So, How Was Your Day?

It was gloomy and wet all day, but otherwise mine was good! I had to stay late at work, but I didn’t mind for once because I got a lot done and it was very quiet. Then I came home and made a delicious veggie omelette for dinner, which reminded me that omelettes are good and healthy and easy as heck and I need to make them more often.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. catweazle says:

    I’m finally feeling better today! It’s a miracle! There was some major work drama this morning with a bunch of people being fired. For most of them it was for performance issues but my manager confidentially told me the reasoning behind one of the firings and it was BONKERS and would honestly probably be up there with some classic Ask a Manager posts and all I want in the world is to tell you all but I promised I wouldn’t say anything to anybody and I guess that includes internet people. It hurts me more than it hurts you.

    I also finally got confirmation that I’m going back to Montreal for work. They told me I probably would back in like November and they’re just now finalizing it, two weeks before I leave. I’ll be flying back home on a Thursday afternoon and then flying out to Salt Lake City the next morning to visit my brother and sister-in-law/go to Sundance so suffice it to say the second half of this month is going to be crazy. I get to pick my Sundance tickets on Friday and I really hope I get one for the new Jenny Slate movie directed by Obvious Child lady!

    • catweazle says:

      Oh also I started watching Yuri on Ice last night and it is exactly what I need right now.

      • Tumblr seems to love that show and I was thinking of adding it to my watchlist. Is it good?

        • catweazle says:

          It’s very fun so far! I love figure skating and am a sucker for stories of people achieving their dreams through sports/dancing competitions so it was not a hard sell for me. Anyway, there are only twelve 30-minute episodes so it’s not a huge time investment.

  2. flanny says:

    I have a new hire under me who will start on Monday, so today I’ve been getting things accomplished for her arrival. Her “new” desk arrived from storage today, and I moved in a couple of side chairs and a bookshelf into her office. Then this afternoon I created a user account for her in our database, Ugg, it’s all so boring but each boring thing I do means I’m one step closer to having her here and working, so it’s thrilling for me!
    Also, tomorrow is my birthday, so I’m trying to feel young and vivacious. It is NOT working. I want to go to bed.

  3. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My day has turned out to be busier than I expected (got added to a couple meetings my boss usually goes to). I would like to take a nap. My boss is back tomorrow so that will be back to normal. So it goes…

  4. I have to leave to meet some friends for lunch in 5 minutes and I am not ready because my cat is napping on my chest and I feel bad disturbing him.

    • hotspur says:

      If he was about to miss lunch because you were sleeping, I predict he would disturb that with gusto.

  5. martinmegz says:

    My heart is pounding. My best friends asked me to watch their baby this weekend for a few hours and of course I said yes but I am very nervous! People have been taking care of babies for millions of years (thousands of years? how long have humans existed? why don’t I know this?) so I’m sure I can figure this out, it’s just that a baby is very precious and I don’t want to screw up! Have I ever burped a baby? I certainly haven’t fed one and put it down for bed. I learned at a baby shower last year that I am not up-to-date on current diaper technology (I thought they still had sticky tabs but now it’s velcro). I’ll be okay, right?

    • catweazle says:

      You’ll be fine! I sat for a baby several times when I was like 12 and didn’t manage to kill it. Although as an adult I find handling babies much scarier. The worst that will happen is the baby will cover you in its own gross bodily fluids but that’s what showers are for! Also when you feed a baby they look up at you with so much love and trust in your eyes and you might run the risk of melting into a sobbing puddle on the floor.

      • martinmegz says:

        You’re right. My first reaction was, “But I’m only in my thirties! How is a thirtysomething supposed to take care of a baby?!” then I remembered that there’s an entire TV show about 16-year-olds who do it, and I know I’m more responsible than those kids because I managed not to get pregnant thus far.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      Yeah, you’ll be fine. The actual worst thing is the baby cries the whole time but it’s really a limited number of things that can be wrong (depending on the age): new diaper, food, burp, uncomfortable, bored. Even if you can’t figure it out and it cries the whole time, the parents will come home eventually. I concur that 16 year olds can do this, which is what I kept telling myself in those early months. Also don’t shake it. Or drop it.

      • martinmegz says:

        This is good advice, and also it makes me feel better to see a parent call a baby “it,” because that slips out of my mouth all the time.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I never babysat as a kid, so maybe that is why I’m terrified of babies? I have zero experience.

      I think the last time I held a baby was almost 10 years ago? I have photos, and that is the only reason I know it happened. I held my friend’s baby and pushed her in a swing, and I actually look like I’m having a good time, so I guess it wasn’t that scary.

Comments are closed.