Tuesday TV Talk

I haven’t been watching anything new, other than my usual spate of shows.  Hopefully you all have had a more interesting TV experience this long weekend.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Baskets comes back this Thursday!

    I’m still on board with the Good Place, and I think the finale is this week. It’s not the greatest show, but I do LOL at least a few times each episode + Kristen Bell + Ted Danson = a perfectly fine way to spend 22 minutes.

  2. old man fatima says:

    I started watching Galavant on Netflix. At first I thought it was a bit annoying, but it grew on me super fast and now I’m in love with it.

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I am digging the new Top Model, but I haven’t seen the most recent episode.

    Project Runway Junior continues to be more entertaining than the adult version.

    • catweazle says:

      I have the whole season of ANTM so far on my DVR but I haven’t watched any of it yet. I’m going to have to have a marathon when I get back from vacation!

    • martinmegz says:

      These kids are so talented! The top half of these juniors could wipe the floor with the top 50-75% of the adult seasons.

    • flanny says:

      Project Runway Junior is great! I really loved Molly’s outfit with the light blue pants and the weird, long, backwards jacket thing. It felt very Cate Blanchett.

  4. catweazle says:

    I finished The OA and I didn’t hate the ending. I didn’t love it, but I wasn’t expecting it to be satisfying so it was fine!

    Just watched the season finale (and possibly series finale) of Sherlock yesterday and guys, this season was a fucking mess. Did anybody else watch it? It was Doctor Who levels of nonsensical and it kind of pissed me off.

    • old man fatima says:

      I keep forgetting that it’s back! I’m going to run through it this weekend. Unless I shouldn’t? It sounds like you’re saying I shouldn’t.

      • catweazle says:

        I mean each episode has some good parts (well, the first one is a little rough) but overall nothing makes sense and they’ve kind of ruined John as a character and I don’t know what the fuck they were trying to do with Mary. So just don’t go into it with any expectations of greatness. It’s all over the place.

    • Yeah, this season was kind of insane. I felt like all the episodes were really bananas with a couple of super great scenes in them. I think that show would benefit from being an hour instead of an hour and a half because they go on some weird tangents and they just feel LONG. Also, John and Sherlock never made out and I will never not complain about that.

      • catweazle says:

        It profoundly offends me that Sherlock and John aren’t fucking. They clearly want to. Or at the very least Sherlock does. And it would have been fine for them to have their running “Ha ha everybody thinks they’re a couple” joke if it had paid off with them actually being a couple, but the fact that they seem not to be doing that makes the whole thing kind of gross and homophobic (which is especially embarrassing considering that Mark Gatiss is gay).

        • Erika says:

          It seems like Sherlock is doing the same thing as Supernatural, hint at a relationship to tease and entice the fans, but never let it actually pay off.

    • nastyemu says:

      I thought last season was a mess too, so I wasn’t bothered much the first two episodes this season. That finale though, so bad.

      • catweazle says:

        The only thing that would have redeemed His Last Vow from being a complete mess with a really horrible message about what kinds of behavior you should be willing to forgive people for would be if Mary had been a straight-up villain in this season. But apparently we were supposed to believe that she was a perfect angel and be really bummed SPOILER that she dies? Give me a break. She would have been a way better lady villain than fucking Eurus.

  5. nastyemu says:

    I finished season two of Man Seeking Woman, which I enjoy very much.
    We started watching Goliath, on Amazon. So far it’s fine, kind of a typical cable lawyer show, but Billy Bob is fun.
    As mentioned above, Sherlock wasn’t good, and the finale was bad.
    I didn’t realize The Affair came back a while ago, so if any of you have been watching it, let me know if season 3 is worth adding Showtime for a month.

  6. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Did you guys watch The Young Pope? I really enjoyed making fun of it, but I’m not sure if it’s good or not. I’ll probably keep watching just to see if he ever gets that Cherry Coke Zero…
    Bachelor continues to be great. Corinne is insane and I’m starting to genuinely feel like she needs professional help, but she’s still getting me a ton of points, so what can I do.

  7. I watched A Series Of Unfortunate Events on Netflix and was very relieved that it was pretty delightful, because I love the books. It looked fantastic (bless Netflix’s budget), all the supporting actors were clearly having the time of their lives, and adding Patrick Wharburton as Lemony Snicket to give running commentary was *kisses fingers*.

    The only drawbacks were: non-great child actors (they were fine, but Stranger Things has raised my child actor expectations) and still not knowing how I feel about Neil Patrick Harris as Count Olaf. Even with all the makeup and costuming, he looked so young and non-scary that it didn’t always work for me.

    • I’m almost done with the show! I like it as well. The kids are fine, I’m hoping they’ll grow into it. Patrick Warburton is the best part. It’s interesting they revealed the secret society so early. Wasn’t expecting it, but it does tie the earlier books in a little better. I think the first books were the weakest, so here’a hoping Netflix finishes the whole thing!

  8. Erika says:

    I recently binged watched Jessica Jones, and its official, I have a girl crush on Krysten Ritter. But I’m trying to finish my book club book by Thursday, when I started yesterday, so I probably won’t be watching much TV for the next few days.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I loved Jessica Jones, and hope that future seasons are equally as good. It will be hard to top that villain for me. I have OCD, and Kilgrave was OCD personified. Just replace – “murder that person” with “wash your hands 25 times.”

      Also, because I am a pusher when it comes to shows, check out Veronica Mars if you haven’t already. There are a lot of similarities – plus Krysten Ritter is in a handful of episodes in season 2.

      • Erika says:

        Oh yeah, I was a big fan of Veronica Mars although I still haven’t seen the movie. I totally forgot Ritter was in that. Maybe I need to rewatch it.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          Ritter is in the movie too!

          There were a couple of follow up novels released that pick up where the movie left off. The mysteries were very good, and both books were a quick read. I wouldn’t recommend them to someone who had never seen the show, but for Veronica Mars fans, I think they are a must read.

    • Sota says:

      Jessica Jones was so fantastic! Did anyone watch the Luke Cage season? I have that one on my “To Watch” list.

      • mordonez says:

        I did, and thoroughly enjoyed it. I have however watched these series in totally the wrong order. I started with Luke Cage, and I prefer it to Daredevil so far. I’ve only watched 2 episodes of Jessica Jones because I was seriously creeped out by it.

  9. martinmegz says:

    Is anyone watching Speechless? It’s a sitcom about a family with a teenager who has cerebral palsy and two other siblings making the best of things I’ve been enjoying it, but last week (Wednesday) was so funny that I feel like everyone needs to watch it. Minnie Driver is a comedic delight. The episode was called H-E-R- Hero and if you haven’t seen any episodes, you can start there and get a feel for the show. I laughed out loud so many times.

    Tonight’s the season finale of Shooter, a thriller I enjoyed very much. I haven’t seen the Homeland premiere yet but that’s on my list.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I really like Speechless. Mostly the stories involving JJ and Kenneth. I have laughed a lot, but the emotional moments are also good.

      The show is nowhere close to as good as the movie, but Minnie Driver is good on the tv version of About a Boy. We watched the first season, and it was fine. Kind of forgot that there is a second season, but I think it’s on Netflix.

Comments are closed.