How Was Your Weekend?

What a wild two days it’s been! Not for me, though. My lingering cold kept me inside all day Saturday, watching Women’s March coverage and wishing I was there, and then on Sunday I did manage to meet up with my friend for brunch, but not much else. I do feel better now, though, so it was a good idea to rest.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I did not get very restful sleep on Friday night, so I ended up sleeping until 2:00 on Saturday. I went out to dinner with family, and got chocolate cake!

    Sunday, I was fairly productive, although, not quite as productive as I would have liked to be.

    The next couple weeks are going to be crazy busy, so I’m pretty ok with having a chilled out weekend.

  2. hotspur says:

    I did not march but I stayed indoors and read an anti-trump book (it is kind of a spy thriller, like Charlie’s Angels but where Trump = Charllie, sending his agents on nitwit missions to save jobs and find out what’s on Hillary’s server). At least I think it is anti-Trump.

    Sunday I saw friends from San Diego I haven’t seen since July. That was good. There was also so much rain it was hard to remember it ever not raining. My friend’s garage started to fill with water and we had to run out there (across his patio, which was under a 4-inch puddle) and stack things. Obviously we couldn’t leave the house for dinner under these conditions, so we lived off ginger snaps, shrimp, and cheddar cheese.

  3. On Saturday I went to the Women’s March in LA, which was not fun per se but I’m glad that I went. Then, Saturday night I went out with some friends to celebrate my birthday and got wayyy too drunk which is why yesterday I literally did not get out of bed because I was too hungover. Good, responsible decision-making all around.

  4. old man fatima says:

    I went to a paint night on Friday hosted by Bob Ross on Netflix (A++ do recommend). While at this paint night, I mentioned that I was going to go on a date with a guy on Sunday. The girls asked if I’d Googled him, and I hadn’t, so we did and he was arrested and kicked out of med school for threatening to shoot up the university! He also threatened to stab the associate dean and her daughter, and was charged with sexual assault and killing a cat as well. Somehow none of the charges stuck, and all they could get him on was a weapons charge because of the large stockpile of guns and ammo they found at his apartment after the shooting threat. I DON’T UNDERSTAND HOW THIS IS POSSIBLE. AND, the biggest crime of all, the pictures of him from his trial show that he is NOT good looking and his profile has very very old photos! Just a liar through and through!

    AND THEN I was chatting with another guy, so obviously I googled him after that. I used to date his brother!

    Dating is the fuuuuucking worst and I’m never doing it again.

  5. flanny says:

    I DID march on Saturday, at a little 1,000 strong walk-march in the next city over. My friends were all going up to the state capitol, but that felt like a little bit too much for me, so I went by myself to this little, chill protest walk. But I met up with a pair of friends who pulled me into their group, and that was really nice. We walked in the sun for 3.5 miles, which was also nice. I had a sign that had a quote from The New Colossus on it, and every time I thought about it, I teared up. (Full disclosure: since probably October I tear up basically every time I think about America.) We only had one person swear at us from a passing car, but so many supportive honks and people waving out of windows and cheering for us. 😀
    After the march, the rest of the weekend was VERY lazy.

  6. I marched in Washington! It was absolutely nuts. I stayed in Baltimore with friends and by the time we got to the Baltimore train station there was a line around the block. We weren’t even sure we would make it to DC. 2 hours later we were on a train. I saw none of the speeches, but being surrounded by so many awesome people was really uplifting. I’m really glad I went and marched with so many people. It took me 2 hours to even get on a Metro train after and then I spent the 45 minute ride crammed in. Dulles was so empty it was like a breath of fresh air after 12 hours of crowds. The bf picked me up at 11:45 with flowers, aleve, and coconut water. It was a good end to a very long day.

    I’m still riled up. And teary-eyed every time I see photos of all the marches across the world. Oof, what a weekend.

  7. FRQ says:

    Saturday morning I did some volunteering then ran a bunch of errands. I didn’t march, but my GF did, and she told me about all of the Princess Leia signs she saw. I looked some of them up online, and saw a few like this one. It’s great and all, but if you think about it, the First Order showed having at least 4-5 women in its ranks. I guess what I’m saying is that the First Order is more progressive than our current administration.

    Sunday I had music practice, then caught the end of the NFC Championship (Go Falcons!). I then caught up with a friend I hadn’t seen in a while, and watched Batman: Return of the Caped Crusaders. If you’re not familiar with it, it’s an animated movie featuring the characters from the original 1960s TV show. Adam West, Burt Ward, and Julie Newmar even provided some of the voices. It was a little slow at first, but really picked up about half way through.

Comments are closed.