did laundry and cleaning, the BF arrives for christmas on Sat. I ran some errands to get a few small gifts. Sunday it was freeze you to death level of cold, so I stayed home all day wrapped presents, watched Xmas movies and took a nap. It was glorious. Now I have a 4 day week and then I’m off work until after New Years. I can’t wait!!!

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    If I created a pro/con list of this weekend, the cons might outweigh the pros, BUT in an effort to be a less grumpy person, I’ll only mention the good stuff…

    – Homemade pizza for dinner on Saturday
    – Caught up on some shows
    – Finally started reading the Veronica Mars book that picks up where the movie left off
    – Used a personal day today, so it’s still the weekend!

  4. old man fatima says:

    I was supposed to go to a party, but the roads were horrible so I stayed in all weekend and watched one million hours of Netflix. I think my new roommate must think I’m such a slob! But uuugggghhhhhhh it’s gross out and I don’t want to start any projects because in a week I’ll be tackling the house and I don’t even want to think about that.

    • Sota says:

      You deserve some quality netflix time. Don’t feel bad about that. Take care of yourself with all you have going on.

      • old man fatima says:

        She came home with her boyfriend and I was in the exact spot she left me, only I had changed into a onesie and made a huge bowl of popcorn. Plus I was having a hardcore snuggle with all 3 dogs, so obv I wasn’t going anywhere!

  5. catweazle says:

    It was snowing like crazy after work on Friday but I had my Christmas Queens ticket already so I fought my way through the snow to attend. On my way from the train to the venue I had to walk across an entire city block of sheer ice and I had a perfectly cartoonish wipeout wherein I stepped on ice and my foot slipped and I just flew straight up and landed flat on my back. On more ice. I didn’t hurt myself luckily aside from my left arm being a bit banged up but it was not an enjoyable experience! But luckily the show itself was soooooooooo fun! Some of the performances were kind of shitty (did I really need to see Jiggly Caliente and Ginger Minj sing a song called “Xmas Ham”?) but others were a treat. Detox performed a song with her mom which was adorable, and Katya was very delightful. But the best part was when Ginger Minj and Detox lip-synched for their lives to “All I Want for Christmas Is You” with the help of two very enthusiastic audience members. It was basically the funniest shit I’ve ever seen in my life. By the end of the song both Ginger and Detox had removed all of their clothes except for their pantyhose. I don’t know how to do it justice.

    Saturday I had my glam show and we were kind of a mess but it was still fun. One of the groups we were playing with was made up of a bunch of people I’ve taken classes with before so I got to catch up with them which was nice.

    Yesterday I saw Rogue One and made cookies. Are we allowed to talk about Rogue One yet? I want to talk about Rogue One.

    • old man fatima says:

      I feel like if anyone was going to Say Anything me, the boombox would be playing All I Want for Christmas is You. Any other song and I’d really question how well they knew me.

    • FRQ says:

      Yeah let’s do it. I liked it, but I don’t know how some people are saying it was absolutely amazing. The biggest issues for me were the flat acting and the serious uncanny valley problems. I also couldn’t make out the conversation between Darth Vader and Director Krennic because I was too busy noticing how off Vader’s costume looked.

      • catweazle says:

        SPOILERS IN THIS COMMENT

        I had a bit of a hard time buying Felicity Jones as this hardened criminal. Partly because she just seems like an upper crust Brit and partly because I think the movie just had a couple of people say “That Jyn Erso really is an untrustworthy criminal, isn’t she!” but none of her actions were really in line with that. I could have done without the very Disney “I was traumatized by my mother being murdered in front of me” and “I didn’t give a shit about this revolution until my estranged dad told me I should care” parts. And I am very skeptical of the choice to have a “mystical Asian man with karate skills and magical powers maybe” in a movie that was otherwise very good on diversity. Though I did appreciate that (even though they couldn’t say it out loud because Disney) he did have a badass Asian boyfriend.

        Other than those things though I really liked it! Especially the end! Well no, I should rephrase because I had a moment of pure horror as fake Leia slowly turned around and I knew I was about to see a monster wearing the face of my old friend, but the end of the Scarif part. People calmly accepting their impending death always gets me!

        Other random thoughts:

        -Diego Luna love is forever fan love you even though I wanted more of your character’s backstory.
        -I was expecting Robot Alan Tudyk to be a LOT funnier. Much as it pains me to say something nice about Interstellar, I was expecting more of a TARS level of hilarity, especially given the track record of Star Wars robots.
        -This is something I don’t think I’ve ever said about a male human but for some reason every time Riz Ahmed was on screen I thought “He’s a cutie!”
        -I agree about Darth Vader’s costume. It was looking veryyyyy slightly expensive Halloween costume.
        -The whole movie I was wondering why Krennic seemed totally out of place and miscast and I finally realized that it’s because he didn’t speak with the silly fake British accent that all the other Imperial dudes have.
        -I am glad Lyra was not a more prominent character because I just got a tattoo of the constellation Lyra this year and I wouldn’t want people to think it was Star Wars related (not that I wouldn’t get a Star Wars tattoo but it would be something much better than that).
        -I am currently brainstorming ideas for a cocktail called a Gin Erso.

        • FRQ says:

          I think the most Disney moment in the movie during the final battle in space. The hammerhead rebel ship forces one star destroyer to collide with another, ending in an orgy of destruction, obliterating Scarif’s shield gate. All of this happens to what is possibly the most magical fairy dust song in the entire soundtrack.

        • hotspur says:

          I liked the ninja. The blind swordsman is a classic Japanese movie character, usually named Zatoichi — there’ve been like 50 Zatoichi movies, like he’s the James Bond of feudal Japan, so I thought it was pretty great to drop that character into Star Wars. Anyway, it was a smart move to swap out lightsabers for once, and Donnie Yen who plays him is legit excellent and has been in multiple classic Chinese martial arts movies over the past 25 years (probably most known in the US for Hero, but the one to see is Iron Monkey. I feel like I can guarantee to everyone alive that they will enjoy Iron Monkey).

        • catweazle says:

          I don’t know, with Asian representation in movies/TV being as dismal as it is it kind of sucks to see a huge franchise decide to make one of its first major Asian characters someone that reads as much like a stereotype as a “classic character.” It really did help that Baze was not a stereotype and it’s not that I don’t like seeing some badass martial arts, but something about it just felt disappointing to me.

        • hotspur says:

          I was psyched to see Donnie Yen — I didn’t know he was in the movie. And if he didn’t swing into martial arts mastery, it would have felt like Rogue One was wasting him. Meanwhile, if they had Allen Tudyk play the blind swordsman, someone would accuse them of whitewashing Zatoichi, ya know? My point is: I like pie.

      • hotspur says:

        I can understand why they CGI’ed certain actors, but Vader?? That made no sense. I’m hoping it looks better on a smaller screen.

        Technical issues aside, this was an uneven but ultimately rad Star Wars. The pacing is more like an old war movie pre-1977. While watching it, I didn’t like the way it wasn’t very Star Warsy — it sorta even drops the white hats vs black hats style of storytelling — but afterward I found myself really liking all the ways it totally changes how you see the Rebellion, and it actually makes the Empire MORE evil for once (like, in Ep I-III it accidentally comes across as if the Emperor has a legit point — this stupid Republic DOES need a good overthrow). But if you’re under 10, I don’t think this movie will change your life. It’s not even trying to? It’s for us grown-ups (age 12+) I think.

  6. artdorkgirl says:

    My semester is over! My grades are in! I’m sleeping the rest of the week! Benedict’s episode of the “Hollow Crown” was on last night and I have it recorded! Woohoo!!

  7. hotspur says:

    Overall, my weekend was a failure. I wrote some, but it all came out bad, and I got sick. Sore throatish, anyway, with dizziness. I took long naps to crush my germ enemies, but that backfired both nights when 3 a.m. rolled around I was still wide, wide awake. So I decided to clean areas of my apartment that really could use a firehose if you were at all serious about the job. I used papers towels instead (some damp). This put a lot of dust in the air, which means it put a lot of dust in my throat. Germs, no sleep, dust. The perfect storm. I’m taking on water, you guys, as we steam toward Christmas.

  8. martinmegz says:

    On Sunday I woke up at 6:30 am so I went down to the Venice Boardwalk, which was not a great idea. I hear that 20-30 years ago the boardwalk was totally crime-ridden, but it’s still pretty sketchy and apparently not very safe before all the tourists and vendors show up. I just wanted to take some photos but the homeless people were eying me and one guy who was clearly mentally ill started screaming about what I bitch I was and lunging at me, so I hightailed it out of there.

    Last night I started watching The OA and it is quite intriguing! I look forward to hearing if anyone else is watching it when we have our TV talk tomorrow.

  9. Sota says:

    I had some time and I never do during the day anymore with the new job, so right now everyone gets a gif. I even gave my own comment a gif. Its a gif-travaganza!

Comments are closed.