How Was Your Weekend?

Well, I did my best to get things done this weekend instead of just refreshing Twitter over and over, and I actually did write a bunch, which I’m counting as a big victory after a long bout of writer’s block. That’s all I’ve got.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. catweazle says:

    I actually had a fairly productive weekend while also being extremely lazy! I slept past noon both days and didn’t leave my apartment, but I made donations to four different charities, made some calls about the government shitshow, edited the second episode of the podcast and baked cookies. I also played a lot of Lego Star Wars and drank a lot of beer/gin and ate pizza because these are dark times and I need my creature comforts.

    My sister went to an airport protest and asked me to come with her but I just couldn’t bring myself to go to an airport after the hours and hours and hours of my life I’ve spent in them over the past two weeks and I felt kind of like an asshole about it but what can you do.

  2. collin0truckasaurus says:

    This weekend my parents were in town! We took my kid to the aquarium and as expected, she LOVED it! It was awesome! She made so many happy baby squeaks, it was outstanding! She was a really great kid all weekend and my parents just loved hanging out with her! I’m exhausted, but it was totally worth it!

  3. mordonez says:

    I had an embarrassing failure wherein the reservation for which 5 people showed up for, that I had been in charge of and that had a tortured history of scheduling shenanigans, turns out to have been for Saturday 2/25 and not Saturday 1/28. AAAARGH. But I recovered nicely and found us a nice place, and my cocktail included a pineapple-chipotle ice cube.

    Yesterday I watched the best dang tennis match I’ve ever seen, I think, and mrsdonez and I did some trip planning. Our upcoming vacation to Miami for a music festival now includes within it a mini-vacation to… Cuba! For a couple days!

    Oh right, and the country, hell, handbasket, you know, the whole thing, made some calls. It’s both heartening and a little annoying that my own reps are on board with the whole democracy/humanity thing already, because who am I supposed to yell at, Lamar Alexander?

    • flanny says:

      Right? My representative is a Republican, but, like, a totally level-headed Republican who spoke out against Trump during the campaign and continues to vocally do so. WTF? (I still call him, no worries.)

    • catweazle says:

      I’m having a rough time because 5Calls is telling me to call Dick Durbin for everything and he is a Democrat and also his office hours are the same as the hours I work and there is no good place in my office to make calls. I rarely wish that I lived in a Republican area but I feel comparatively ineffectual as somebody whose Senators and Congresspeople are all Dems.

    • mikaelajm says:

      I live in a state where the Senators and most members of the House are Republicans! Feel free to give me some choice words to pass along to them!

  4. flanny says:

    Not to continue being a bummer, but Saturday was the anniversary of my dad passing away. (31 years, guys, I’m fine.) And I was worried about what I was going to do to distract myself. Well, thanks to our new president, I was plenty distracted! On Saturday night I made a pretty concerted effort to stop looking at twitter and facebook and I watched Amelie. I was never super into Amelie when it first come out; I liked it fine. But then a couple years ago I started listening to the soundtrack when I write and now I think the movie itself might become the thing I watch when life is too much. I almost watched it again last night! Living my greatest life!

  5. martinmegz says:

    I went to LAX to protest despite my extreme aversion to crowds and I’m glad to have been a part of it. I took the bus then the shuttle that goes from the parking lots to the terminals, and the protest only added about 10 minutes to my trip. So for awhile I think it wasn’t much of a problem for travelers, but starting around 4p that changed. We were marching on the sidewalk and drop off lanes when we got diverted into the actual road. I looked back and there weren’t any cars behind us, so I thought that traffic had been cut off on the arrivals level. Apparently later in the day, protesters shut off all access to the airport.

    My ethical dilemma is that I felt compelled to protest against what’s happening to our country’s core values, but I don’t feel right impacting the lives of people who have been planning trips for months and don’t have the ability to change their plans last minute. At the same time, protests by nature are meant to disrupt and I get that. I just wish they would disrupt the people actually causing the problem. It’s tough. I will say that a lot of cars stuck in traffic showed their solidarity with the marchers. It was an important message, but I wish it could be conveyed without harming innocent people. Or all we are going to have to make sacrifices in this fight against tyranny?

    • catweazle says:

      I have to say I felt very lucky that my last flight back to Chicago was on Thursday and not over the weekend.

    • flanny says:

      I’m interested in any reactions from everyday travelers you saw. Did it seem like you mostly had support from those not there for the protest?

      • martinmegz says:

        I’d say that a lot of cabbies showed support by honking and sticking their hands out the windows (that sounds weird but they were clearly supportive). Same from other cars in the traffic, though not the majority. People trying to roll bags through protests looked frazzled but some raised their fists in solidarity. It sounds as if things got crazier after I left.

        From anecdotes I’ve read, people are saying they support the protest and blame Trump, but they were frustrated with missing flights or not being able to get out of the airport. I can understand that. If I were coming home from a long trip, I’d feel resentful about not being able to get out of LAX even though I’d fully support the protest message.

        I also think that disrupting travel gives ammo to the opposition to dismiss the protesters, and maybe the best course of action would be to get the attention without the disruption? But what if disruption is the only way to get attention? I’m struggling with competing feelings on this.

        • mikaelajm says:

          I was working all weekend and couldn’t go protest, but I wondered about the same thing re: disrupting people’s travel. I like the symbolism of the airports but maybe not so much the practical effects. If only you could specifically target the flights or airport terminals full of xenophobes and racists…

Comments are closed.