It’s Project Club Time!

Here’s the link to last week’s post. I’ve been writing (yay!) and I took my car in, but I forgot to try a new pizza!! Terrible. This week, I’m going to:

-Take a break from Twitter, for reasons I’m sure I don’t need to explain (I’m never going to quit Twitter entirely because for better or worse, it’s become pretty vital as a news source and I don’t want to be uninformed, but…yeah, I need a break).

-Keep up with the writing.

-Continue a new habit I’ve been trying where in the evening I write down everything I accomplished that day, even super basic stuff like “showered” and “made a healthy dinner,” and give myself check marks for each one. It’s silly, but it’s really been helping me accomplish more and feel less stressed about my productivity.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to It’s Project Club Time!

  1. hotspur says:

    My car is in the shop too. It has gotten really loud when it first starts up, so I decided to find out if that’s bad. They kept it overnight, which means I Ubered home ($11) and then figured I’d Uber back to work this morning. I’m new to Uber so this was exciting.

    Except this morning, Uber was $76.

    That got me researching a train & bus scenario. Which would cost $1.75, but take twice as long (plus there’s a risk you will end up in a “Speed” situation). Not great, Bob. So what I did was, I read news sites for 20 minutes, then checked Uber again. Now it was $13! RIDDLE SOLVED.

    Except my driver was a student with a test coming up at 10:30. Which only halfway through the commute to my office did she realize she was going to be late for. Because I was taking her in the 100% opposite direction of her school. It would take her at least an hour to get back there after dropping me off, which was slated to happen at 9:27.

    At this point, because it was Uber Pool, her phone started assigning her to pick up more riders. She semi-freaked out and started rejecting them, quite spasmodically, not sure she was doing it right or just leaving them stranded. But she couldn’t risk being later. She was very chatty and trying to keep her cool, but she was definitely fraying at the edges.

    She ended up picking up one other guy, who was a tech guy who said he takes Uber to work every day. She was like “Isn’t that too expensive?” and he delivered the most “Not for me” shrug in human history. This chilled the party mood for a few minutes, but then he got chatty and saved it. He was okay. She was nice. I had hoped to read my book but we all chatted the whole way. I was annoyed about that intermittently, but I kept reminding myself that I always wish people interacted more instead of staring at their phones. I consider that an ongoing project (that I usually resist). So I guess today has seen project success.

    • catweazle says:

      How is it possible that an Uber was $76???? Didn’t it give you a price in advance when you requested it??? You should contest it! Last time I was in LA I took Uber everywhere and it was super cheap. I got from El Segundo to West Hollywood for like $5.

      • catweazle says:

        Oh I get it now, it told you it was going to be $76 and you said “hell no.” But still, wtf.

        • hotspur says:

          Yeah, this. “Increased demand” during rush hour. Also, $76 was the Pool price. Uber X (where you get the car all to yourself) was $91. My commute is 12 miles.

        • catweazle says:

          Geez louise. The highest I’ve ever seen Uber Pool for my 4 mile trip to work was on a day that it was like -5 degrees outside and rush hour and it was still only like $18.

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I’ve pretty much completely ignored my calendar of upkeep/things to do, but I am not abandoning it – I just need to try harder to incorporate it into my day to day life.

    I have been reading more, which is great, although it doesn’t help with my goal of going to bed earlier. I suppose time management would be the skill to work on in this case.

    And – I HAVE TO GO TO THE BANK!

  3. catweazle says:

    Taping the Vampire Diaries podcast again tomorrow, and I haven’t edited the first one yet so I’m going to try to at least start on that tonight. We won’t be able to do any more episodes for a few weeks because of my travels so my goal is to have both episodes edited and ready to upload by the time we record the third.

  4. martinmegz says:

    I did a new boot camp last night on my off-night from circuit training. I’ve been investing so much time and energy into working out and I still look like a person who has never left her couch. It’s pretty disheartening. I just keep telling myself that my insides must be better off even if my outsides aren’t.

    • old man fatima says:

      I find that it hits me all at once. In a couple of weeks just when you start to give up, you’re going to get out of bed skinny. At least that’s how it works for me! Work work work work and nothing, and then overnight I drop like 15 lb. The opposite is also true, which is less fun. “Oh, it’s just like I’m 16 again, I can eat all I want and not gain a pound!” And then woops, I wake up fat.

    • Sota says:

      I hear ya lady. Working out is hard. It does seem to take a long time before you can really tell the difference. Ugh.

  5. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    You guys, I stopped to get gas, and the entire side of my car is covered in solid ice, so the door to the gas tank won’t open 😦

    Our home parking lot is also covered in ice, so that’s fun to try and walk across. I hate winter so much.

    • flanny says:

      This winter hasn’t even been too bad and still I want to die.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        I had to go to the dermatologist today. If I didn’t have to leave the house for that, I would have definitely used a personal day at work. I specifically save personal days for the winter. Thankfully, I went grocery shopping yesterday – when it was raining and there was lightning. Just a normal Illinois January.

      • nastyemu says:

        I wore shorts today. You should have stayed in New England.

        • flanny says:

          You might have warmth but you also have Red Sox fans. No thanks.

        • martinmegz says:

          I’m sorry I had to downvote you, I come from a long line of Red Sox fans. I didn’t want to do it, but I was obligated by blood oath. Otherwise I couldn’t go home for Christmas next year.

        • nastyemu says:

          I’m fine with them. I spent most of my life dealing with Philly fans. It’s the same thing, just with a different accent.

        • flanny says:

          Martinmegz, I’m still recovering from my first baseball season in Boston when all I wanted to do was get home after an eight hour shift on my feet only to find the entire green line train to Fenway packed to the gills with already drunk North Shore dudes, all of whom were named Tommy, yelling about “Papi being Papi.” I curse any event that messes with my commutes.

        • martinmegz says:

          Flanny, they’re probably all monsters, it’s just a familial obligation.

    • Sota says:

      Just try to avoid this and youll be okay.

  6. Sota says:

    Old tasks:
    Bring lunch to work 3x week – I am doing pretty good on this!
    No more Diet Coke – I am totally achieving this one! YESSS! Go me!
    Visit the post office – mail 2 packages – DONE
    Return a pair of pants to Banana Rep. – Going to the mall tomorrow night for dinner with a friend, planning to do this at that time.
    Finish cleaning out my closet (this will never be done)

    New tasks:
    Buy present for BF’s birthday and mail it on Saturday
    Complete the putting away of all the Christmas decor (It’s half done)
    Laundry
    Make an effort to make plans with my girlfriends. I have been bad at initiating plans lately and haven’t seen people much. I have been slacking and tired and holidays and cold. Ok no more excuses.

    • gnidrah says:

      Interesting (? is it? I don’t know, maybe not) fact, Banana Republic is, I am told, shutting all its UK stores. ‘Twas not a success here. I don’t know why. But there we go.

  7. gnidrah says:

    Laying out my 2017 projects!

    * commit to properly learning Greek. Y’all know Portuguese was a success, and I came into that totally cold! So the fact that I have all the basics from a lifetime of listening to my mother/grandmother/insert other relations shouting at each other in the mother tongue, should, I hope, stand me in good stead. (the grammar is a BITCH though)

    * complete more sports volunteering – I have interviewed already for the World Athletics Championships volunteer programme; I hope to hear from the programmes for the Commonwealth Games in Australia in 2018, and I have a few other more local bits that might come off

    * keep working to try to find a proper position in a new company – I have freelance stuff keeping me going, but it’s not the long-term plan

    * the hardest one of all – be OK with myself enough to actually maybe try to think about dating again. If I achieve this one it’ll be a miracle, but we live in hope!

Comments are closed.