Love Trumps Hate and Other Nonsense At The 74th Annual Golden Globe Awards

Once again, my award show fatigue was overridden by an irrepressible sense of FOMO, and I found myself watching the 2017 Golden Globes.  It was hosted by Jimmy Fallon, who IMO did an alright job.  Maybe it’s because I enjoyed his opening number based on La La Land (side note: I also enjoyed the movie), or that I have yet to feel the clench of cynicism’s icy grip, or that he isn’t Ricky Gervais.   Who knows?  As for the awards, well, the things that won and that I saw deserved it.  The things that won and I hadn’t seen I will never see because there are only 24 hours in a day.  Questlove DJed the show for some reason.  Meryl Streep gave a heartfelt speech that will inspire boycotts and give the President Elect something to tweet about when he’s taking a shit at 3 in the morning. Anyway, congratulations to the winners, and good luck at Oscars/Emmys.  What was your favorite #GoldenGlobeMoment?

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Love Trumps Hate and Other Nonsense At The 74th Annual Golden Globe Awards

  1. Sota says:

    I am LaLa for LaLa Land. Saw it this weekend, I’m hooked and I am drinking the hype koolaid. Looking forward to seeing it again.

  2. catweazle says:

    I was not charmed by the opening number since it seemed to hinge on “Wouldn’t it be hilarious if Jimmy Fallon, Ryan Reynolds and Justin Timberlake were gay?” which… no, being gay is not funny, it’s 2017 for fuck’s sake. Also was not thrilled by Fallon’s Chris Rock impression. Again, it’s 2017, what the fuck. If somebody could find me a GIF of Naomie Harris in the crowd during that bit I’d love them forever.

    As I feared, La La Land is The Artisting all over way more deserving movies (she says, not yet having seen La La Land). Moonlight is a unique and impeccably made movie that also actually has shit to say about important issues in our country. I’m sure Ryan and Emma singing and dancing is very lovely but give me a break. The only good part of it winning everything was seeing those excited gays hyperventilating through the Original Song acceptance speech. I was happy for them because they are so obviously nerds.

    I can’t believe we were all fooled into thinking Tom Hiddleston wasn’t the worst for so long. Hiddleswift was just the tip of the damn iceberg! “Oh thanks so much to everybody, let me tell you this self-aggrandizing story of a time I was in south Sudan helping children and these wonderful Doctors Without Borders (er, sorry, he said it in French because he is a douche) told me how much they love my shitty miniseries, therefore I am doing important work!” Like could you at least plug a charity we can give to to help those kids you mentioned in passing? Good lord.

    Meryl Streep was great obviously and kudos to Chris Pine for distracting everybody from his hideous mutton chops by thanking her for the speech.

    I cannot believe that award show producers are still doing the “Cut to literally every black person in the audience when something black wins.” It was especially egregious when Atlanta won. Speaking of which is that show actually good? I’ve been meaning to watch it.

    Uhhhh what else? Oh right, Hidden Fences! Because who can tell movies about black people apart? It’s just too damn much to ask.

    • catweazle says:

      Oh also I was very amused that Meryl got a bigger laugh than Hugh Laurie did just for repeating his “Hollywood Foreign Press” joke. It was like the opposite of what usually happens when women and men say the same thing.

    • Sota says:

      Oops accident downvote. Commenting from my phone is the worst.

      Also…are we surprised that Hollywood is glorifying a movie that glorifies Hollywood? Its the perfect storm for narcissists.

      • catweazle says:

        Yeah it’s not surprising but it still makes me want to turn into the Hulk. It wasn’t so bad the year The Artist won because it was up against shit like War Horse but Moonlight indisputably deserves all the awards (I mean I’m sure some people would dispute it but I don’t care, it was the best) and I will be mad if sparkly whitey musical steals its Oscars.

    • martinmegz says:

      How was Hiddleston the only one who didn’t get played off during that super long story about how great he is?

      • catweazle says:

        Well everybody got drawn in by him talking about the plight of Sudanese children and probably thought he was going to say something actually helpful to the earth so it would have been crass to cut him off and by the time it got to “Not only do I know the French name for Doctors Without Borders but I’m also their favorite actor” it was too late.

    • Commentatrix says:

      But yes, Atlanta is indeed good!!

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Awards shows are one of my favorite things to watch, and this one was fine. I liked the opening number – especially the appearances by Rami Malek, Evan Rachel Woods, and Ryan Reynolds.

    The Steve Carell bit when introducing Best Animated feature was funny. I didn’t like Kristen Wiig’s continuation as much, but very much appreciated how well Carell can hold a straight face.

    I haven’t seen 99% of the movies that were up for anything because I don’t get to the movies very often anymore. I would have paid $30 to watch one of the movies I was interested in – La La Land, Moonlight, Manchester by the Sea, Arrival, or Nocturnal Animals – if it were available to rent and I could watch it from my couch.

    • catweazle says:

      Every time SNL people are allowed to present an award they do a bit that goes on twice as long as a long acceptance speech and it makes me so mad.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        That’s pretty common on SNL, right? I don’t watch that often, but it seems common that have a pretty funny skit, but then it drags on and on until it’s not funny at all anymore.

        I agree that the “bits” could be shorter so people have time to thank their families. Also, sometimes the jokey routines seem practically disrespectful to the nominees/winner. I know awards shows are hardly the most important things in the world, but to the people who are nominated, they might just be. I would rather not hear my name flubbed up or be the category that people don’t take seriously. But I guess, it would be boring if it was all serious, all the time.

    • FRQ says:

      I’m not sure what’s become of it, but a while back some company proposed a service that would allow users to pay $50 to watch theater releases at home. Maybe that figure scared people off, but if you have a household with at least 4 people, it could totally be worth it. Maybe the movie watching demographics skew high towards singles and couples.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        I remember hearing about that! Why is it not available right this minute? lol

        $50 would be pretty steep for one or two people, but once you factor in ticket price + snacks + kids or babysitter, it’s a pretty reasonable option for families.

        I would probably end up spending $50 once per year for a movie I really wanted to see without having to deal with crowds, uncomfortable seating, or my anxiety of being in a crowded theater.

      • Depending on the movie, I would totally do this.

  4. martinmegz says:

    I watched it while babysitting so when my friends got home I gave them my highlights:

    1. The speech that launched a thousand butt-hurt tweets
    2. Hiddleston’s speech (barf) and Gosling’s speech (cry)
    3. “Everyone is gaga for LaLa Land”
    4. Chris Pratt in the “my first job” piece
    5. I was working while watching, but my general impression was that Fallon wasn’t really in the show for most of the night. Of course right when I said that, he came out singing “Chastain in the Redmayne” or whatever, that was awful.

    My favorite moment of the whole night was when Emma Stone went to hug the LaLa Land guy and he went to hug his wife/GF at the same moment, and she recoiled in embarrassment, and I could read her lips saying “Oh my God that was so creepy, I’m so sorry!” or something like that.

    I don’t know if this LA musical deserves all the attention it’s going to get over the next few months, but at least the two stars are incredibly likable and I won’t complain about seeing Gosling and Stone being charming all over the place.

    • FRQ says:

      To me La La Land is kind of like The Force Awakens: an entertaining and well made movie, but relies on things already accomplished in previous works in the same genre (or in TFA’s case, the same series). Unless you absolutely hate musicals (which I can understand), I’d say it’s worth a viewing. That said, I wouldn’t consider it the best movie of 2016.

      And to clarify my thoughts on Jimmy Fallon, he absolutely did do some bits worthy of eye rolls, but I can deal with that more than the smarmy moronic horse shit that came out of his predecessor. .

      • catweazle says:

        Yeah in the grand scheme of things he was less offensive than other recent hosts and he seems to mean well at least and I do give him points for the sick Batman vs. Superman burn but I wish Amy and Tina could be persuaded to come back.

Comments are closed.