How Was Your Weekend?

2017 EDITION! I got a ton of stuff done these weekend–grocery shopping, laundry, exercise, cleaning, healthy-meal-planning. The January habit reset may be a cliche, but it’s working for me so far. I feel like a real person again after all the holiday overindulgence.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Yesterday, I made a calendar for myself of to-do list items, which I’m already kind of failing at, but I vow to succeed soon. It will just take a little getting used to. I also want to make a list of all the things I want to do – read more, exercise, eat less sugar, etc. – and try to do at least one or two items on the list each day.

    My weekend was 12 days long, but somehow, that still doesn’t seem long enough. I read a book, binge watched a show, did holiday stuff, and completed a whole bunch of tasks I didn’t want to do, but had to finish.

    Miraculously, I only gained one pound – despite eating an entire box of donut holes and a small box of Frango mints, plus a bunch of Mint Meltaways, and eating out a bunch while family was in town.

    New year’s Eve was spent at home. No complaints there.

  2. catweazle says:

    Well I stopped barfing and having a fever by Friday night but I was too exhausted/contagious for the next couple of days to do anything but watch TV and take down my Christmas decorations. Yesterday I left my apartment for the first time since Thursday afternoon to have lunch with my sister’s family and exchange a toy that baby got two of for Christmas. We spent a long time playing at the toy store and he became so obsessed with these two dollhouses that he didn’t even want to look at the train sets. His favorite thing to do was point to the toy TV in the house and then point to himself, because he has a TV (he is just now allowed to watch it a little for the first time in his life; but so far he only watches a Fleetwood Mac DVD because he has somehow become Fleetwood Mac’s number one fan even though neither of his parents are particularly big fans). Anyway obviously that was great but as soon as I got home I got a massive headache that was making it impossible to do anything but lie down with all the lights off so I ended up getting into bed at like 6:30PM and sleeping on and off until I had to leave for work this morning. And now the headache is back and somehow I am still tired. It’s too soon to give up completely, body!

    • flanny says:

      Fleetwood Mac baby is the best!

      • catweazle says:

        It was the cutest fucking thing; as baby was doing the TV! ME! thing for the hundredth time my sister was telling me about how he’ll go into his room and point at his boombox (which contains a Fleetwood Mac CD) and then run into the living room and point at the TV which means he wants to watch Fleetwood Mac. And as she was explaining this to me the baby’s eyes got huge and he nodded emphatically. I know him having a speech delay is stressful for his parents but his baby sign language/general nonverbal communication is the most adorable thing I have ever seen. On Christmas morning every time he opened a present he did the sign for “open” because he wanted to play with all his toys right away!

        Sorry I am talking so much about the baby but he is the one true bright spot in what is so far a miserable year.

        • flanny says:

          That story is literally too cute! And much appreciated since my niece and nephew greeted me at Christmas by pretending to take me prisoner and saying, “Aunt Flanny, obey me or die.” Fun!

  3. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I had such a good break that it’s really tough to be back at work. Thankfully, my boss is still out for the next couple of days. Last week Mr. Truck was also off and we dropped the kid off at daycare in the morning and spent the days together seeing movies, going out to lunch, running errands, etc. It was way too nice.

  4. hotspur says:

    Today’s the first day back at work since December 22, and it feels like I’ve been gone a month. Which is great. I was talking to a coworker who wished the break was shorter, because she “needs structure,” which means we are so different we should probably be enemies. But really, only the last 3 days were restful for me, on account of how before that, I endured gobs of structure: travel back East, feeling sick, and being wrung through the family holiday wringer, equaling days of visits and drives and children and dinners. I’d wake up and within half an hour have to talk to people and do things, and it would stay like that all day. I kept waiting for the moment where I’d get just six hours to myself, but that never came.

    LOW POINTS: being sick, obviously, but worse, I do feel bad in that I got too annoyed and told my dad there was no point to our political discussions since he ignores facts. He looked very bummed I said this, and I felt bad that I lost my cool (but also: his opinions are infuriating). And this happened: my mother said she liked the recent season of Game of Thrones, so I told her my favorite part was the Hodor origin story. She had no idea what I meant, forcing me to recount it — and I got emotional in doing so. Like, there was a hitch in my voice and I had to avert my eyes. WHAT THE HELL WAS THAT. It came out of nowhere. She still didn’t remember any Hodor stuff, and looked at me like I was from space.

    Fucking Hodor, man, that shit killed me.

    Happy New Year, all y’all.

    • FRQ says:

      My dad started talking about the election, to which I promptly replied “I’m here on vacation, I don’t want to talk about this.” He tried to goad me into a discussion by telling me there’s nothing wrong with a civil debate over opposing views. I wanted to tell him that his assertion was a farce as it never ends up being civil and his arguments boil down to damn liberal media/ and/or have lived longer than you and have seen more, but that would also bring about debate, so I just repeated my initial statement until he stopped. I did have an urge to let loose, but I didn’t want to ruin my holiday. Maybe next trip I will indulge.

    • Erika says:

      On the one hand, I like to think my dad would see Trump as a joke, but on the other hand I fear, were he alive, he also would’ve climbed aboard the Trump train. That said, his conservative news sources never got worse than the Wall Street Journal, so at least he wouldn’t have been telling me about the Democratic pizza pedophile ring.

      • hotspur says:

        We did not get into the pizza pedophile ring (phrasing) but my guess is that he would say, “That story is obviously crazy! It’s nonsense! [slight pause] But the fact that some people believe it really says a lot about how truly awful the Democrats are.”

    • Commentatrix says:

      Maybe your mom thought the recent season of Game of Thrones was, like, Season 3 or something. (I am stereotyping moms in this comment.)

  5. flanny says:

    I had to work yesterday (even though I think if I took it off no one would have batted an eye), so I’m going to limit myself to the actual weekend.

    I didn’t put a bra on once from Friday afternoon until Monday morning, and not for sexy reasons but for lazy reasons. That is literally the very best part of winter/having small boobs is that I can just throw on a heavy jacket and still basically be wearing my pajama top and then wander around in society and no one is the wiser.

    I promised myself that I would be awake at midnight on NYE and I even drank a coffee at, like, 5:00 with that in mind. But right around 11 I was like, “Well, maybe I’ll just read in bed until midnight.” And then I fell asleep somewhere around 11:40 and my cat woke me up about 12:10, so I literally JUST MISSED IT.

    Then on Sunday, my friend and I chatted on the phone and made all our reservations for our trip to Thailand in March. We’d already booked the international flights, but we booked the flights from Bangkok down to the beaches and up to Chaing Mai and our hotels. Our hotel in Chaing Mai looks like a dang palace!

    • catweazle says:

      I did not have a choice about staying up until midnight because my noisy downstairs neighbors had a huge party. So glad they’re taking that noise complaint seriously!

    • martinmegz says:

      Thailand sounds very exciting! According to the Leonardo DiCaprio movie “The Beach,” it is both a very stunning and very dangerous place! Don’t go to any remote islands being run by Tilda Swinton!

  6. martinmegz says:

    On Friday night I made a whole list of things to get done over the long weekend and I accomplished exactly one-half of those items (transferring my contacts into my new phone; I got to M and gave up, so people with names at the end of the alphabet will get “new phone who dis” texts).

    I did make it to the gym at 9:30 on New Year’s Day, which is an accomplishment. After that I went for a walk at the beach then sat on my couch for the rest of the day. I was going to get so much done last night but then the Bachelor premiere was on so I had to focus on drinking wine and watching that.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      So many thoughts and feelings about The Bachelor premiere! First off, somehow, by magic, I got Corinne on my fantasy team! Second, I think I like Shark girl more than I did when I watched the episode. Third, Liz. Liz, Liz, Liz. Jade, can you help her? I agree with Nick that maybe her intentions aren’t pure (aka not there for the “right reasons”) but her crazy eyes override that and I think maybe she’s been thinking about him for far too much of those 9 months. Also, can they please stop saying “9 months”??? It makes me think she carried his baby and delivered him and that’s the real twist!

      • martinmegz says:

        I think Nick is smarmy, manipulative, and fame-hungry but he’s also really funny and self-effacing and I think he’ll be a great bachelor. For sure no one intends for him to find love because they stacked the deck with women 10-13 years younger than him, but he’ll be a good ship captain on our journey to fake engagement. Corinne. My word. A grown up with a nanny, put that on the list of things I never thought I’d see. And Liz is straight up creeptown.

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          Yeah, Nick will be a fun bachelor to watch because he is a wild card. Ben H. was your classic bachelor who followed all the rules and his season was really boring as a result.

  7. nastyemu says:

    This was our first weekend in the new place and we got everything unpacked! Our last move was two years ago and there were several boxes that we never unpacked, so this feels like a pretty big accomplishment.
    The week of Christmas we tried to see as many friends and family as we could, and that was nice, aside from all the driving and sleeping in a different bed each night.
    For NYE we stayed in and made dinner and binged The Crown and it was wonderful.
    Now I’m sick, probably because my nephew sneezed directly in my eye.

Comments are closed.