So, How Was Your Day?

It snowed today, but it was the kind of wet, heavy snow that sticks to tree branches and makes everything look pretty but melts as soon as it hits the road, so I’ll allow it. Unrelated question: for those of you who drink wine, what are some of your favorite dry reds? I had to go to the liquor store and realized I always get the same thing (Bota Box Nighthawk Black, which is delicious) and I want to try something new next time.

Also, here is a thing some of you might be interested in: https://5calls.org/

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. I think the way I’m going to roll going forward with all my
    posts is “light breezy stuff about my life and then a little something about how we can fight the current fascist regime,” just FYI.

  2. nastyemu says:

    My day has been good, because we’re leaving for Disney World tonight. I was also happy to learn that the Hall of Presidents will be closed during our trip, so I don’t have to deal with a robot version of Trump.

    We drink the Bota Box Zinfandel and Black Box Cabernet Sauvignon pretty regularly. We used to get a Mirassou Pinot Noir because our local liquor store had it for $7, and it is a very good $7 bottle of wine. I’ve seen it some places for $12+, but I’m sure there’s better options at that price.

  3. Sota says:

    Guys! I have to post this because we all need some happy news… I have officially paid off all of my Student Loans!!!!

  4. martinmegz says:

    I have a bit of a workplace problem and maybe you guys can help me brainstorm some options. I work in a small open floor plan office so we’re pretty squished in together. The big boss absolutely hates talking, and under no circumstances can we be seen talking to his secretary. But when he’s out, we interact and chat.

    His secretary, who is a very nice person, has gotten way too chatty. And she doesn’t ever have conversations, she just tells stories about herself and people she knows. So no matter what topic people are discussing, the other woman will interrupt with a story about herself, often barely related. I’m at a point where I can barely manage to say “huh” or “wow” in response. Pop quiz hotshots: what do you do in this situation?

    • hotspur says:

      This has been my reality for YEARS at this place. The lady here who will literally run over to jam herself into your conversation and then just provide a totally unrelated anecdote about herself. “Oh, you were discussing a movie I haven’t seen? Let me tell you about a time it rained in New York on my visit there in 2005.” She also will just wander into my cube and start talking.

      I say nothing. I don’t even look at her, even if she’s standing next to me talking to the side of my head. I pretend I’m really involved in whatever I’m reading or typing. At some point I just cut her off and say “I gotta hydrate” and I take my thermos to the kitchen to get water. Does it change her behavior? No, because she’s insane, obviously. But at least I’m not interacting. Good fucking luck, martinmegz.

      As for a red that’s not too sweet/jammy (not sure if it qualifies as dry), look into Cab Francs. Usually they run a little pricey ($19-$25) but I’ve never had one I didn’t like. Expect them to be kinda chewy, even vegetably! Lang & Reed is very nice.

      • martinmegz says:

        How do these people not pick up on how the world reacts to them? If everyone around me just grunted in response to me, I’d stop talking to them. “Good fucking luck” is now my favorite piece of advice. Augh she’s talking to me right now!!!!!!

        • flanny says:

          Leave this window open! Maybe she’ll read over your shoulder and take the hint.

        • hotspur says:

          She won’t take the hint. That is the key to her. She will never take the hint no matter how much subtlety you remove from it. I saw someone say, “Hate to cut you off, but I need to use the restroom.” She said, “Oh! I’ll keep you company!” and went with her. People complained, so her boss told her “People say you distract them with talking; please don’t talk so much.” She came out of review in tears and cried to me: “I hate this job. The only thing I have here is being social. They can’t take that away from me!” The negative review made her quiet for about 2 weeks. It is a nightmare. She is 73. If she hasn’t learned by now to take social cues, all the rest of us can do is ride it out.

  5. flanny says:

    Today was the winter all-employee meeting and it was pretty standard as all-employee meetings go. Nothing thriling. Nothing terrifying. At the end of the meeting they held the usual raffle where there’s a whole table full of college swag and they randomly pull names until all the stuff is gone, and I won a color-changing mug so I feel prettttttttty cool.

  6. old man fatima says:

    I found a lump on Chomper and took her in to the vet today thinking it was just a cyst or something. It’s a tumor. It’s being removed on Tues, the vet wanted to move ASAP because she doesn’t like the location or the speed of growth. We’ll send it for biopsy and then figure out how to move forward.

    I had a really good cry but now I’m watching Austenland and it’s really brightening up my evening.

Comments are closed.