So, How Was Your Day?

Mine was boring and normal until I got home and found a package from our very own Flanny! I had completely forgotten that I’d won the Month of Scares scavenger hunt, so that was a delightful surprise. She sent me some delicious candy (already gone, whoops) and stationary that’s so pretty I’m not sure I’ll be able to use any and have to send it away. Thank you, Flaniel! Other than that it was just rainy and cold and gross.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Not great, Bob!
    I started this morning still feeling exhausted and I got to work where we found out that this MAJOR deadline was moved up a week and we will all have to work like crazy to accommodate this new deadline. In a meeting with the whole dept where we were talking about it, I kind of felt like I had to tell the team that I’m having complications with my pregnancy where I really can’t push myself and also I have a followup appointment next Monday where I find out if I’m in a more dangerous spot than I thought so realistically, there’s a possibility that I’ll not be back to work after that appointment! So it was emotional and tough so I started to cry in front of everyone and that sucks. But the bigger thing is that it sucks that when we really need to push and work hard, I’m needing to pull back. But the ultimate is that I’m worried about the safety of my baby and that’s horrible.
    On the upside, everyone has been really nice to me the rest of the day…

    • martinmegz says:

      Baby comes first! Screw that job. I can’t imagine that they’d legally be able to fire you for pregnancy complications so don’t worry about it. Other people will just have to pull their own weight for once, so please don’t feel too much of a sense of responsibility to your work, everything that needs to get done will get done.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        They’ve all been incredibly supportive (some others were even crying) and the overwhelming attitude was “we will cover it no matter what, just take care of yourself and your baby” which is incredible, but it’s still very tough. When they’re supportive like this is why I don’t want to leave them high and dry.

  2. I’m on a really challenging project at work. It’s both good and bad. I like being intellectually challenged but I keep hitting walls. But at least I’m not on anything awful.

    Later, the gentleman is going to bring me tacos after my 90 minute bike training. Looking forward to that.

    I’m writing this on my phone and it’s hella annoying. Wonder if there’s a wordpress app.

  3. catweazle says:

    Last day in Montreal and I am VERY ready to leave. The city is nice but dealing with the people in this office is so stressful and frustrating. Tonight I’m going to drink wine and read in my hotel room and go to bed early. I get home tomorrow late afternoon/early evening and I have to do laundry and repack and then wake up early on Friday to fly to SLC. I hope my brother and sister-in-law don’t mind if I spend my entire first day at their house sleeping!

  4. flanny says:

    Yay, I’m glad you got the package, Theresa! Sorry it took me forever!

    Today was the college’s MLK symposium, and we had an alum give a talk about being black in the field of environmental science. Very interesting. At the end there was a Q&A and two students asked questions that were basically, “How effed are we with this upcoming administration?” And the answer was, “Hella effed.” Which was sort of nice to hear because sometimes I wonder if I’m a weird island of not-crazy in the middle of these farmlands, but obviously I am not alone. Not alone but still effed!

    Tonight I’m going to a meeting to schedule volunteer opportunities at the literacy organization I’m involved with, so that’ll be very fun!

    • flanny says:

      Not Alone Update: To get to my volunteer thing, I had to drive past my normal home exit, which is the primary exit off the interstate between Chicago and Detroit for my city. And as I appraoched my normal exit I saw that on the overpass over the highway there was a bunch of people up there waving rainbow flags and transgender pride flags and a Syrian flag. And it just made me so proud and happy to see these people in this divided city standing out there in the drizzly rain letting their flags fly for all those cars to see and standing up for who they are and the America they love. I wish i could have gotten out of the car and hugged all of them, but instead I just drove and cried for ten miles.

  5. hotspur says:

    That prize of hardly any candy and unusable stationery might well have been mine if not for my generous interpretation of deadlines. Today is a dim, dim day.

  6. martinmegz says:

    My day hit a high when my boss said he was leaving two hours early then reached a low when the volunteer middle school student came in and I realized I had to stay here and babysit instead of leaving early to work at home in my PJs. I just ate a pixie stick I found on the breakroom table so we’ll see where this wild ride takes me now.

Comments are closed.