Tuesday TV Talk

It’s our first official TV Talk of 2017!  It’s been 3 since our last chat, so tell us what you’ve been watching.  A bunch of stuff premiered since day 1 of this year: The Mick, new Sherlock, a Celebrity Apprentice not hosted by an orange slime turd.  Or maybe you binge-watched some older shows.  I caught up on Portlandia over the break, just in time for the new season.  How about you all?

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. flanny says:

    While I was home for Christmas break, I got into a routine of watching Anna & Kristina’s Grocery Bag. It’s on Ion Life for an hour every weekday starting at 4, but it’s originally from 2008 or so and is Canadian. Part of what hooked me is finding out it’s produced by Devon Sawa’s mother! Anyway, during every episode, Anna & Kristina select a cook book and then cook a VERY large meal from recipies in it. Then they serve it to a chef who is an expert in the type of cuisine, and at the end A&K will decide whether they recommend buying the cookbook. It’s all sorts of craziness, because A&K will find themselves preparing eight dishes in, like, five hours. I don’t know who these women are or what their qualifications are for reviewing cookbooks, but they don’t seem more skilled at cooking than the average person, so there are usually some pretty good flops and goofs. It’s a fun show to watch, though, and it’s probably more helpful in figuring out how to cook than, like, Chopped is. The only bummer is that I can’t find it streaming online anywhere, and it’s literally only on TV when I’m at work. Here they are being hella mid-2000s.

    • Everything about this show seems amazing.

      • flanny says:

        They also do segments each show where they try out different versions of kitchen staples to see which are best of what purpose. There was a really interesting one about different kinds of butter.

    • hotspur says:

      I love the idea of a cooking show run by regular people. Man, when I see “prep time: 10 mins” I triple it, because I just don’t chop garlic as lightning-quick as the pros on TV.

      Speaking of cooking, I have two cookbooks and I think someone here recommended them both, maybe. Jamie Oliver’s 30-Minute Meals, and The Make-Ahead Cook (by Test Kitchen). Who alerted me to these? True to form, the Oliver meals take me 90 minutes, but are really good! At least the few I tried. So thanks, whoever recommended it! (I didn’t do any Make-Aheads yet, I’ve only had that book 4 weeks.)

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    We watched Top of the Lake over the holidays. It was absolutely beautiful to look at – the scenery of New Zealand is gorgeous. Elisabeth Moss is a good actress. I’m not familiar with her other work – I still haven’t seen Mad Men! BUT, the plot “twists” weren’t that surprising, and there were a number of decisions made by the main character that had me shaking my head. Overall, I’m not mad I spent 7 hours watching it, but it was just ok. I did hear that a second season is coming, and I will probably check it out.

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I don’t know if anyone here still watches Modern Family, but there was a recent episode called the Alliance, and it was delightful.

  4. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    You know what else is back now that the holidays are over? Frasier reruns on the Hallmark channel. The perfect background noise in the late hours.

    Late night TV also plays reruns of the Golden Girls. How have I been missing out on this show for so long??? I love it.

  5. catweazle says:

    I’ve watched so much new TV recently!

    Yuri On Ice: I watched all 12 episodes over the course of three days and it was delightful! If you like figure skating I definitely recommend it. I also recommend it if you like anime and/or stories about people living their dreams. Also somebody please watch it so I have somebody to bitch about the obnoxious Canadian skater with. FUCKING JJ!

    The OA: I haven’t finished this yet so NO SPOILERS OR ELSE but I watched the first six episodes over the weekend. I know a lot of people really hated it but I’m loving it so far! It’s pretty much what I expected knowing Brit Marling’s previous work. I like the characters (except for fucking blonde teen douchebag, stop trying to redeem him, he is disgusting) and I find the story intriguing and it has my newest crush Riz Ahmed and also Sharon Van Etten is in it and she is cool. I’ll probably finish it tonight or tomorrow!

    Sherlock: What a fucking weird season it’s been so far. Honestly I am worried that Moffat is Doctor Whoing it up (i.e. making it overly complicated and dramatic and full of plot holes and loose ends). The only way that it could resolve itself at this point that would be in any way satisfying is if Sherlock and John make out in the next episode so here’s hoping. The first episode I thought was kind of shitty (unless the next episode reveals that Mary’s sappy redemption arc was fake and she’s actually been a villain this whole time because SPOILERS that death scene was wayyyy OTT and also her behavior was out of character) but I liked the second one. Toby Jones was so creepy!

    • catweazle says:

      Oh also re: Yuri On Ice, I don’t intend to ever try having a cat again but in the event that I do I am for sure naming it Yuri and if I have two cats I am naming them Yuri and Yurio. YOU WILL ONLY UNDERSTAND HOW ADORABLE THIS IS IF YOU WATCH THE DAMN SHOW!

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I’ve been wanting to watch the OA, but I heard the end is bad, so I’ve been hesitant to start. I’m not familiar with Brit Marling’s other movies, but I have had some of them in my Netflix list FOREVER, so I will check them out eventually.

      • catweazle says:

        I had issues with Another Earth but liked it overall. Sound of My Voice was also good. I’m not surprised to hear the ending isn’t good because her work tends to be more about intriguing ideas than satisfying resolutions.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          They released the first 10 minutes of the Sound of My Voice before it came out, and I was quite intrigued. Although, I tend to forget about these types of movies when I’m looking for something to watch.

          Also, if you love Riz Ahmed, check out the Night Of. It’s not the greatest show, but he’s in it a lot. 🙂

        • Hmm, I was not a fan of Sound of My Voice at all which makes me really reluctant to watch The OA. I just get so frustrated when creators write stories with tons of mysteries and questions and then clearly have no intention to ever answer them. However, I’ve heard a lot of people like the OA so I’m torn.

          Also, where did you watch Yuri on Ice? Does it have english subtitles?

        • catweazle says:

          There’s a subtitled version and a dubbed version. The site that streams the dubbed version only lets you watch a couple of episodes without creating an account but you can watch the whole subbed version on a site called Crunchyroll. It’s one of the first things that comes up when you google “how to watch Yuri On Ice” and I can confirm it did not give me a virus. Plus if you have an ad-blocker you don’t even have to watch the endless commercials.

    • martinmegz says:

      I really got swept up in the OA, and I’m on board with the ending. I took everything at face value and enjoyed the ride.

  6. collin0truckasaurus says:

    You forgot the most important returning show of the winter: The Bachelor!
    I’m very excited because Corinne is on my fantasy team! Liz is crazy and of all the people in the house, Christen seemed like the worst to tell! Danielle M seems super cool! I can’t wait til next week!

    • martinmegz says:

      I’m so torn on Nick. On the one hand, he is definitely there for fame and there’s no way he’s going to find a wife. On the other hand, he is so good about certain things. Like he calls the contestants “women” while every previous bachelor (in my memory) calls them “girls.” Little things like that make me want to believe in him. Of course, a season is built on the backs of the crazy people competing for his affection, so right now it’s the Corinne show.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        He does some things well and some things SOOOO poorly. I wonder how much of it is him playing the TV game (like giving Corinne the rose on the group date basically telling everyone “boobs = rose” but because it’s also good television) and how much is just that he sucks (like giving Corinne the rose because boobs).
        Honestly, I had never noticed the “women”/”girls” thing before but I think that’s my fault for just turning off the feminism part of my brain during this show, but I think that’s really interesting!
        I think he handled the Liz thing relatively well – he wanted to give her a chance while still questioning her motives (which was totally legit to me) but when he saw that she was stirring up drama around it, he gave her the boot. I also think it sucks that he has to tell the women, but that’s probably the right thing to do. If not, they’ll see it on the show sooner or later.

    • Sota says:

      I joined a fantasy league with the girls at work because I figured it would be a good way to be able to join in on the water cooler conversation at this new job and make friends. Oh my. I didn’t realize what a commitment this whole thing is…2 hours every week! Yikes.

      So far I think Nick seems like a total bonehead who just wants to get laid by whoever is the easiest. I do not believe that he has any interest in finding “the one” except for the reason that he cant possibly be runner up to his own season and he will finally be able to have a respectable (HA!) ending. Basically I am watching for the entertainment value…Shark/Dolphin girl is hilarious. Corrine seems like she would be stalker city if you found her in real life. Liz seems like she was getting paid by the producers just to stir things up. I don’t know. I feel like the girl who is the lawyer…whose name I cannot remember…she seems to good for him. Anyways, I would be happy to discuss it with anyone here.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Fantasy League definitely makes it more fun (like football!), but it’s so hard to draft just based off the pictures and descriptions. I was all in on Kristina but now I’m seeing that she doesn’t really seem to have a connection with him and probably won’t be there long. Rachel the lawyer? Yeah, she’s super cool. She’s my pick for next bachelorette!

  7. I’ve been mainlining old Poirot episodes like it’s my job. I need to stop, but every so often one I’ve never seen before pops up, and I have to know what happens! (Poirot solves the mystery, is what happens.)

  8. hotspur says:

    I’m really digging the anime series “Death Note.” It is so smart, feels very high stakes, and it hooked me by the end of episode 1. The villain and the cop are both proceeding with real intelligence, and the death god is kind of hilarious (and creepy). It’s free to stream on Netflix, and about 6 episodes in, I can’t predict where they’re going with it. Anime isn’t usually my thing, but this is really exceptional (I guess; I haven’t watched enough anime to know for sure).

  9. Erika says:

    I caught up on Orange is the New Black and Sense8 recently. I’ve decided that season 4 of OITNB is just really shitty fan fiction and a certain favorite of mine is alive and well. Also Suzanne didn’t go to prison for what they say she did. I don’t think I’ll watch season 5. I like Sense8, but I don’t get what’s going on with overarching plot. Why is the government after them? It also occurs to me that the Indian and English Sense8s still haven’t been given anything to do when they all band together to help a Sense8 in trouble. It’s also weird to me that Mexico City has same-sex marriage but it’s legal for the actor’s condo board to kick him out of his own home for being gay.

  10. nastyemu says:

    I started watching season 1 of Ash vs Evil Dead and so far it is delightful.

  11. Sota says:

    I have been still trying not to invest the money or the time on Netflix but its cold winter in MN and I am quickly caving. I have watched everything available for free in these sitcom categories: Superstore, Goldbergs, New Girl, American Housewife, Real ONeals, Modern Family, Big Bang, etc. So basically, my time is up and I will join all of the flix connected peoples again very soon. Woooo! Oh also! TVD comes back this week so I will be happy to watch that again.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Elementary is on the same channel as Big Bang, so maybe you can check that one out for free. It’s not a sitcom, but it does have lots of comic relief.

Comments are closed.